We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiwis Nest

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$62*
US$40*
Great Deal
US$62*
US$62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Kiwis Nest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 379: English reviews
Start your review of Kiwis Nest
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would definitely recommended Kiwi's nest. I have stayed there six times now and would stay there again if I return to Dunedin. The staff are very friendly and helpful and other guests are friendly too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shanew953
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review on kiwis Nest It is always such a pleasure having return guests back to stay with us we hope to see you if you are ever back in Dunedin for a visit Kind Regards Wendy & the kiwis Nest team 😀

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I pre-booked to attend the NZ Masters Games held biannually in Dunedin. I had a great room with a handy kitchenette right outside the door. There are plenty of showers and toilets throughout the two level accommodation. Easy walking distance to the middle of town (10-15 minutes) with plenty of on street parking available at the door. I will certainly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tharizden
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much so for taking the time to write a review on Kiwis Nest It is always a pleasure having return visitor come back & stay with us We look forward to seeing you for the next games Kind Regards Wendy & Kiwis Nest team 😀

Rural North Island, NZ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely character building from yesteryear. Lead light windows, carved mantle piece, comfortable stairs. Cooking facilities, everything clean and tidy. Friendly atmosphere in the guest lounge and throughout the premises. Staff welcome me as an old friend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gayn0r64
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Kiwis Nest It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us at Kiwis Nest We certainly work hard to keep everything clean & tidy & certainly appreciate when we get great comments from our guests Kind Regards Wendy & the Kiwis Nest team😀

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Kiwis nest : A good budget hotel close to the the city center ( about 1km) with exceptional front desk service ..we asked for an umbrella and the lady didn't have a spare one in the hotel but she got out one from her car and loaned it to us ! Stayed in a tiny double room facing the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sohinipotluri
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Kiwis Nest I think you picked the worst day weather wise to visit our lovely city & was my pleasure to get the umbrella 🌂 out of the car Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand Kind Regards Wendy & the Kiwis Nest team😊

India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is about 7 minutes walking from the Otago University bus stop. Check in was quick, was given single ensuite room 7 on the ground floor. That was the only time I met the girl in the office, reception hours are really limited and did not see any other staff. The main door is locked after 9pm, was given...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wingsonwheels
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Kiwis Nest Yes we are very central to town so nice to park up & walk into town Our reception hours are 8.30. - 9pm & do lock the doors at 9pm for the safety of our guests Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels Kind...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are BBH Members and booked every Hostel whivh belongs to BBH over the BBH-Website. It was never a problem and we always get what we booked. Unfortunately not in this hostel. We booked a shared (4 bed room) and get a 6 bed dorm. Of course we were very unhappy. We asked the stuff and hoped for a misunderstood....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sturmmeise
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review we appreciate all reviews from our guests good & bad Unfortunately there was a mistake in your booking regarding the share room & yes you were allocated a 6 bedroom dorm On my arrival at work after my day off I was informed that we had some very unhappy guests that were very...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the location is close to main town and some attractions such as Octagon, Dunedin museum, botanic garden and so on. Our room number is 1 which is close to the street so there were some noise because of Friday night. However other day was perfectly quite so we had a good sleep. the reception lady kindly showed all facilities, especially...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aunty2017
Wendy B, Front Office Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Unfortunately due to our central location there can be unavoidable street noise in some of our rooms. We pride ourselves in providing a welcoming and comfortable environment to all our guests and continue to find ways to improve our services. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide a review and...

Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay in this hostel ! The staff is really friendly and the hostel is located near the city center. Moreover, the hostel is really clean, safe, and you can find everything for cooking. It's a good address in Dunedin !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudy L
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Kiwis Nest We have a great location a 5 minute walk into town Yes we do pride ourselves on our cleaning standards & glad that you felt so safe at Kiwis Nest Safe Travels Kind Regards Wendy & The Kiwis Nest Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed three nights at the Kiwi's Nest recently. Helpful staff, clean, quiet, 15 minutes walk to the Octagon, 5 minutes to Otago Museum. Obviously, it is a backpackers hostel, so doesn't have hotel decor, but everything worked. We had a double room with ensuite bathroom, and had asked about parking when booking - there are three spaces. I would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on kiwis nest We have a great location as you say handy to town, museums Our job is made so much easier when we have such lovely guests stay I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels Kind Regards Wendy & the kiwis Nest Team

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Kiwis Nest for two nights in late April. Great service: ringing to let us know what time check-in closed and where we could find our key if we arrived late and arranging for us to stay in the same room for both nights,even though I had booked a different room for the second night. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P W
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on kiwis nest It was a real pleasure having you stay We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand Kind Regards Wendy & The Kiwis Nest Team

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 57 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
5.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Limited Off Street Parking available at $5 per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: £29 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiwis Nest staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kiwis Nest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ I think for someone like me, the trick is getting "en suite" where you have your own bathroom. I noticed one room with quite a few young men in it and bless their hearts, I'm just glad I wasn't on their budget. Not at this point my life anyway. I certainly have been in the past. Again, I think the trick is having your own bathroom for beyond obvious reasons. ”
C2233SSkareng, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I had a corner room on the 2nd floor with large windows and lots of sunshine.”
ReontheRoad, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“twin room, ensuit”
andreakM2318LB, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are a ton of cheap hotels around the area.”
mamazuki, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Visit the website, it demonstrates exactly what is available. Being of the older generation an en-suite suited me.”
mattldk63, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$40* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$62
Orbitz.comUS$62
Hotwire.comUS$62
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates