We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiwis Nest

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kiwis Nest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kiwis Nest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here to get out of the cold of the campervan. It was a step above but I guess because we've never stayed in a hostel before, a little scary. An old, big, "remuddled" home where the main kitchen has been tacked on outside the house. There were a couple of microwaves and fridges on our floor, though. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamazuki
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on kiwis nest We are a very large old house & pride ourselves on our friendliness & cleanliness I think for $68 a night the accomdation is great with free hot water free wifi We do have rooms for $88 a night which gives you your own ensuite Safe travels...

A TripAdvisor Member
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the deluxe queen which was a seperate apartment. It was great to have our own place seperate to the rest. Only thing the TV in the room was a bit high up & in an awkward spot to watch which hurt my neck. But other then that everyone else was great!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review of kiwis nest The seperate apartment is a very good choice at kiwis nest with everything you require for your stay Safe travels Kind regards Wendy & the kiwis nest team 😄

Stratford, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 October 2016

An excellent place to stay I could easily walk to town and museums from the Kiwisnest A home away from home. My room was clean and comfortable with fresh towels etc supplied regularity . Handy to have the jug and fridge etc in the room too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mlee_691831
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review of kiwis nest It is a pleasure to have such lovely guest come & stay with us Yes the ensuite rooms are great at $68 for single & $88 for a double Hope you will be back to stay again Kind regards Wendy & the kiwis nest...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 October 2016

My family enjoyed the stay very much. It was a clean, comfortable place. There was plenty of storage space. Facilities for cooking were amazing. Convenient location for some of the attractions in Dunedin

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaijus
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on kiwis nest It was such a joy to have you & your family stay with us what beautiful children you have Hope if you are ever back this way you will stop & see us all again Kind regards Wendy & the kiwis nest team

Northland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The room was basic, adequate, comfortable and had an ensuite. The staff were friendly and ready to assist. We were quite satisfied with our stay and would stop there again. It was reasonably priced. Walking distance to all that Dunedin holds dear. It entertained a cosmopolitan clientele.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mattldk63
Woe1, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on kiwis nest We are all very happy to help in anyway possible & glad you enjoyed your stay We look forward to seeing you again when you are on your travels Kind Regards Wendy & the kiwis nest team

Rural North Island, NZ
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Once again a very pleasant stay t Kiwis Nest. I always stay here when in Dunedin (apart from one time when my travel arrangements were chnged and there was no room available). I enjoy the wonderful friendly and helpful staff and family atmosphere. They are always available when I need them but never get in the way as we go...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gayn0r64
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Kiwis nest Always such a pleasure to have our return guest coming back for a visit & have a catch up We are very lucky that kiwis nest is so central to everywhere you want to go Safe travels & see you next time you are in...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

After a minor setback at the beginning of our stay was quickly sorted out with no dramas we found the staff to be happy, courteous and friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The location was fabulous for us -very central and close to the University, hospital, Octagon and all of the sought after tourist destinations in the city....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juliet L
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review We pride ourselves on our clean hostel & it is great we are in such a great location I am so glad your daughters interview went well A big congratulations from all of us at Kiwis Nest Safe Travels Kind Regards Wendy & the kiwis nest team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 September 2016

as Dunedin does not have a subway system, if you have a booking at this place, I would suggest taking a shuttle directly from the airport. I bunked in a room shared with 4 other travelers. overall, I did not have any problems. the sheets are clean and I had a few days of good rest at the place. if...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stanggoftibia1984
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank You very much for taking the time to write a lovely review on kiwis nest It was a pleasure to have you stay with us extending your stay every morning We are a very friendly hostel which we pride ourselves on, & as you say very homely I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Friendly, supportive staff make for a comfortable and hassle free stay. Rooms are very inviting and clean and check in and check out was a breeze. Can't fault them on a thing. Would stay here again for sure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mmaw_107641
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review on kiwis nest Our job is always made a lot easier with such lovely guests like you Hope all is going well with you & would love to have you back to stay with us Kind Regards Wendy & the kiwis nest team

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

service was excellent. super friendly staff. they provide me with a portable heater and it works great. the young guy working at the counter look very serious but heis very very helpful and hardworking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank amy695
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on kiwis nest Always lovely to hear great comments about the team at kiwis nest Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand Kind regards Wendy & the kiwis Nest team

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#54 of 58 in Dunedin
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
5.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Limited Off Street Parking available at $5 per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: £15 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiwis Nest staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kiwis Nest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a corner room on the 2nd floor with large windows and lots of sunshine.”
 of 5 bubbles ReontheRoad, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“twin room, ensuit”
 of 5 bubbles andreakM2318LB, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are a ton of cheap hotels around the area.”
 of 5 bubbles mamazuki, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Visit the website, it demonstrates exactly what is available. Being of the older generation an en-suite suited me.”
 of 5 bubbles mattldk63, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Private room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Benjamin_Annie, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5