We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Black Sheep Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Black Sheep Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booking through their website wasnt confirmed properly. I have even sent few emails, to ask them to confirm my room, as I travelled in high season..it was a bit stressing for me travelling and thinking I might not have properly booked accomodation with them, when nothing else was free to book in high season. Anyway when I arrived, I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sounds2017
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location seems the only tiny positive of this place. We stayed all over the islands , both sides and this was by far 'THE WORST' based on: 1. Greeted by miserable receptionist who seemed offended we'd cut into her Facebook time. 2. Shuttle service advertised isn't from them at all or free it's a shuttle you find and pay for..misleading...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was directly next to the laundry and very noisy, because they kept the laundry going till 1am one day. The other thing was that our room was really smelly. The management responded to our complaint and tried to get rid off the smell but didn't succeed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I took a private room here for two nights. Overall our stay was great. The room was clean and quite spacious, the bed was comfortable. The washrooms could have been a little bit cleaner. The location was about a 5 minute walk to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgc92
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. Reviews like this inspires us to do our best. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed every bit of your stay. Our prime location which is just few minutes walk to town will indeed provide the convenience that you need when travelling in Queenstown. Safe travels and hope to see you again...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Place was tidy and beds where comfortable for a backpackers. Bathrooms are tiny and very awkward to try and shower in. Staff where very rude and didn't respect privacy. We would wake up in the morning to staff unlocking the doors and turning the lights on to do a room check... we where still sleeping!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacey M
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Stacey, thank you for giving us a review. We apologize if our room checks made you uncomfortable but we have scheduled it middle of the day so we won't be bothering anyone. It is good that you have enjoyed the cleanliness in our hostel. It has been explained that we are following Queenstown Liquor Ban for New Year prior...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mixed feelings about this place. The rooms were basic but okay. The terrace is great with pool, good opportunities for socializing, barbecue, etc. I had a good time there. However, you can really sense that staff despite being friendly does only care about the money and not the guest. E.g., asked to hold a room for 15 minutes until I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank whiteorbit1
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, taking you for taking time to giving us a review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and had a good time on our deck. We hoped we could have helped you better on your needs while you were still here. We do apologize if some hostel policies made our staff unfriendly. Feedback like...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No cups in kitchen, have to get from front desk They claimed I came to reception in person and booked another night, which I did not, and were quite annoying about it... then said I needed to check out at 9am when it was 9:20am (check out is 10am...) Bathroom was extremely cramped, could barely get in and out The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, thank you for taking time to give us a review. It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our free spa pool and the convenience of our location. We apologize if there was a bit of miscommunication on the checkout time but it is indeed 10 am. Notice about the cutlery is posted in the kitchen. We...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service. Lovely and helpful. Just got tired of having to ask and take cutlery back to reception each time. Also they should clean their fridges. It's nice that they have coupons and discounts for all the local activities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Savannah H
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Savannah, thank you for your review. It is nice to know that you were attended well by our staffs. We are happy that you were satisfied with our service. We have a schedule for cleaning fridges and thank you for letting us know, we were able to sort it immediately. Good to know that the coupons displayed in our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you asian girl, staffs are accommodating but your service is the best. The black sheep is clean and quiet which is a must for me. We stayed in a dorm at first. Lack of lockers(need lock pay deposit), stained duvets, flat pillows. The hostel have the guts to increase the rates but not to upgrade their linens. Funny how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demi P
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Demi, thank you for staying with us and taking time to give us a review. It is nice to know that you liked our hostel for being clean, quiet and having friendly staffs. Thank you for letting us know about your insights and we will take a positive note on that. We are continuously improving the hostel and suggestions...

Tigre, Argentina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very close to downtown Queenstown. Individual rooms are ok. Services are ok. Its a backpackers hotel!! Cleanliness is ok. Had some waiting time at the front desk, where in general one has to call to be attended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Roy, thank you for the time you have given to give us a review. We are happy to know you have enjoyed meeting people across the world as we are always the chosen hostel of the travelers due to the real good experience of people who stayed with us and recommends us via word of mouth. We apologize if...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 88 in Queenstown
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#8 of 88 in Queenstown
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#23 of 88 in Queenstown
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#34 of 88 in Queenstown
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: £20 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Black Sheep Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Sheep Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“high rates does not equate high standards. No to twin room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Les chambres à l'étage sont plus lumineuses”
 of 5 bubbles Agaaaathe, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“great location helpful staff kitchen hot pool”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on top floor may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Hope for room 13 all others are terrible”
 of 5 bubbles TrueCrime, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay