We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avon House Bed & Breakfast

Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (4)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good4%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Breakfast included
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Avon House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexclusive usehomemade biscuitsthoughtful hostshome from homenew zealandtravel plansmilford soundquiet locationwithin walking distancetown centreovernight cruisestayed two nightsalomalordfiordlandmotorcyclingnz
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome. Generous, kind, entertaining and thoughtful hosts - who provided an ideal "home from home " experience. Comfortable, quite rooms and a continental style breakfast. Highly recommended particularly if you like motorcycling, Lord of...More

Thank laura k
Response from Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & BreakfastResponded 30 November 2016

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We hope the rest of your motorcycle adventure going North up to Nelson went well for you and you did not get disrupted by the earthquake in Kaikoura, we wondered how your progress went for you. We...More

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed with Aloma for one night on our way between Queenstown and Milford Sound. We had an absolutely lovely stay. We are huge Lord of the Rings fans and started our stay on a personalized tour arranged by John for some...More

Thank MiglioreM
Response from Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & BreakfastResponded 30 November 2016

It was a pleasure to meet and host you both in our home. John was very disappointed he was away working on a cruise ship at the time of your visit but we know our friend Carol was able to pass his knowledge of Lord...More

Reviewed 1 November 2016

We absolutely loved our stay with John & Aloma at Avon House. We were greeted so warmly on arrival and from that moment on were treated just like family. The B&B is in a very good location, within walking distance of the local FreshChoice supermarket...More

Thank tanyabc90
Response from Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & BreakfastResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Tanya and Nicholas, We so much appreciated you taking the time to do a review for us. It was nice to hear you had arrived home safely. We very much enjoyed hosting you also John was very happy sharing his experience of working with...More

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a night at Avon House as a stop over between Oamaru and Milford Sound and we are so happy we did. Aloma looked after us so well, and helped us with our travel plans to Milford Sound which had to be altered due...More

Thank Mimimiu
Response from Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & BreakfastResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Siew Pheng and Chong, Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us. It is very much appreciated. I enjoyed your company and hosting you for the night. I hope the weather cleared for you and you had the...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016

My sister and I have wanted to tour New Zealand for 43 years, and we finally did it in 2016. After spending many nights in B & B's over the years, we were delighted to see that Te Anau, one of our destinations, had a...More

1  Thank Carol S
Response from Tunzelman, Owner at Avon House Bed & BreakfastResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you Carol for taking the time to do a review for us. It is so very much appreciated. John really enjoys sharing his experience of working with Sir Peter Jackson on the Lord of the Rings sites around Fiordland with our guests. We also...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Te Anau
See allSee all
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Price range
US$112 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
8 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tunzelman | Property representative |
Hi there, we charge $nz145 per couple or $nz110 per single. For exclusive use of the guest accommodation area we charge $nz195. We have room available for the dates you have inquired about. We will hold this for you awaiting... More
Room Tips
"I stayed in a two-single bedroom, it was very spacious, ideal for people traveling solo or for friends."
Read review
"Go for exclusive use so that you don't have to share a bathroom"
Read review
"Both rooms are superb."
Read review
"For the upstairs loft room, the toilet is downstairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing