We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Broken Hill

Caledonian B & B

239 reviews
Save
Traveller (46)
Dining (12)
Room & Suite (8)
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good19%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Wheelchair access
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (239)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Caledonian B & B
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
185
43
1
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
185
43
1
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared facilitieselectric blanketswonderful hostsold world charmoff street parkingcooked breakfastbarbhughsagecottagepubhistorycharacterensuitefavourheaterlinen
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2016

I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our 2 nights at the Caledonian. Hugh and Barb were so welcoming and it was clear that their mission was to make everything special for everyone. From the designer coffee brewed individually for each guest to the...More

Thank Carrie N
Response from TheCally_12, Owner at Caledonian B & BResponded 20 February 2016

Thanks so much Carrie N - We did enjoy your stay with us - please come back again if you can - Cheers - Hugh and Barb (PS those biscuits are available on our Site!!!)

Reviewed 7 January 2016

Nice place with lovely people that make you feel at home. Hugh was very friendly and helpful. One can immediately see that the B&B is run with lot of love and sense for detail. We enjoyed our stay and we would stay there any time.

Thank C_M_0802
Response from TheCally_12, Owner at Caledonian B & BResponded 20 February 2016

Thanks so much to C_M_0802 - Your positive review helps us get Even More wonderful guests - we think of you often - Cheers Hugh and Barb

Reviewed 7 January 2016

We stayed at one of the rental properties (a couple blocks from the B&B), but still had very friendly service from the owners. The accommodation is old, but clean and comfortable. Imagine staying at a retired professor/artists cottage. All properties are full of books and...More

Thank Mark C
Response from TheCally_12, Owner at Caledonian B & BResponded 20 February 2016

Hi Mark - yes the accommodation is definitely old! Miners Cottages from the late 1800s, in fact and we're glad you found them comfortable. Thanks for your kind words and we hope you'll visit Broken Hill again and stay with us. Cheers Barb and Hugh

Reviewed 25 December 2015

My wife and I met in the back yard of what was referred to as "The Callie" forty two years ago. We went back to celebrate forty years and wanted to stay somewhere that was "Broken Hill" rather than a typical motel. We were pleased...More

Thank trooo3
Response from Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & BResponded 27 December 2015

Thanks trooo3 for your positive review - Barb and I (this is Hugh writing this) are delighted that we contributed to your enjoyable experience in returning to "The Hill". We derive a great deal of pleasure from doing our best to "Give more than people...More

Reviewed 14 November 2015

I spent 3 nights at The Caledonian & very happy I did. Loads of charm & character. Great hosts with good local knowledge & great conversations & only too happy to help. Good breaky with plenty to eat & Hugh's Anzac cookies was a nice...More

Thank Trevor J
Response from TheCally_12, Owner at Caledonian B & BResponded 20 February 2016

Thank you, Trevor for your review. We always have the nicest people stay with us. cheers, Barb and Hugh

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345647
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$79 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$79 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Dining (12)
Room & Suite (8)
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Bathroom (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Caledonian B & B staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"The sage room has its own bathroom, and is quiet and comfortable."
Read review
"Close to town, no noise and Hugh's knowledge of Broken Hill is invaluable"
Read review
"Book ahead"
Read review
"All rooms are excellent but book early to avoid disappointment"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite