We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Citigate Motel Newcastle

TravelocityUS$74*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$82*
US$74*
US$82*
US$82*
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Citigate Motel Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of Citigate Motel Newcastle
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The owners of this motel, Manny and her husband are to be complimented on the improvements to the motel from the previous two times I have stayed. New furnishings and much cleaner with a continental breakfast included in the very low price. They were receptive and accommodating to any requests and did so happily. You know you are going to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaryllMack
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

First time staying at the Citigate and while the room was cheap it wasn't very clean... rubbish still in the bin and the room smelt like smoke... the Aircon and Vent in the Bathroom looks as though they have never been cleaned.. The staff were friendly enough but unfortunately a poorly cleaned room will mean I won't return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthonyjec
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi Anthonyjec, Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. We wish that if you had come to see us then we would have investigate further and try to overcome any problems you had. I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping...

Campbelltown, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was very good from the staff and were always happy and smiling when I bumped into them. The motel is close to everything you want to see in the Newcastle area. I highly recommend this motel and I thank the staff for making my stay very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traceychown
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Traceychown, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for recommending our Motel to other travelers. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Citigate Motel. Warm Regards, Manny

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are very neat and tidy. Managers are extremely friendly and will be back. A great little continental breakfast available and a top little restaurant 50m down the road. Convenient location to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Chris P, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Warm regards, Manny

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, spacious rooms and friendly staff. We had four rooms as our kids were going to a music festival. Parking underneath was handy. Close to shops and airport access. Comfortable bed and clean showers. It is noisy but that comes with being on that road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear J Forrester, Thank you for your review. We value all feedback and I will forward to our team. Lovely to hear your group enjoyed their stay and we hope you visit us again in the future . Warm regards, Manny

Blue Mountains Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Had a good stay there. Staff were helpful and found some champagne glasses for us.. Clean and spacious. If I had to be picky the exhaust fan in the bathroom is very loud, but it is not a big issue. Location was good, everything seemed close to us in Newcastle compared to Sydney!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spongebob007
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear spongebob007, Thank you for your review .... Lovely to hear you enjoy your stay with us ,and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Citigate motel! Sorry about exhaust fan noise. Warm regards, Manny

Largs Bay, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This was our 4th stay at Citigate. Comfortable large room. Close to our family and Newcastle. Good car park. Room and facilities upgraded and very clean. Coffee making and own light breakfast making things available in the room. Suits us well. Will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Francesfield
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Francesfield, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Citigate Motel ! Warm regards, Manny

Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The room was clean and well suited to travelers for short stays. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. There were plenty of options for food close by and the Breakfast provided was adequate. Could be expanded to provide meals for the evening, especially when it seems that a number of workers use this place for short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lpazza1
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear IPazza, Thank you for your great feedback. I will pass onto our team. looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. Warm regards, Manny

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Comfortable bed, spotless clean room, fabulous hot shower pressure, lovely friendly welcome from reception. INFORMATION for travellers about the area would be helpful such as recommended places to eat. A little noisy on arrival from traffic and guests which did subside quickly. Parking is a problem, not enough parking space and first in first served.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mummanic
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Greeted with a friendly smile upon arrival. Very nice customer service, great comfy bed and large rooms, really good cost wise. The shower was awesome. Would stay again for sure.Very close to free public transport into Newcastle. Only a 10 minute walk to the local RSL Club.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jodi B
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Jodi B, Thank you for your review. We value all feedback and I will forward to our team. Lovely to hear your enjoyed your stay. looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. Warm regards, Manny

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
169 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
971 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Motor Village
Travellers Motor Village
#15 of 22 in Newcastle
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sovereign Inn Newcastle
Sovereign Inn Newcastle
#18 of 28 in Newcastle
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable, affordable accommodation, centrally located and suited to any type of travellers! We have free WIFI, Free Foxtel and upgraded all rooms to luxury NEW beds. Whether it's an overnight business trip, a quick stop over on your travels or a home away from home you're looking for, you'll find it at Citigate Motel. We provide a range of different accommodation choices to suit your needs and your budget. You'll find our facilities and rooms clean, comfortable and spacious with all of the necessities to make your stay with us a pleasant one along with a friendly customer service team ensuring you are well taken care of. Enjoy being just 10 minutes from the CBD, Beaches, Shoppings and all that Newcastle has to offer as well as being central to the beautiful Hunter Valley and Port Stephens areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citigate Motel Newcastle

Address: 418-422 Maitland Rd | Mayfield West, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citigate Motel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Citigate Motel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Citigate Motel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have an issue with road noise, especially as it is located on the corner of a truck route.”
lpazza1, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very comfortable rooms”
109sandral, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Email manager Manny before stay for any requests and she will definitely help”
TanSC_12, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 25 is on the back end, away from the road, great locale”
eockwell, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“excellent value motel”
bozo5412, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$74* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$82
TripAdvisorUS$74
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates