We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Longhouse

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Longhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of The Longhouse
 Click to rate
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled across this gem whilst looking for accommodation close to Roche Estate for a concert. Beds comfy, well equipped kitchen with some basic pantry item. Loved it, the design, the view, didn't want to leave. Thanks The Longhouse, I'll be back.

Thank Leesa66
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

This is our fourth visit to the Longhouse. We have seen some upgrades over the years all adding to the quality of this venue. A self catered place with all of the usual cooking facilities including well maintained barbecue. Common room well appointed with TV and video. Bedrooms more than adequate with up market bathrooms with extra towelling not normally...

Thank Paul R
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Very relaxing, had a two night stay. Most of all its very calm and has lot of space for kids to play and walk around. We did miss the microwave cooking or warming food was not possible. But overall it was a great experience. Especially enjoying the morning sunrise.

Thank Alex J
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Pros-The Longhouse is set in a stunning location and is close to everything that you need. The property is spacious and opens out to a beautiful view across the vineyards. Beds were comfy and shower was great with the best toiletries! I liked the fuss free check in and check out system. Loved the design and aesthetics of the house....

3Thank TrudiJJ
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Longhouse. I am sorry that you stay was somewhat spoilt by the behaviour of someone else's children. With relation to the wifi we did have optus wifi - unfortunately optus allowed guests to subscribe our account to PAID 12 month porn subscriptions (this happened on multiple occasions)...

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Was explained to us as very private. Totaly not the case. The border who left his belongings in the fridge, strolled straight back in to colect them after our arrival. The place was filthy with hair and matter build up in bathroom floor drains. And filthy furniture. This was aproxamatly 5 years ago and we still cringe at the thought...

6Thank Shane W
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this review

The longhouse had not been built 5 years ago and looking through our records you never stayed with us. I believe you have written this review about the wrong property. At that time there was another property called the longhouse in lovedale which has since closed. Perhaps you stayed there

Reviewed 21 June 2016

Its beautiful and cold. The managers dont make you feel welcome at all. Its designed by an architect for a photo but its not welcoming. Go somewhere the managers actually want you there. No wifi at all because someone used too much? Seriously.

6Thank liam.walsh
Dora Creek, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We were a group of 12 so we had all three units exclusively. The location is perfectly central to all the cellar doors and attractions but it feels like you are totally secluded. The units are absolutely perfect for two couples (each unit), with very spacious,clean and modern facilities. The feature of both the front and rear of the living...

1Thank Fizndarb
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Wow wow wow! This place is stunning! We ate our cheese platter on the deck- surrounded by grey kangaroos who were eating the grapes in the vineyard. The longhouse itself is beautiful- both the front and back open up into the kitchen and dining. Our only regret is only staying one night.... We recommend the longhouse to both couples, families,...

3Thank lausie26
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Longhouse for our anniversary. It was a surprise for me and it was absolutely spectacular. It was so lovely to just sit on the balcony with the view and a glass of wine and relax away from Sydney. The building is different to anything else I've stayed at. Yes there are Windows absolutely everywhere and light...

Thank Em D
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

The second I saw this place on the net I fell in love but was wondering if the reality was as great as the pics. Well I was overjoyed for a change, from the moment you see the Longhouse as you drive up... Just gorgeous. Architecturally designed and built. Modern sleek sexy!!! I just love it. I've enjoyed this place...

Thank Lilette F
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this review

Hi Lisette I am so glad that you enjoyed another stay with us, we LOVE the longhouse and are always thrilled when guests feel the same way too! We look forward to welcoming back again in the future :)

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (91)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Dining (4)
View from Room (16)
Room/Suite (11)
Family/Play Areas (4)
Bathroom (2)
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.4 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
1.0 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 40 in Pokolbin
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Longhouse

Address: 385 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales NSW 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: £334 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Longhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Longhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longhouse Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Longhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 1 was good. Corner room especially if you have kids its a nice room”
alexjI7956KO, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no rooms are better than others”
liam.walsh, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“There are only three apartments, so I would request either of the 'end' apartments.”
phantomfisho, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“It doesn't matter which one you choose, they are all equal.”
chrisg276rec, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“No wifi as another guest had abused the service. Dirt acess road so do not clean you car before you go. Do take your coffee machine with you so you enjoy a coffee on the full length balcony in the mornings. Often the hot air balloons pass by in the ealry mornings.”
372stephenw, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5