We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Downs Motel

Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Downs Motel offers a level of comfort and style for guests in search of quality accommodation and friendly attentive service. Featuring 23 modern and traditional style motel rooms offering single, double and triple bedding options, the Downs Motel is proud to be affiliated with the Healthy Hotels programme so you are sure to experience a clean, comfortable and peaceful stay with us. All rooms feature 32" Digital flat screen TV with a range of Foxtel channels including 3 sport and 3 movie channels, All rooms have ensuite bathroom, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, tea/coffee, reverse cycle air-conditioning & have FREE wi-fi internet access. Downs Motel is conveniently located in the CBD and is one block to the City centre. 250m walk to Restaurants, cafes and shopping centres. Walk to the City Golf Club, and Toowoomba Base Hospital or only a short drive to the main sporting grounds and fields, University of Southern Queensland, the Empire Theatre, Function Centre and much more. For your added convenience, there is ample off street parking & guest laundry available. Why not take advantage of our in-room dining service for breakfast and dinner and choose from our delicious range of hearty home cooked meals. Lunch packages are also available on request. Office hours are 7:30am – 7:30pm however a 24 hour check in service is available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
101Reviews
38Photos
1Q+A
15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 42
  • 17
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Small motel set back from Ruthven st., which diminishes any traffic noise. Bonus is the complimentary mini bar, with soft drink and tim tams. Within 5 mins. drive to Toowoomba hospital. Not sure about all rooms, but ours appeared to be refurbished in recent years, beds
Read more
Response from Di G, Manager at Downs Motel
Responded 24 Oct 2018
Thank you for staying at the Downs Motel. See you next time your in Toowoomba. Regards Di
Read more
Good sized room with great modern bathroom. Nice extras such as drinks and Tim Tams in the fridge too! As my room was nearest the busy road, there was a lot of traffic noise and the internet didn't work much of the time, however this place was well located and very good value.
Read more
Response from Di G, Manager at Downs Motel
Responded 23 Oct 2018
Hi Glyn, It's nice to hear from our guests and their experience staying at the Downs Motel. Yes our rooms are a generous size and we have renovated some of the bathrooms. The Free Mini Bar goes down a treat and we are great value for money. We are set back off the road a bit from the traffic noise and it's quiet from 10pm at night till early morning, so most of our guests get a great sleep. The internet has it's moments and can be rebooted. We are in the processes of up-grading our receivers. Thanks for your comments. Kind Regards Di
Read more
The good points were clean room, nice towels. Sadly this is all I can say that is positive. The location is awful, in the middle of a retail centre, next to a large Joyce Mayne store. Parking is totally inadequate and not allocated which meant that when we returned from dinner
Read more
Response from Di G, Manager at Downs Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Hi Sharon, thanks for your comments. Unfortunately we can't please everyone. Most of our customers love the location as we are so handy to everything. I also live on site and are available 24/7 to help you with anything you may need and parking is not an issue. There is plenty of parking and sometimes when we are full people park out the front of the motel, which is also the Motel's parking and we have never had any issues with security as there are security cameras everywhere. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Kind Regards Di
Read more
You are on a main road leading to another main road but the traffic noise was not really noticeable. The rooms are being refurbished but we had one of the older ones and it was of a very good standard. Remembering you are in the biggest inland city in Australia. The relief
Read more
Response from Di G, Manager at Downs Motel
Responded 29 Aug 2018
Dear Tenterfieldrover, Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to review the Downs Motels, We are happy your enjoyed your stay with us and are fortunate to be so close to town and yes, we are working on the Motel grounds or rooms currently. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Downs Motel, in the near future but until then safe travels. Kind regards Di
Read more
For needing somewhere to stay overnight while in toowoomba it was very close to shopping, had comforts and set up needed for a comfortable stopover. Firm bed, heater could work too well. Turned it off during the night as room on top floor held great well. No noisy traffic
Read more
Response from Di G, Manager at Downs Motel
Responded 26 Aug 2018
Thanks Sue-Ellen J, for taking the time out to review our beloved Downs Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again when in Toowoomba. Safe Travels Di
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementDowns Motel
Family Suite
Our room from the front
the bed
tv and robes
Photo provided by managementDowns Motel
Bathrooms Queen Studio
PreviousNext
12
Hi, The queen studio rooms have new bathrooms and are on the ground floor. The queen motel rooms are up stairs and down stairs, your choice, available on request.
1 vote
Show all answers
"further from road...ascertain what beds , i.e. double , twins, or double and single (for family)"
"Dont assume quality is not the best when it is a budget motel because that is not always the case as we found with this motel."
"All good. No problems with any room"
"Suit for Solo and short stay for business trip"
"All rooms seem quiet due to location set back from the main road"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandToowoomba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing