Waratah on York
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waratah on York

12 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 Australia
Traveller (36)
King Suite with a Spa Bath
Room & Suite (26)
pancake machine
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 11 B&Bs in Launceston
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Waratah On York is a heritage listed Victorian style mansion located just 10 minutes’ walk from Launceston city centre. It offers individually decorated rooms with high ceilings and many original features from 1861. Some rooms also feature a spa bath and views of the Tamar River. Waratah On York features free off-street parking and complementary WiFi access. The building overlooks Launceston City Park and is a 10-minute walk from the heart of the city, and a 15-minute walk from the Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery. Cataract Gorge is only 3.5 km away, and Launceston Airport is a 20-minute drive.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

12 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 Australia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Launceston Airport
Devonport Airport
41.6 mi
See all flights
54Reviews1Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 17
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lord MacDuff wrote a review Mar 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
OK, there are 28 steps to the front door but our room was lovely. It was at the back of the hotel facing onto the street and the downside was that there was a lot of traffic noise which started from 6am and got steadily noisier. Perhaps avoid that side of the B&B but still go for the ground floor to avoid more steps! There was a lovely Lithuanian receptionist who not only sorted us out with places to see but also carried one of our bags in – a herculean effort way beyond what was required but much appreciated. She was lovely! The room and bathroom was well appointed with comfortable beds, tea/coffee (fresh milk in the fridge), iron and board, good shower though the towels could have been larger. Breakfast was down the hill in the sister establishment next door. The hotel is on a steep hill and although you could walk into town, we took the car into a town car park and walked from there to the Cataract Gorge. We dined well at Stillwater but book it when you book accommodation as it gets very busy apparently. Nice place, we’d go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear Tyranny1057, Thank you for this extensive and positive review of your stay with us! We are so pleased that you appreciated Piia's helpfulness and the comfortable rooms. We thank you for your helpful feedback, and are glad that you enjoyed your time in Launceston. We hope we can accommodate you again soon. Kind regards, Grace.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael m wrote a review Mar 2020
Biarritz, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great place to stay within walking distance of all the main spots of Launceston. The rooms are superb , an incredible amount of space, well decorated and with superb furnishings. The bathrooms equally beautifully prepared and easy to use. The continental breakfast was served just a few steps away and was fresh and plentiful. If I wanted to be picky there are no public facilities such as a bar or dining room and with no lift I had to drag my suitcase up to the first floor.
The experience was great though and I would have no hesitation of staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear michaelm869, Thank you for this perfect review of your stay with us at Waratah on York. It is wonderful to hear that that you enjoyed the convenient location, room ambiance, and our included continental breakfast! As we are a heritage property, we are unfortunately unable to have a lift, and we hope this did not negatively impact your stay. We hope we can accommodate you again soon! Kind regards, Grace.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tastony2 wrote a review Jan 2020
Hobart, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautifully maintained historic property. I chose a top class room that was substantial in beautiful outlooks. Moreover the room came with a spa bath ( on a verandah ) that one could indulge in the great views during its use. The king size bed was most comfortable. The decor was in keeping with the nature of the heritage property ( particularly the drapes ). Car parking was readily available ( at no extra charge unlike othe city properties in Launceston ). There was no need for a car to get to the city, albeit some 20 or so minutes walk away. Breakfast was available in an adjoining modern building and was basically a continental style but adequate to get under way for the day.
I really have to compliment the exceptional service from management in a most friendly way. What was most unusual also I received an sms message enroute to Launceston some 2 hrs before due check in to say my room was ready. I have never, ever, received this before. I would suggest this highlights an attention to detail and care for the client. I shall return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: An outlook North towards the Eastern side of the city and the valley beyond.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClareF727, Manager at Waratah on York
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Tastony2, Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to leave this amazing review of your time with us. We are so pleased that we were able to provide a 5/5 stay, and that you were so appreciative of our included car parking and breakfast, decor, and particularly the courtesy text letting you know that the room was ready for check-in! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Yours kindly, The Accommodation Launceston Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret D wrote a review Apr 2021
Adelaide, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night in a lovely and spacious room in this elegant, Georgian building on York Street. It was initially a bit tricky to drive into as the back of the building faces York Street and there are a few hotels on the street, so it’s a bit discreet. Whilst it seemed a busy road on arrival and our room faced the street, it was quiet at night and the location was great for walking around- it’s hilly, but we easily walked to the Art Gallery, CBD and old dock area. There is parking available and you have to walk up some stairs to the building, and there was no elevator to our room, but the very hospitable and pleasant woman in reception carried my luggage upstairs, which was kind and unexpected ! The room had an elegant, old fashioned style, but with all the modern facilities that you need - nice warm showers, comfortable bed, and some decent tea and coffee choices. The price was very reasonable and certainly, it offered a charm and style that seemed fitting for Launceston with its elegant Georgian architecture. So for a more unique alternative to the standard hotel room, Waratah on York might be a good choice for travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 5 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for leaving us a review, Margaret. We appreciate your comments about our beautiful and unique building; it is certainly our most charming asset. Unfortunately, a part of having such a lovely heritage building is being limited to what renovations we can make, including elevators and other additions. We always try to make it as clear as possible to guests on the website and the bookings that there are stairs and hilly terrain. This hotel is not very suitable for someone with severe mobility issues, sadly. However, I'm glad that you were assisted with your bags and found your stay very comfortable. We try to stay true to the building with our furnishings and it's lovely to hear that you found it to be this way. We hope to see you again should you visit our beautiful city. Kindest regards, Hannah Waratah on York
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robertj627 wrote a review Feb 2020
Midway, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was built around 1868. This is reflected in the ceiling height the quality of construction and ambiance of the room. Truly a pleasant experience. The service was above and beyond. We had early flight so could not attend breakfast. They brought bread and toast with jam including a toaster, musli and yogurt the night before so we could have breakfast in the room. Truly remarkable service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear robertj627, Thank you for this wonderful review of your stay at Waratah on York, we are so pleased that we were able to provide a 5/5 service! It is so lovely to hear that you appreciated the heritage nature of the property, and all of it's charm. We are glad that we were able to assist in providing an in-room early breakfast so you were ready for the day of travelling ahead and that you could enjoy the full service of a stay with us. We hope we can accommodate you again soon. Kind Regards, The Accommodation Launceston Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The steps from the car park should not deter you. The room we had was comfortable and spacious. The scrumptious breakfast was hosted across the car park in their property next door, again with a great outlook. The walk to town is fine, but some may see the walk back as more uphill, but choosing the right route helps. The hot water took a while to reach the shower.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear Colioni, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Waratah on York! It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated the view, room design, and included breakfast during your stay. We understand that due to the hilly nature in Launceston, the walk back to the property from town can be steeper, but we think it is well worth the aforementioned enjoyment of our spectacular views. Due to the heritage status of the property, hot water may be a little slower to reach the shower, and thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will look into improvements. We hope we can accommodate you again on a return to Launceston soon! Kind Regards, The Accommodation Launceston Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JJawandering wrote a review Dec 2022
Lethbridge, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely rooms with fine furnishings and very quiet. What prevents a higher ranking is that a. You have to call ahead for someone to check you in and b. breakfast is no longer included. It meant that this jet lagged traveller had to walk downtown to Woolies supermarket to pick up food for breakfast and also to order a takeout instead of attempting yet another walk to find a restaurant If mobility is a problem, ask for a ground floor room.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 1 Jan 2023
Hi JJawandering, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at Waratah on York. We are pleased that you enjoyed our peaceful setting and the features of your room. We would love to welcome you again in th future. Kind regards, Christine, Waratah on York.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy O wrote a review Mar 2020
Bicheno, Tasmania, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thought that we would like to try somewhere different to stay, so decided to give Waratah on York a go. We booked an Executive Suite cause we looked on line to see what the rooms looked like and decided this had a nice feel and a view over the City. Unfortunately we did not get the same suite as we had viewed, the room was still nice but very noisy with traffic outside our window, no view and quite cold with a draught under the door. Would prefer there other property Hideaway on George.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a View.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 13 May 2020
Dear Judy, Thank you so much for the review. Being an old heritage building, all rooms are different at Waratah On York. We have three Executive Suites, all located on the ground floor and having a spa bath but all slightly different. Just one having some views overlooking the city. Images of all rooms are available on each site as well. We are sorry to hear you did not get the room with the view. Kindly let us know this request next time and we would be happy to accommodate it. There are new wall heaters to keep the old building warm but I appreciate your comment about the draft under the door, we will attend this definitely. Hopefully electric blankets and extra blanket kept you warm at night. Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to see you back here one day again. Kind regards, Piia Waratah On York
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anonymous835 wrote a review May 2023
Ontario, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a gem this hotel is! A very traditional hotel…nothing fancy but lovely old world elegance. I stayed in Room 8 which has a small balcony (accessible through the window:)) and a view of downtown Launceston from a hill top so it’s wonderful! The room is large. A comfortable king size bed with lovely sheets (finally….a break from standard white!). The bathroom is spacious with a small shower AND a tub!!! The room is large enough for a 2 seater sofa looking out the beautiful windows. And such a bargain too. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: No lift. Staff member was very willing to carry my luggage up to my room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clare Fillmore, Owner at Waratah on York
Responded 7 May 2023
Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Waratah on York. It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your large, lofty room and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Christine, Waratah on York.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toshorama wrote a review Jan 2020
Yackandandah, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room we had was very nice. Comfortable bed and the bedroom itself well appointed and clean.
Staff very helpful and welcoming on arrival when taking money but that is the last we saw of them.
No tea and coffee replenished. Drafts and ice cold breezes in room.
Bathroom dated and tired. Tight parking and lots of steps to access.
Breakfast room crowded and small although good continental breakfast.
Expensive for what it is. If you want a b and b you will do better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClareF727, Manager at Waratah on York
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Hi Toshorama, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to hear that you found your bed to be comfortable and room to be clean! I am sorry you did not see much of our staff, but I can assure you that we have staff onsite from 7am - 6:30pm tending to guests needs across Waratah On York and Areca Launceston. Our tea and coffee that is placed in the rooms is both complimentary and refilled when the rooms are serviced. My apologies if you ran out of something - our staff always have excess handy that we can give our guests. My apologies for the draft, being such an old building this can be a bit of an issue. We are currently working to find a solution. Our bathrooms are dated, but they are kept to excellent condition. Waratah on York is a heritage old Victorian style building and is advertised as such. This is why our bathrooms are not modern but are rather up kept to match the original style of the room. Our parking can be a little bit intimidating on first glance and it unfortunately along with the stairs is the price we pay for having a building on the top of the hill. I hope you were able to appreciate the beautiful Launceston morning view whilst enjoying your breakfast. We are aware that the stairs can pose as an issue for some guests so we try very hard to make sure that all of our booking platforms state that there is about 25 steps from the car park /breakfast room to the entrance of the building. I am so glad you enjoyed your breakfast! I hope you tried the pancakes - they are my favourite! I am sorry that you found our breakfast room to be crowded. This is peak travel season for us at the moment so we have been just about booked out since before Christmas so breakfasts can be a little busy at times. This being said we still do everything we can to ensure that everything is filled up and that available spaces are cleaned as soon as they appear ready for the next guest. I hope you had an excellent time exploring Launceston and we wish you all the best for the rest of your travels. Yours kindly, Renee
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Clare F
Hello, I am so sorry for our delayed response! Please call us on 03 6331 3300
anonymous835 wrote a tip May 2023
Ontario, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No lift. Staff member was very willing to carry my luggage up to my room."
Read full review
Ulla R wrote a tip Aug 2022
Hobart, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Of the 6 we booked they were all so so so comfy"
Read full review
Kelly C wrote a tip Dec 2021
Marcoola, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy parking with supermarkets and restaurants in walking distance."
Read full review
Judy O wrote a tip Mar 2020
Bicheno, Tasmania, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with a View."
Read full review
823stango wrote a tip Feb 2020
Perth, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 5 on the top floor has a spa and was away from the main road. However, there are 2 flights of stairs to access the room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Launceston area.
PRICE RANGE
£65 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waratah on york launceston, waratah on york hotel launceston
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaLaunceston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WARATAH ON YORK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Waratah on York
Which popular attractions are close to Waratah on York?
Nearby attractions include City Park (0.1 miles), Harvest Market Launceston (0.3 miles), and Bar Two (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Waratah on York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Waratah on York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Waratah on York?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Waratah on York?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waratah on York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Novaro's Restaurant, Brisbane Street Bistro, and The Royal Oak Hotel.
Is Waratah on York located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Launceston.
Are there any historical sites close to Waratah on York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Umbrella Shop (0.4 miles) and Duck Reach Power Station (2.5 miles).
All Launceston HotelsLaunceston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LauncestonHotels near Waratah on York
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire