We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (527)
Room & Suite (253)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 7 small hotels in Launceston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Iconic Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments is well known throughout Tasmania, and as the closest hotel to famous Cataract Gorge and with onsite Penny Adventure Park there is no other hotel quite like it. So if you are looking for the ideal place to stay that is walking distance to Cataract Gorge, Tamar River and the city centre look no further. Leisure Inn Penny Royal features a range of hotel rooms and self-catering apartments, including 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments that are ideal for the family group travelling. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms and apartments offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free unlimited internet access available, free car parking is also included. Spread over two sites, the hotel rooms are located in the historic mill building at 147 Paterson Street, where reception is also located. The apartments are 200m further up the road onsite at Penny Royal Adventure Park and all rooms are accessible by stairs only, with some ground floor rooms available on request via reception. Book your next stay in Launceston with Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments and come experience a truly memorable place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
24-hour security
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
3,217Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,011
  • 1,287
  • 628
  • 172
  • 119
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Suzette B wrote a review Mar 2024
Perth, Australia123 contributions31 helpful votes
We arrived at the Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel and Appartments and was welcomed so warmly by the lady in reception. She was friendly, courteous and so warm in her dealings with us. Our room was ready even though we arrived an hour early. The building is charming , full of character. Our room was old but spotless and full of charm. Just beautiful. The only downside is we are only spending 1 night here and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Suzette, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we are pleased and delighted to see another 5 out of 5 review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin S wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions8 helpful votes
This is a no service establishment. Nobody at reception at 7:30PM...refused a meal or entry to restaurant at 7:50PM. Empty fridge, not ever cold water was no noisy we had to unplug it. Aircon constantly made a short loud buzzing noise even when turned off. Pillows made of rocks. The final night (Sunday 10th) there was a function across the courtyard. We measured music at 90db from 5:00 PM to 10:20 PM We explained that we needed to get up at 04:30 AM for flights out....nobody cared about this situation. The night manager came knocking on our door at 8:45 PM to tell us that the noise will go until 11:00PM. I told him "BS we want a refund and slammed the door. Don't ever stay at this circus of a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John foe wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
5 star customer service great place to stay great room 360 gegree view of Lonnie from our captains quarters room that backed onto the attraction park that had the waterfall bar ice cream etc etc we stayed 2 days and didn't want to leave close to everything and uber eats delivers here special mention to the staff at reception and the cleanliness from the cleaning staff who remade our bed our took our rubbish etc thanks you guys never get enough credit for the hard work you do, we will be staying again without hesitation 2 days is not long enough we had ball thanks to all also the showers were great with the all shampoo hand sanitiser condition provided great air con and a designated smoking area was good to have away from the property meet a few nice people there and had a chat for hours in the shade of the big willow tree oh so enjoyable and a great place for photos all around 😀
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear John, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we are pleased and delighted to see another 5 out of 5 review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Apolonia70 wrote a review Feb 2024
adelaide1580 contributions236 helpful votes
+1
Near main roads, Cataract gorge and Penny Royal complex, and a park across the road. A quirky hotel with all facilities to make stay comfortable. Rooms in strip are all named - eg Dairy. Beds comfortable, noise from cars driving in not too bad. Breakfast operating hours are somewhat later than normal so we had breakfast elsewhere. Main attraction is location - an easy walk to Penny Royal, Cataract Gorge views from bridge and a park across the road - Polish memorial and nice views. Enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Location is good if you want to base yourself closer to visiting Cataract Gorge & town. Parking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Apolonia, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate your support. We do value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Teleost wrote a review Jan 2024
Cairns, Australia139 contributions55 helpful votes
This was a convenient stop for the night after a long day of flights. Despite informing management that we'd be arriving late, no instructions were provided regarding checking in. You have to ring a security company who will give you the combination to a key safe. The bar opposite reception were great about explaining the system, even though the business is unconnected. Our apartment was a little dated but clean and comfortable. Free wifi and smart TV were very appreciated. The big red flag is accessibility. This is not suitable for people with mobility issues. To get to the apartments you have to climb steep stairs. Once you enter the apartment, there are narrow, steep stairs up to the bedrooms and more steep stairs down to the living area. Not the greatest place I've ever stayed, but it's far from the worst.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Teleost, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate your support. We do value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again. We understand that stairs within the property could be an issue. However, you'll be pleased to that we have recently installed a lift at our main building at reception section. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C-S-TravelersFromCA wrote a review Nov 2023
Sacramento, California171 contributions68 helpful votes
We were booked here by our tour, Under Down Under. By far, superior to other lodging of our 4-night tour. Very comfortable, great location and across the street from excellent restaurant (Stillwater).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Dear Guest , Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we are pleased and delighted to see another 5 out of 5 review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie M wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions
Apartment was quirky - we couldn’t find it at first as it was the ground floor of the round tower - took all night for the aircon and heater to warm it up the first night. Shower temp kept fluctuating from hot to cold. More suited to families on the weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We went from recommendations from friends but it is more suited for families on the weekends
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Dear DebbiemJ3362CO, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate your support. We do value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again. Please inform us prior to you arrival about any request or requirement so it can be addressed. With regards, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CHRISTIAN D wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
+1
My time spent at pennyroyal royal leisure inn was exactly I imagined it would be. Staff were pleasant and helpful the accommodation was immaculate and it offered the peace and quietness of the location I was looking for in my stay. I will be letting people know about my great adventures tasmania has to offer and how it has the best accommodation to offer to people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just know when you think of tasmania you get value for money and total relaxation. It is the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Dear ChristiandX1601AH, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we are pleased and delighted to see another 5 out of 5 review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
acorns40 wrote a review Jun 2023
45 contributions30 helpful votes
This is a quirky place, but we like that! Our beds were warm and comfortable, the shower hot, and a nice cosy living room. We had a two bedroom apartment, which suited our family of four. Reasonable price. Fantastic location, and we ate at Brady’s Tavern a few minutes walk away. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Dear acorns40, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we are pleased and delighted to see another 5 out of 5 review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SANDY M wrote a review May 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
If you're in Launceston, do yourself a favour and book in at Penny Royal. Service was amazing, beds are comfortable, location is perfect. We had no idea that the place existed and definately would have extended our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go there on a weekend and visit Adventure Park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne White, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Dear Y8550ADsandym, Thank-you for choosing to stay with us, we are pleased and delighted to see another 5 out of 5 review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Launceston area.
PRICE RANGE
£62 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leisure inn penny royal hotel and apartments, leisure hotel launceston, leisure hotel penny royal, launceston penny royal
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaLaunceston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEISURE INN PENNY ROYAL HOTEL & APARTMENTS - Updated 2024 (Launceston, Tasmania)

Frequently Asked Questions about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Queen Victoria Museum & Art Gallery (0.3 miles), Penny Royal Adventures (0.1 miles), and Art Gallery at Royal Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stillwater Restaurant, Cataract On Paterson, and Alida.
Is Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Launceston.
Are there any historical sites close to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Umbrella Shop (0.6 miles) and Duck Reach Power Station (1.6 miles).
Is Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.