We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Expedia.comUS$67*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,070 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,047: English reviews
Somers
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We were in Launceston for the weekend for a wedding and found the penny Royal to be perfect for us. Right next door to the reception and perfect distance from the city. Backs on to cataract gorge too which made for a beautiful walk in the morning. No negative comments here

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 602melindah
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear 602mellndah We are extremely pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back with us in the future. Stay Well Edith Kinninmont

Buddina, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Our checkin left us feeling as intruders.The room confirmed that ,2 portable fans were in the space and required running 24/7 to maintain airflow.The carpet was frayed.A table and 2 chairs prevented my disabled husband from accessing the oldest queen size bed in Tasmania.I moved them in front of a fixed wall heater.The accessible bathroom had a padded bar behind...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syrenia
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Syrenia It is very disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at the Leisure Inn Penny Royal at all. We have commenced placing air conditioning in the Hotel and this will be ongoing into the future. I have taken your comments on board and will be addressing these with the relevant departments. Hopefully in the future...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

From the outside this accommodation is good looking. However I was disappointed with the inside of the room. In particular the bathroom was small and poorly designed. The location is very good for visits to the Gorge and walks into town. In my opinion the cost of a room is way too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pantherpete63
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Pantherepete63 Thank you for taking the time to review Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I am certainly glad that you found the location is ideal. Many guests share the same sentiment with such easy walking to the gorge and city centre. However I am disappointed that we failed to satisfy you overall, & apologise that the while you liked the...

Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Having lived in Tasmania for years we knew this tourist attraction from a very early age when it was just that- a tourist attraction aimed at children. Now it has been transformed into excellent accommodation suitable for all ages yet retaining the charm of a bygone era. Our room was upstairs at the back overlooking the lake and pizza bar/restaurant...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Manager170873, Front Office Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Patricia S Thank you for reviewing the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. It is extremely pleasing to have locals come and enjoy the Hotel and the Adventures and the changes that have been made to welcome all our visitors. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we will certainly address the light issue coming in through the door window. We look...

Melbourne
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Charming looking hotel which is in a great location to visit cataract gorge. Can't say that it is as good as some reviews have said. Getting a car park is difficult and you have to walk up to 60 m to your room and up 3 flights of stairs if you are as unlucky as we were. Parking is at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pata4
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Pata4 Thank you for your review of the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. It is pleasing to hear that our location is great but not to pleasing to hear your stay was not an enjoyable one. We have commenced placing air conditioning in the hotel, but this will be an ongoing project. We would like to have you back with...

Brighton, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Have stayed at the Penny Royal Leisure Inn a few times. Each time I've stayed it has been great. Close to attractions. The Cataract Gorge is well worth visiting. Staff helpful and rooms are very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyjdickson
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Excellent accommodation in old building but renovated to a modern style. The bedding was excellent and shower/bathroom modern and clean. Amusements right on site. A bit of a walk/drive to the main city restaurants. The office is at a different location which was initially a bit confusing. A parking permit is required which is provided at check in. There are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gbmontreal
Brighton
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We stayed in an apartment which was up the road from the reception. We were given an electric fan due to the warm weather. The Cataract Gorge was very close as was the waterfront. A parking voucher was provided.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerrymF1562CN
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear KerrymF1562CN, Thank you for your review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017

very comfortable apartment near the gorge and walking distance to CBD. Excellent location with views of the water. Very good pub next door with great meals.. On the downside, we were woken both mornings of our stay at 5am by a loud service truck and then a garbage truck very close to our window. Too early for a residential area....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank micknmarg13
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear micknmarg13, Thank you for your review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that the accommodation was comfortable and conveniently located. We look forward to welcoming you back. Stay Well, Natasha Beck

sussex
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Good location,rooms good size,comfy bed the. wetroom was small, shower not the best designed in my opinion but functional. Would I stay there again, Yes . We had no trouble with noise. Check in was speedy and staff pleasant.. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmc169
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear fmc169, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the accommodation was comfortable and the staff efficient. We look forward to welcoming you back. Stay Well, Natasha Beck

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book this hotel if you want to sleep well !”
LisaD19, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are in the "older" age bracket make sure you are located on the ground floor.”
janis1246, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If elderly ask for a ground floor, all the stairs are a killer.”
, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from noise of street and Restaurant beside”
XyBarbara, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 234 under any circumstances.”
MadamJosephine, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$176
TravelocityUS$67
Booking.comUS$67
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates