Best Western Plus Launceston
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Plus Launceston

Traveller (229)
Room & Suite (119)
Best Western Plus Launceston
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#16 of 30 hotels in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
At the Best Western Plus Launceston you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus Launceston will stand out among other hotels in Launceston,TAS. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus Launceston will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at any Best Western hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Launceston Airport
Devonport Airport
41.5 mi
See all flights
1,725Review9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 410
  • 763
  • 386
  • 97
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gill808 wrote a review Aug 2022
Tasmania, Australia
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although we are encouraged to book on-line and to use auto check-out, the best part of staying at Best Western, Launceston, is actually conversing with their excellent staff. Our room (4th floor) was great value for money with a huge, comfortable, bed and full bath. Parking on site was convenient but once there, this hotel is simply the most central of any in Launceston - adjacent to the theatre, and a stones-throw from the mall. Having discovered two days after our one night stay we had left some property behind, the brilliant Best Western staff recovered it for us and made it just so easy to collect. Well done and much appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
649kerry wrote a review Jun 2021
George Town, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can't get a better location if going to the Princess Theatre - one minute walk rather than a long drive on rural roads at night and risk of contributing to roadkill. Have stayed here after the theatre and when attending conferences many times - very comfortable rooms with everything you need, 5 minute walk to town centre and 10 minute walk to Woolworths. But please turn off the lights over the fish tank in the lobby at night - artificial light at night is not natural.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenny M wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great 2 night stay, from the smooth & efficient check in to the great customer service when I requested an extra towel - brought to our door. Our room on level 6 (605) was super clean, modern and spacious. Super comfortable bed, two pillow choices per person. Quiet aircon kept the room warm all night. We were delighted to come back to a warm room after room service had been, fresh towels were left even though we chose to use our towels again. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again. We also had a nice view. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Maria wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
From arriving to leaving a very good overall experience. The only queries we had were the raised shower base and the warm breakfast [wasn't hot] and very little choice. The wait staff need to be more attentive clearing tables as we were a group of four[4] people there were still used plates etc left on tables so we had to ask staff to sort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melb1976 wrote a review Mar 2021
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was in need of a hotel that was close to the mall etc. On arrival , being greeted with friendly efficient staff made the process pleasant and welcoming. I’d booked a king bed room,in which I had considered booking through a travel app but decided to call directly and was offered a discount rate. Thank you.i was pleased with my room. It was clean and very comfortable. I was offered my choice of shower over bath or just a shower. Although bathroom was small but it was well equipped. The main area had a sitting area two chairs and a small table. Even had a seperate desk if needed. Decent sized digital tv with netflix. Tea and coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. Room service was available also mini bar but had to ring room service for it. The only disappointment I had was I was told it was a buffet breakfast in which I confined because of COVID and all the restrictions, to find on arrival to breakfast the following morning sorry we can’t do it because of COVID. Told them to find a seat, not taken to a vacant table. Ordered our breakfast to find it wasn’t all there but the waitress fixed it quickly and apologised. As I paid $20 each as it was a breakfast catch up with my daughter I feel we didn’t get value for money, further to it the bacon wasn’t cooked well. Very dissapounted. I don’t thunk I’d return to that restaurant. The accomodation was great!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kazda wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night at this hotel. Happy with the location as was in the city centre. Outdoor parking at the rear of the hotel was $6 a night so very reasonable. We chose the rate with breakfast included, but don't think it was worth the price paid, however it was convenient to have breakfast at the hotel rather than looking for other options in the city. Bed was very comfortable and would stay here again without choosing the breakfast option.
Found a great chinese restaurant about 5 min walk away which was absolutely the best chinese I've tasted for a while. Check out 'Wangs Chinese' if your looking for a great dining option close by
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle P wrote a review Feb 2023
Brisbane, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel I felt was a tad overpriced, but was a comfortable place to stay. It was in a reasonably good location and as a solo traveller I was able to walk everywhere comfortably and didn't need to take ubers very often.

My room was a great size, but my bathroom you could barely swing a cat in... Yet my room was huge, so that was a plus. Just wish the bathroom was a tad bigger.

My reasons for an average rating are because my bed was completely sunken in the middle. It would have been very comfortable if the mattress wasn't sunken. Pillows were great. Having a guest laundry was fantastic and very handy. I stayed here for 7 days, went and did a tour for a few days, then came back for a couple of days, before I headed down south to do more travel, so being able to access the laundry for both stays was excellent and appreciated. You can get change and washing soap etc at front desk. The breakfast was hit and miss. Some days you would get there and there would be heaps there and the food was delicious. Other days you'd get there and there would be barely anything there and next to no staff doing any top ups of anything. A bit of a rip off when you pay $25 for breakfast and you can't actually eat anything. That really needs to be looked at. I also found the restaurant food to be practically inedible when I went there for dinner a couple of nights. Do not recommend the restaurant. The service levels were terrible too.

Apart from a few things, a reasonable place to stay and in a good and safe location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherlin Verma, Marketing at Best Western Plus Launceston
Responded 23 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience. However, we would like to apologize for the issues that were faced with the mattress and breakfast and the inconvenience that was caused by it. Rest assured, we understand your frustration and will look into this right away. We really value your feedback and are committed to providing the best possible services to all our customers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KazEff wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From when I arrived wearing a moon boot on my broken foot and received extra care from the check-in staff (who offered to take my parking voucher outside and place it in my car so I didn't have to walk too far and carry my bag to my room) right through to the fabulous meal I had sitting at a table inside a train carriage inside a restaurant inside the hotel, I was delighted with this property. I had originally booked something closer to the airport as I was flying early the next morning but cancelled at the last minute when I realise there were no food options available and did not want to be wondering around on my broken foot or on my own at night looking for food. I chose this property based on it having a restaurant that was open and also location being only 15 minutes from the airport and rather than it just being an overnight stay on my way home it turned into one of the highlights of my 2 weeks holiday in Tasmania. I slept well apart from the noisy neighbours with the TV too loud like the bed was comfortable and the room clean & fresh.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenny S wrote a review Mar 2020
Maroochydore, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is very convenient to a lot of places including the Brisbane Street Mall. It is just off Brisbane street in a quiet one way street.

My first impression was not a good one - the lobby area could do with a bit of TLC - a few chairs placed here and there in no particular order or style was not a good look or first impression. Comfort level on these single chairs was almost zero, so glad I didn't need to sit there for too long. Check in desk is located on the right hand side, hardly noticeable if you haven't been there before.

However staff were very helpful and seemed to be happy in their roles . Check in was quick. Room was terrific and very clean. Bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel anywhere in the world. One negative was that you could hear loud talking in the hallway when other guests were going back to their rooms, and it was particularly noticeable late at night. It was almost like they were in the room with you.

Breakfast buffet was fantastic - everything you could want and everything was hot unlike some of the bigger hotels where items are almost cold.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, I would certainly stay here again should I ever have the opportunity to visit Launceston in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TWal1 wrote a review Jan 2022
Canberra, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to storms in Launceston and Melbourne, Qantas offered us the opportunity to stay an extra night in Launceston and booked us into this hotel. Centrally located and with good amenities, we had everything we needed. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed a good night’s sleep. We opted to dine in and the restaurant was very good and not overcrowded. Overall, a very pleasant experience and the staff were very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
t16mytm asked a question Mar 2020
Singapore334 contributions155 helpful votes
Hi, I would like to check how is the breakfast at Best Western
Answer from SMOAI76
Tasmania, Australia1,666 contribution106 helpful votes
More than adequate standard hot and cold buffet options, typical traditional style options. If you want smashed avocado with pickled radish on the side best go and hit the streets for a café !! I was more than happy with what was available. Not a huge dining area so you won't find a massive buffet area with a chef making omelettes to order in there like you might find in a larger CBD located Novotel or similar. But perfectly adequate filling start to the day.
Answer from Jo Ann M
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Very little as this Hotel is right in the CBD and opposite a Film & Stage Venue, so immediate streets are time restricted during the day. You possibly could get some unrestricted on street parking a block away up a steep hill. Paid parking is available behind the Hotel. From memory it was fairly affordable.
Answer from Jo Ann M
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Hello kiatpohf. Yes, this Best Western does have a Guest Laundry available for you to use.
Answer from Matt D
Gladstone, Australia15 contributions
Hi. Sorry for the lateness of this reply. Yes there is air conditioning in this hotel. Secondly there is a fee for parking your vehicle. A couple of years ago it was $6 per night. This price is set by the council and not by the hotel. Please also note the car park at the rear of the hotel is quite small and hard to maneuver a large car.
Eddie asked a question Jul 2019
Asia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Does the hotel have a self service coin operated washing machine and dryers ?
Answer from Leon W
Launceston, Australia1 contribution
Yes, we do have coin operated washing machines and dryers
Roving02788403433 wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need something just ask."
Read full review
COOJ24 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Canberra, Australia9 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"take coins for washing machine and dryer"
Read full review
Anita F wrote a tip May 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t do it. "
Read full review
Digimeister wrote a tip Sept 2022
New York City, New York61 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is onsite at a small fee. Enjoy breakfast in one of the local cafes rather than in the hotel."
Read full review
dollarmite wrote a tip Aug 2022
Queensland124 contributions53 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the end of the corridor may be quieter."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Launceston area.
PRICE RANGE
£61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure launceston hotel launceston, accor launceston
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mercure Launceston
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaLaunceston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PLUS LAUNCESTON - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Launceston
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Launceston?
Nearby attractions include The Tamar Valley (19.2 miles), City Park (0.3 miles), and Saint John Craft Beer Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Launceston?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Launceston?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Launceston?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Launceston?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Launceston?
Conveniently located restaurants include Novaro's Restaurant, Samuel Pepys Cafe, and Pickled Evenings.
Is Best Western Plus Launceston located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Launceston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Launceston?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Launceston offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Launceston?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Umbrella Shop (0.1 miles) and Duck Reach Power Station (2.2 miles).
Is Best Western Plus Launceston accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Launceston HotelsLaunceston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LauncestonHotels near Best Western Plus Launceston
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire