We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW

For one family member it was a return visit, for the others it was a first time - what a wonderful surprise! We had a very spacious and comfortable villa, much larger than we expected complete with a very efficient gas fire for the cool evenings. The staff were very friendly offering information when needed. Feeding the eleven kangaroos on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location. About 10-15 mins from the main towns it's a great spot to get away from it all. The rooms are all well equipped for everything you might need. Cleanish and mostly modern. Only negative would be no aircon.. so wouldn't like to try stay here in summer... you would fry! Set by a Great Lake this little place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barrs84
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for 3 nights for a long weekend for four adults (a trip with the in-laws) and I have to say this place is amazing! The views were breath taking, even when the weather wasn't too good you could sit on the undercover decking sipping wine or having a wood fire and taking the views in with the wildlife... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We find even when the weather takes a turn there is still plenty of activities to keep everyone happy and relaxed. You have certainly enjoyed everything we have to offer and more. We look forward to your return visit. PS: You missed the dolphins putting on an awesome display after... More 

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I found this place by accident and so happy we did! So much to do if you love nature, outdoor activities and away from technology. Very friendly, very peaceful and really affordable. We loved our cabin with a loft and the fire to keep us warm. Feeding kangaroos is a hit with kids and we loved the beautiful warm pool,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana D
Mont Albert, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We just checked in and already are impressed. Not five star, but it's very nicely put together and the price is a big plus. The view from our deck is incredible. Furnishings are clean and everything works the way it should. Fire was lit for us before we got here so the cabin was cozy and warm. Just so happened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Cottage is immactulately clean, nothing is missing. Even wood fire place was setup to light with plenty of woods to heat you on a old winter days. Kangaroos are like domestic animals eating from your hands. Kids loved it!

Helpful?
Thank sladjabg
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

Our wood fires are very popular over the winter. It is our pleasure ensuring guests get the most from their holiday by not having to worry about the little things like wood. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016

As a family of four, we spent 3 days enjoying the region around Wattle Point, including Paynesville, Raymond Island, Metung & Bairnsdale. But it was the nature and amazingly friendly kangaroos that captivated us all. Feeding the roos the pallets available from the office, they ate out of all our hands, so friendly creatures who are able to roam freely.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick A
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

Our aim is to ensure our guests get the most out of their stay with us. We are extremely happy that your stay was all you hoped it would be. We know we have got it right when we see guests returning. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and i went there 11th to 13th june for our 1 year anniversary it was well worth it. The staff where outstanding and very helpful. The lodge i stayed was calles Huon a waterfront room. The inside was very well presented and well setup. We will come back again

Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

HUON is a very popular lodge for couples and especially those celebrating something special. We hope to see you back for your next anniversary. More 

Sale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

We booked the despatch cabin for the ease of access and im glad we did. Absolutely beautiful cabin with a nice little view of the lake. We arrived at just on dark and the heat was already turned on for us and the ceiling fans were switched over for winter already which was a great thought as it has high... More 

Helpful?
Thank 299leev
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will forward your review on the bed to the lodge owner and hopefully we can improve on your stay next time. More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We arrived late, after dark (having rung and advised early). The cabin was lit, the wood fire burning and gas fire were a glowing welcome. Unfortunately the wood fire was very smokey and set off the smoke detector very soon and the gas fire kept tripping off. We wrapped ourselves in the two single doonas and after a quick dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill P
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

All feedback from our guests is appreciated. We can pass on requests to the lodge owners and hopefully improve our guests future visits. We are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and the resident wildlife and that your visit with us was overall positive. More 

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bairnsdale
7.2 mi away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
134 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
10.7 mi away
The Riversleigh
The Riversleigh
#1 of 13 in Bairnsdale
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Moorings at Metung
14.6 mi away
McMillans of Metung Resort
19.7 mi away
Kalimna Woods Spa & Woodfire Cottages
Kalimna Woods Spa & Woodfire Cot...
#3 of 37 in Lakes Entrance
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4.5 Star rated fully self contained Lodges nestled in a bush setting on the waterfront of lake Victoria of the Gippsland Lakes. Lodges range in size from one to four bedroom, some with spas, log fires, with beautiful water and/or bush views. Conference and wedding centre that seats up to 100 people. Ideal for weddings and conferences where the guests can stay on site. Indoor Heated Pool, Tennis Court, Outdoor Spa, Private Jetty to moor your boat, Native Wildlife aplenty and you and your friends can hand feed the kangaroos, free to use Pushbikes,Canoes and Kayaks. Escape to Naturally Magic East Gippsland and enjoy the tranquillity of our Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point

Address: 200 Wattle Point Rd | Wattle Point, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Bairnsdale
Price Range: £107 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cabins opposite the lake, each have beautiful view of the lake and a bush clearing”
 of 5 bubbles 297JillP, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Despatch was great, with water view and privacy”
 of 5 bubbles MelB951, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Avon Lodge had great views of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles barbc362, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try and get one with a lake view- superb!”
 of 5 bubbles 397michaelc397, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Cabins with lake views are not so private as rear bush cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles 444robd, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay