We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barclay On View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barclay On View
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean and tidy , very helpful staff Quiet and cool which is important when 28 degrees Easy off street parking Comfortable beds Very close to theatre, museum, and Devine Italian Rest Borchelli Would definitely come again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Equestrian E
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review! Borchelli's is just one of the fantastic restaurants we have in View St, within easy walking distance! And I agree with you - it is delicious! Hope we see you again soon!

St Arnaud, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight here with our 19 month old son. We arrived after hours, but I rang up beforehand to organise and the lady on the phone was very pleasant and helpful. They set up a portacot in our room and supplied plenty of linen for it (although it does cost $20 more for a portacot) The room was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpatch25
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

For a very compact motor inn hidden away off a busy street I can honestly say I never herd a noise which is excellent. Friendly staff on the reception. Small modern rooms with parking in front. A little tight for my four wheel drive but did fit! Great modern decor and funky room design. Enjoyed our stay and will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakeywesta
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's very much appreciated! We're completing room renovations on our Queen rooms soon, and think they're looking pretty good! Come back and visit us again!

Inverloch, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

This property has certainly seen better days, very tired and desperately in need for some care. Whilst the staff were very pleasant and inviting, got to say the room was just average. We stayed for 2 nights on the way to Adelaide and perhaps should have spent more research time. Fortunately we stayed on a weekend so there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi Barry, we're disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We're in the middle of room renovations, so they're all getting a good spruce. We hope you otherwise had a great time in Bendigo.

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We spent the weekend of the bendigo swap meet at the motel. It was wonderfully central as everyone says but the rooms are very small we had a exc queen room and had a cooked breakfast food was very nice nothing extraordinary. The price we paid was eqivalent to what we have paid in the city in Melb with buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willowval
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your honest review. We agree the rate you paid was high. Next time, visit our website where our rates are always at least 5% cheaper than OTA's such as Booking.com. We hope you enjoyed swap meet weekend!

Reviewed 7 November 2016

Hosts Sarah and Dean could not have been more friendly or helpful before, during and after our stay. Our tour group consisted of 33 gymnasts and parents, and we were given excellent assistance. Sarah and Dean accommodated every one of our needs, and we will definitely stay at Barclay on View again when we go to Bendigo. Thanks Sarah and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi Jodie, we loved having your group stay with us. You and the girls were an absolute pleasure! We hope we see you again!

Reviewed 29 September 2016

We travelled from out of area and wanted a hotel in walking distance to the Queen Elizabeth Oval as we were attending the football grand final. Barclay on View was in a perfect location and the accommodation was perfect for our needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi Pam, we're in the perfect spot to visit the QEO, so you planned that beautifully. We'd love to have you stay with us again in the future!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had a wonderful time, really enjoy our stay ,love it so much that my kids refused to return home,only let down is ,was unable to use BBQ ,people who used it before us didn't bother clean afterwrds, so i won't use it,but very happy with the great kitchen and basic laundry,nice clean shower and bath.spacious lounge room ...,so if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scarlettmichellelin
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi Scarlett, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We think our Two Bedroom Townhouse is pretty special too. I'm very sorry about the BBQ. We will make sure this doesn't happen again. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to have you back any time!

Melbourne
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This motel is located well in the town. It is a bit tired: more suited to the seventies?. The continental breakfast was average. The décor average and the exhaust in the bathroom was very noisy. The service offered was excellent, as was the parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomskis
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

We're sorry you felt that breakfast wasn't up to scratch. We think pre-purchasing a continental breakfast that includes cereal, toast and a hot/cold drink for $10 (for two people) is pretty good value. We're about to start another round of renovations throughout the motel and can't wait to see the results.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Good location, easy to walk into main part of town. Standard motel, expensive for what is essentially a budget motel. Looks awful from outside, two story basic motel, but inside my standard queen room was clean and simple, the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom dated. Staff friendly enough. Would have liked a safe. There is better quality/value in Bendigo.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judegoldy
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

We appreciate your honest feedback. We are about to embark on more renovations, so we'd love to see you back again soon for another assessment. We'll take the things you mentioned on board. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Bendigo!

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#9 of 25 in Bendigo
428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#6 of 25 in Bendigo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
1.1 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's all about LOCATION! Barclay on View is situated in beautiful, tree-lined View Street, in the heart of Bendigo's arts, theatre and cafe precinct, making it the perfect place to wine and dine, or simply relax and take advantage of our spa and sauna facilities. Our central location means you're only a short stroll from Queen Elizabeth Oval, The Capital Theatre, Bendigo Art Gallery, Hargreaves Mall, Bendigo Visitor Information Centre and everything else the CBD has to offer. Complimentary on-site parking and WiFi access come standard with every booking, and we also provide a guest laundry for your convenience. Our spacious courtyard area offers BBQ facilities and is the perfect place to sit back and enjoy a quiet, sunny afternoon. We offer continental or delicious cooked breakfasts every morning, with the option of in-room or dining room service. However, if you prefer to eat out, you have a great selection of cafes and restaurants only minutes away. Our friendly staff are more than happy to help you make the most of your stay. From suggestions on where to go and what to do, to making a restaurant reservation or booking a taxi, it's all part of the service. If you are travelling from Melbourne by car, turn left into View Street at Alexandra Fountain and we are located 650m on the left, opposite Queen Elizabeth Oval. If you are arriving by train, we are located 1.5km from the Bendigo Train Station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay On View

Address: 181 View St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Price Range: £71 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay On View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barclay On View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bendigo
#9 Business Hotel in Bendigo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barclay On View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen Deluxe room - was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 111pamd, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor nice view to the church spire Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles penner2015, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you have less mobility ask for ground floor. My husband, who walks with a stick had a little difficulty with the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles gismonda, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor needed for access to vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles 195lynnep, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Building works are in progress on CBD side - maybe ask for room on the other side. Noise wasn't really an issue for us when we stayed however.”
 of 5 bubbles 297janine, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5