We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dickson Holiday Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Dickson Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Quiet spot with the river bubbling away in the background. Friendly, helpful staff. Good sized site. Kitchen well organised with a sunshine dining area. Very pleasant overnight stay during our long travels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssmerken
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived a little late for check in (8.30pm)we apologised only to be treated rudely saying "are you really sorry!?" we "didn't have time to look around when we were supposed to check in there" gps took us on a scenic route! Staff was not helpful at all got more help from other camp goers than them to find our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tezzy1992
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

I'm sorry that your stay at our camp wasn't a happy one. Ive spoken to all the staff about being rude at the counter and no one recalls being so. All our staff are asked to be polite and helpful to customers and I'm disappointed that this was your experience. We take great pride in our facilities being clean and...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I booked the dorm on a backpacking tour for a day hike on Coromandel. The Rocky Trial right next to the campsite is a great for 2-3 hours, but you can also do a greater hike to Thames via Tararu Tramping Track (about 6-8 hours). Facilities are rather old, but well maintained and very clean. The whole park is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Great hiking around here and see the goldmines is special. We are constantly maintaining and improving the camp, and have put on extra staff to do so

Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Thanks Neil for the great weekend. Stayed for two nights. Travelled up from Hawkes Bay for a fishing trip. Great place to fillet fish. Rooms were well looked after and heaps of space. Very affordable for the location. Well recommended accomodation for a family. Darren.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rucollinburnses
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Darren:) It was a pleasure meeting you all, and am glad you had such a successful fishing trip

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous scenery, absolutely lovely people, helping us hopeless tourists from Aus. Spent half my time outside sitting in the gardens and near the creek, wonderful area and so relaxing. Would definitely come back again, thank you for your beautiful hospitality! X

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia L
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your time at our Holiday Park. We enjoy meeting people and do our upmost to make their stay a great one:)

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Visited Friday 2nd September for one night, booked a powered site for a campervan. The site allocated was part of the carpark and not a proper site. We choose this park because it is part of the Kiwi Holidays Parks group, its just a pity we didn't check trip advisor first. The whole park is in urgent need of a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael-4551
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

We bought the Holiday Park at the end of April and have been busily working upgrading. Where you had your campervan was not a carpark, it was a large concrete pad where we park campervans when it is wet. It is designed to comfortably accommodate 4 vans and has power outlets accordingly. Our kitchen and shower block are immaculately clean,...

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 August 2016

OH dear this place was the most dismall dreary old tired place we have ever been to, We nly stayed one night on a campervan but that was enough. The staff were OK but not overly friendly. We got given a pamphlet of rules of the camp all what NOT to do. then told to give it back after we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jencooke2015
Management response:

Hi Jenny, I'm sorry that your experience at our Holiday Park was not a happy one. We are new owners and are busy giving the Park an upgrade. Our welcome brochure you are referring to is designed to inform guests about where our Laundry, Dump Station, Card Phone, Games room is, also shop opening hours , emergency phone numbers etc....

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here recently as part of a sports group. We had a single bed unit. The price at $120 seemed steep for what was provided. We had no hot water for a morning shower and the unit was freezing cold as was the camp generally as it's located in a gully. We also used the oven to heat dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Our self contained flats at $120 per night sleep 6. The hot water unit had sprung a fault and was fixed as soon as we were notified - it had been working perfectly well the day before. We have also tested the oven and it is working - other people have been using it with no problems. Im so sorry...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

This campground isn't great 'bang for bucks'. Costing a high $38 for two (powered site) per night, good facilities should be expected. Unfortunately, although maintained and clean, the toilet, shower, kitchen dining block is very tired. A rebuild seems overdue. The newer recreation/TV room is also quite a distance away, so difficult if you are wrangling young kids. On a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kuaka
Management response:

We are upgrading the park. As well as the games room, there is also a reading/tv room beside it. As well as the swimming pool there are two childrens playgrounds, mini putt, and a tennis court. We are close to the beach, and numerous bushwalks, so there is quite a bit to do in the park if one chooses. On...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 June 2016

For new owners Neil seems OK but Cindy is a rude lady with a very bad attitude. When phoning her about the caravan I was wanting to purchase etc... and about the Park itself, she always had an excuse she was too busy and abruptly hung up a few times on me. She also made it sound like it is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joanne992016
Management response:

Sorry that you were not happy Joanne. I did my best to answer your many phone calls - even when you called at 10pm at night when I was asleep! As I explained constantly to you - by phone and also emails - I don't have the details of the caravan you were proposing to buy and couldn't answer your...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
3.0 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
95 reviews
24.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
12.2 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 14 in Thames
36 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#2 of 11 in Thames
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Dickson Holiday Park

Address: 115 Victoria Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Price Range: £50 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dickson Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dickson Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Michael-4551, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Better value elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles BrisbaneBroncos, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All cabins are in a quiet, pleasant setting.”
 of 5 bubbles Joan132, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“A site near the river is great.”
 of 5 bubbles rogerc504, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“a site by the river, if you can get one, is ideal”
 of 5 bubbles 616andrewe, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay