We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Te Mata Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Te Mata Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our kids have enjoyed thoroughly ..very pleasant, Spacious, River access is a great plus. Morning birds , best water taste. Friendly and honest people who are managing the property. Love to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank okandan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

To the host of the lodge , Good day to you. Frankly speaking , we are truly enjoyed the staying. We stayed at Hut number 3 for two nights. I personally like your lodge. It is clean , quiet and away from the big city. It is a good place to retreat ourself. The air is super clean and fresh....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrekkerKLGuy
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Happy New Year to you too!!! Thank you so much for your thoughtful & descriptive review. We try very hard to present our property and facilities in the best possible way for our guests to enjoy, and we absolutely love relating to guests like yourselves who are looking for more than merely a place to sleep. Blessings to you &...

Pontardawe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our time at Te Mata Lodge, on arrival we were met with a warm welcome from Murray, and shown to our cabin. We stayed for two nights and toured the area, our cabin was clean, stocked with everything needed for a self catering holiday. Wish we could've stayed longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sianonholiday
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

We wish you had stayed longer too, but we do realize that for our overseas guests there's lots to see throughout NZ and mostly limited time to see it all. We're very thankful for your review, and certainly hope that when you next visit an extended stay here will be scheduled :) Happy New Year!!!

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a jewel to find, we had a family of five as well as myself and my son. Found Te Mata on booking.com, the price was right and it looked different to other, MOTELS. Well was is different or what, from the time we came down the driveway and met Murray and Michael, to swimming in the river, to kayaking,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

There's an old saying that suggests, "a jewel found is worth holding onto & investing in." To hear others describe our property as we ourselves describe it, gives us much delight!!! So thank you! When we're looking for a place to stay, we always check Tripadvisor reviews first, then visit the accommodation provider's own website to get their full property...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 3rd stay and we thoroughly enjoyed our time, always a pleasure to see Murray & Dorothy. Wonderful hosts, always willing to go to the extra mile. The cottage was pristine and comfortable, a great place to get away and relax. Look forward to going again this year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livingstone_nz1
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review. Your family are always a pleasure to host and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay once again. All the best for the coming year and hopefully things don't get too much more crowded with subdivisions in you special spot in Taupaki.

Kaitaia, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the two bedroom cottage. I had my elderly parents with me and my two teenagers and we were all very comfortable. The cottage is excellent, great linen! and everything you need to self cater with plenty of room to move about for 5 or 6 adults. The owners were fantastically friendly and helpful. The environment was excellent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agnesallen
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It was great to meet your family and to see them all enjoy the property. If you decide to return again give us a call well in advance and that way we can make sure you have a better chance of booking the cottage for your entire stay next time.

Mt Wellington
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you enjoy nature, something pretty and quaint,enjoy fresh crisp air and don't mind a few hens roaming around your doorstep then Te Mata is a delight! There is plenty to do - great for the kids too, the facilities cater for a quiet, chill getaway or if you want to get amongst the outdoors. Murray and Dorothy are just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJandP
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review. Sorry for the late response as you can imagine things get busy this time of year. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the beautiful and quaint features of Te Mata Lodge. It is a joy for us when we meet the expectations of our guests and...

Satellite Beach, FL, United States
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Before arriving,I got an email indicating that the lodge was several hundred meters down a gravel road. That road was very steep and I was worried about getting stuck there if it rained. We spent almost a month in New Zealand and this was the worst accommodation by far! We prepaid for 2 nights but left after only one. Small...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Don W
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are open to hearing feedback and endeavor to improve where we can. As you mentioned, we do email our guests before their arrival describing our perceived remoteness and the type of driveway we have... pre-warned means there are no unwanted surprises. Daily, my wife drives to Thames in a...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We had a chalet for our 2 night stay. It was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. We liked that we could recycle our rubbish. The setting is absolutely beautiful and the tranquility was glorious. Murray was very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yachtees
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Te Mata Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and even appreciated and went to the additional effort to place rubbish in the right bins. Recycling is important to us and we do our best to ensure the minimal amount of rubbish ends up in a landfill....

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

My husband took me here last year for a surprise birthday getaway weekend. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well equipped - I enjoyed the puzzles provided, they were a nice peaceful break from devices and social media! Unfortunately we didn't get to fire up the BBQ next to our room for a nice meal, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 866linat
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay last year. We are gearing up for another great summer so if you find yourself visiting the area again give us a call and we can take a small amount off the nightly rate.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
452 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
20.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
305 reviews
15.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
296 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Hahei
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Price Range: £50 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Mata Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably a room with toilet facilities is best, but if you don't mind a quick trip to the shared bathrooms, then go for that option.”
 of 5 bubbles JanG406, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cottages offer better family spaces”
 of 5 bubbles agnesallen, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take good quality insect repellent”
 of 5 bubbles meftyh, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend a room with a kitchen for the little people - much easier for meals and cups of tea and coffee :)”
 of 5 bubbles carlandjaci, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask if you are a family with young kids - if you can have the cabin next to the lounge.”
 of 5 bubbles ForestNZ, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay