We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kensington Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kensington Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kensington Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Picked this Motel for two nights as we were heading North to the Cape the next day and back. The motel is just off the Main North /South Road easy to get to and back onto the Highway.We arrived around 7:00pm and the assistant at the front desk was great. Fresh milk for the room,room was clean and comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greytravellerSydney
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very pleasant host, a tidy & comfortable room, and a nice breakfast that set me up for the drive north. The Motel is well situated near Kamo, at the northern end of Whangarei - easy to find and easy to get back on the main road north. This Motel was well worth a longer stay for anyone wanting to base...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
Taumarunui
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The manager is friendly and helpful. Highly recommend for price, cleanliness, convenience and location. Every thing you want is in walking distance. Would most definitely stay agai and again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mallorhead
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 June 2013

At $80 a night it is hard to go past this, Quite abit of music noise from the near by Tavern, Shops a super handy, rooms are ok very basic but tidy Front door could do with some blackout curtains put up. Owners are very friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stubbies35
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for one night en route north and it was very good for all the reasons stated in the heading. The owner, Mark, was friendly, helpful and even witty. The location is excellent for both the supermarket and eating out with the excellent Thai restaurant, Suk Jai Thai (see separate review) a couple of minutes walk away. We'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poconut
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We agree that having the supermarket and eating places within walking distance very handy for our quests. The Thai restaurant has recently won a 'Best Restaurant" award so their move from Christchurch has been worthwhile for them and their food and service is excellent. We look forward to having you stay again...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed for just the one night in April and found the motel convenient for a meal within walking distance, and contrary to the previous review had no cause for concern re cleanliness and 'roaches My own bette noir is bed linen quality, and the standard here was more than acceptable. .The very hands on owners are on site and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this review

Your positive comments are very much appreciated, given the previous review. We will look at how we can make the kitchenette alcove more user friendly, but we cannot increase the size of the ensuites - sorry.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was a truly horrible experience - the worst thing was getting up in the night and seeing a huge cockroach on the wall behind my bed. Knowing that when you can see one cockroach there will be more I was too scared to go back to sleep. Before I went to bed I pulled back the sheet to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bianca5699
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this review

We were devastated to read of your bad experience, but disappointed that nothing was mentioned at the time of your departure, and that we were not given the opportunity to rectify the situation. Native cockroaches are an issue in Northland; however, we do carry out regular pest control on the exterior windows and doors. We are conscious of not using...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed here as it was very central to where i needed to be and it was cheap. Mark was very friendly and helpful. there is a tavern across the road with a great bistro as well as a supermarket and small shopping centre. it is clean and tidy, the bed and pillow were comfy. the only criticism i have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy n
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are aware of the issue with the blinds and we are looking at altenatives to block out the light.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We chose this motel based on the positive reviews here and weren't disappointed, the owners were really friendly, it was like staying with family or friends. The other reviews have pretty much summed things up (well, the positive ones anyway, some people are so picky), there's a supermarket across the road and several food places within walking distance, as is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuturiwhata
Michael S, Owner at Kensington Motel, responded to this review

We really do appreciate your comments, it makes all of our work over the past few years worthwhile and reinforces our decision about purchasing this motel. We think it is a great location, which is helped by the foodoutlets and supermarket.

Kaitaia, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have just spent a night in this motel and it was extremely good. This is the second time I have been there and I highly recommend it. There were 3 of us and we were all very impressed with the one bedroom unit we had - very clean and well appointed. It was great to have 2 couches in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#9 of 34 in Whangarei
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
1.0 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental Motel
Continental Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kensington Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Review website, rooms vary depending on quest requirements.”
271redbaron, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Spacious family unit.”
Jboycey, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had unit 12 which was good, a studio unit.”
delton486, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms looked much the same, we were happy with our room, so no dramas!”
LittleJourney, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“From what we saw they are all good rooms”
AUNTIEQUEENIE, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5