We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Port Augusta

Agoda.comUS$73*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$132*
US$73*
US$84*
US$132*
US$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks – Port Augusta
 Click to rate
Nowra
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were camping in tents, and, unfortunately there were no grasssed sites, but the facilities were very celan and well maintained. The camp kitchen was one of the best we encountered on a 4 week trip, with everything you would think to need to cook a meal, eat it, and clean up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJTNowra
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're pleased to know that our park was well equipped for your camping holiday! Thank you for sharing your review.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed staying here on a campervan trip. Neat, well kept, plenty of room for each site and excellent facilities. Close to some shops and on the other side of the bridge from the town centre. We paid extra for an on-suite site and the little bathroom/toilet was very clean and convenient, but as the amenities block was only 40...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dipper666
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're pleased to read that you had a chance to cool off at the pool and enjoyed the facilities at park! Thank you for your feedback.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for the weekend at a powered site as were visiting Port Augusta to experience the Pichie Richie. We have stayed here a couple of times in transit travelling north - south. Had family join us, staying in cabins. Very clean, tidy caravan park, including amenities and cabins. Management are obviously working hard to make this more than just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KerriV77
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

It's wonderful that you had the opportunity to experience some of the activities and friendly atmosphere at our park, Kerri. We do hope you have the chance to stay at our park next time you're in Port Augusta. Thank you for the review.

Gungahlin, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great park extended stay while waiting for our traveling companions. A few incidents while here but all good. Well maintained park, amenities immaculate well looked after, and very clean. What makes this park special is the amazing staff. They are helpful friendly and make you feel welcome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynneSusanne
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Even though our booking was mucked up the reception staff went out of their way to sort it and we ended up staying for 4 nights in an ensuite site. The sites themselves are a good size and the facilities we used were great. The laundry was on par with other parks and at least you got some decent time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're pleased that despite the level of noise you experienced, you had an otherwise positive stay! Thank you for your review, Charlotte.

Moonta, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always stopped here travelling from west coast to & from Adelaide over the years. No loyalty program though. Booked via bookings online put 3 kids in however after arriving late cabin only 4 berth, phoned was told it was a mix up with websites and this has happened several times lately nothing they can do. Reluctantly offered some more bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Opal2011
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're sorry to read of your experience at our park. We apologise with the booking issue through Booking.com, and this has since been fixed. As a business, our guest safety and security is an issue we take very seriously, however we cannot be held responsible for the actions of individuals who partake in criminal activity such as this. Our Guest...

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Excellent service, location amenities. Room's were a generous size and clean. Easily sleep a family of 5. Would highly recommended to any travellers . Staff were very helpful and friendly. Park is pretty much located central to everything ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole-Lynne S
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and highly recommending our park, Carole-Lynne.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Unpowered camp sites are quite small in size in comparison to the scaled maps they provide. The staff are friendly but the caravan park is old. A little bit of maintenance won't hurt now and then but it's a good place to stop before Coober Pedy. Kitchen facilities are probably the highlight of this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssdb22
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of our facilities.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We booked a cabin for myself, husband and 3 children for one night travelling through Port Augusta. The cabins are very basic, dated, musty smelling and not clean enough. The oven didn't work. Our sheets did not seem clean and smelt like they had been used, on the one bed that was made. Children's beds had to be made up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FMenner
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. To discuss your comments further on the cabin you had stayed in, please feel free contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review.

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We had a great time here - we had spent most of our holiday bush camping so it was nice to spend a couple of nights here towards the end of our holiday. Heaps of kids around which was fab and pretty good facilities including a pool. Nice spot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LHPhot
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Augusta, responded to this review

We're happy to know you enjoyed the atmosphere at our park! Thank you for sharing your review.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Augusta hotels
0.8 mi away
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Majestic Oasis Apartments
#2 of 10 in Port Augusta
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
Comfort Inn Augusta Westside
#6 of 10 in Port Augusta
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Port Augusta
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Port Augusta
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Ecomotel
Crossroads Ecomotel
#1 of 10 in Port Augusta
152 reviews
5.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the gateway to some of South Australia’s most spectacular destinations - the Flinders Ranges, outback and Spencer Gulf - is Port Augusta, just over 300 kilometres from Adelaide. Discovery Parks - Port Augusta (formerly Port Augusta Holiday Park) is the ideal holiday park to plan your great southern adventure. It’s not every day you get to travel on a moving museum, but step on board the unique Pichi Richi Railway and you’ll understand why it’s so special. Discover local history with a tour of the iconic Royal Flying Doctor Service and Wadlata Outback Centre, where you will walk in the steps of the Aboriginal people who have lived here for 40,000 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Port Augusta

Address: Cnr Highway One & Stokes Terrace, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Port Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Discovery Parks – Port Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks – Port Augusta staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
5 months ago
Emerald, Australia
over a year ago
Eumundi, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks – Port Augusta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay”
Opal2011, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any ensuite cabin is good”
carolelynnes, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't waste money on a cabin or powered site”
ssdb22, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check site before paying. Ample drive thru sites for short stays”
494trevw, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select a spa cabin”
YvaD, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$84
TripAdvisorUS$73
CancelonUS$132
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates