We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oamaru Motor Lodge

View Deal
#1 of 18 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Oamaru Motor Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oamaru Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We stayed here one night. We had a family room with 2 bedrooms. It felt nice and new with striking black, grey and red furnishings and the room was clean and comfortable. The room had a good kitchen too. The motel is on the main road and we had to drive to the tourist attractions but we would recommend this...

Thank happyitchyfeet
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We stayed here for one night on our way from Te Anau to Christchurch. While we enjoyed everyplace we stayed during our NZ holiday, this place was our favorite. The decor was lovely and made the room so inviting. My wife is always checking out the closet space for future reference and this Motor Lodge had room to spare. Everything...

1Thank David N
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful Accommodation, modern, very clean with lovely friendly staff and hosts. Super comfy beds and lovely quiet rooms even though it is situated on the main road. We also enjoyed a very lovely and reasonably priced continental breakfast.Highly recommended

1Thank touchofmagick
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the very generous review. Yes we get a lot of comments regarding the comfort of our beds! I hope you enjoyed our region and it was a pleasure to host you. Cheers. Jude

Reviewed 6 January 2015

We found this motel very friendly , convenient , comfortable and very clean, which for us, is most important. When we say clean; not afraid to touch the tv remote because it has grease on it or anything like that. It is 2 km from the downtown and the Penguins, so you can walk it or drive it. The lady...

1Thank Irene F
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the very kind review. Top 5 and a 3 night stay; almost a record on both counts!!. Certainly lovely to host lovely people. Thanks again. Jude.

Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights here and the lady in charge is wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for her and the whole complex is immaculate!! Beautifully appointed apartments with everything needed for a comfortable stay. We stayed in the access room as I had a broken leg and it was fabulous that I could shower in...

1Thank Bluemel
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the corker review; much appreciated. Yes we have two wonderful ladies and I am sure they appreciated your comments. Cheers. Colin

Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

Friendly hosts. Warm, conferrable, clean and 2 minutes from everything including restaurants, bars and supermarket. Has everything you need. Little bit of traffic noise because it's on the main street, but the doors and windows block most of it out. The little bit of traffic noise is worth the comfort of these modern, spacious rooms.

Thank GMtech99
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review. Virtually all Oamaru motels are on the main state highway which does carry a bit of traffic by day however being near new we are built to more stringent codes than most thus are quieter. Thanks for staying!

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We stayed here in November last year and were so impressed came back for another two nights on our South Island trip this year. Once again, another great experience where nothing is a problem to management. I wanted to use the washing machine but it was being used by another guest so the owners washed and dried my washing for...

1Thank Debbie W
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Debbie for a corker review. Jude and Marg do a great job in hosting. Lovely to see you were a returning guest; you really are our bread and butter. Also great to see you came south for a second year in a row. We all get carried away with in-bound tourism numbers however it is great to see domestic...

Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights here with three girlfriends. Our apartment exceeded expectations there was plenty of space for the four of us and the rooms were modern, very clean, quiet and comfortable. We were running quite late to check in but when we rang we were assured there was no problem and were given our room details so we could go...

1Thank KiwiAbs
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind comments and for taking the time to post your appreciation. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Oamaru and tell your friends about our lovely piece of the planet. Cheers. Jude and Colin

Reviewed 8 October 2014

Am definitely staying here again. Great up to date decor, very comfy, clean and tidy, super friendly attentive service (who see you to your room - and the heater was on) free wifi, spa in my room, all channels on SKY tv, quiet. Thank you for a relaxing chilled out stay. Great service.

Thank wanttogoback17
Suzzieservice, Manager at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

What lovely comments; thank you very much. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Cheers. Jude and Colin

Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a great place to stay. It will now be a regular stop for me when passing through Oamaru. Great friendly hosts. Very comfortable room and extremely clean. A definite winner in the motel stakes.

Thank Neil S
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind words. It makes it all worth while. Cheers. Jude and Colin

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (26)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (5)
View from Room (2)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Room/Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
15.0 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Oamaru
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oamaru's superior accommodation complex where "great value is only the begining!!" 15 stylish suites and apartments, double-glazed for quiet and warmth. Spacious studio units sleep couple or twin, double-corner spa baths, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom family apartments, access facilities. All units with tea/coffee-making facilities and microwaves with hotplates and frypans available.Some with fully equipped kitchens with electric range. Lovely bathrooms, king-size beds, electric blankets/heating, work stations, wireless broadband, phone, LCD TVs with 50+ Sky TV channels. Cooked and continental breakfasts. All units are non-smoking with ashtrays provided on outdoor seating directly adjacent unit door. Guest laundry available. Ample off-street parking. Pet friendly by arrangement. Courtesy vehicle. Restaurant 50 metres across road, choice of F & C shops, bakery and retail shops 100 metres from motel. Located on Thames Highway close to A&P showgrounds, Sports Stadium, high schools. Experience the difference! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oamaru Motor Lodge

Address: 391 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand (Formerly 391 Oamaru Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oamaru Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oamaru
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oamaru
#4 Family Hotel in Oamaru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oamaru Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Oamaru Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All seem great”
danorm18, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms are on 2 floors and there is no lift. My room would have been good for wheelchair users.”
female-tourist, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only been once, but first floor...... Highly recommended ..... No one would be disappointed.”
BronteWilson, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had suite no 1 and while it was closest to the road, it was double glazed so no noise.”
gl160, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room on the ground floor otherwise luggage has to be hauled up the stairs.”
freddiemon, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$106* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates