We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel Oamaru

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Warragul, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Bella Vista in Oamaru.The owner gave us heaps of information about the area,the room was spotless and well equipped & the bed was comfortable.Parking bays are spacious & hotel location is close to everything in town. It was also the cheapest place that we found during our 2 week tour of the South...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GippyTraveller
travelearnz, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Oamaru, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. This is much appreciated.

SW England
Reviewed 21 November 2015

I have stayed in a few Bella Vista motels around NZ. They are all cleanly presented and have friendly helpful staff. The rooms are fully equipped to meet the needs of the traveller. In the main, Bella Vista motels seem to be located very close to the towns CBD, so it is only a short walk to the shops, diners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Room 1 Disability access. What a joke the room is too small with insufficient space available. The Kitchen/Kitchenette is very poor and should have been replaced. The room is very tired and at any price is overpriced. The outside area is tired and plants and equipment not cleaned in long time. Very disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trev W
bvoamaru, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Oamaru, responded to this review

Dear Mr Williams, We are very disappointed that you experience of staying with us is very negative. The tree in front of your room has suffered from the heat wave in the past months and just started to regrow, hence it may not look as welcoming as it should be at the moment. We apologise. However, the Wheelchair Access Unit...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The room was very clean with great amenities, including a microwave oven, toaster, jug and decent sized fridge. Upon check in, we received amazing service from the receptionist who gave us very detailed information about the local attractions and restaurants. We were able to park right outside our door. The free unlimited wifi was a great service. The cleaning staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisaandyvv
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 September 2015

A well located motel, minutes' walk from the shopping precinct and surrounded by eateries. Friendly service and well looked after compact room, with care and attention to detail put into its presentation. The downside was room 4, being ground floor, was dark and cold - which in summer would likely be refreshingly cool but in winter is freezing and depressingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNZ007
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I stayed in unit 14 upstairs, it was well appointed and clean. The staff were helpful and after dinner it is conveniently located for a short walk to town. There are plenty of places to eat close by (mostly fast food) but the Thai restaurant close by is also a good option to look at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
Rangiora, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We found this motel convenient to everything, shopping, attractions including museums and the Victorian Precinct. We found parking at the motel very, very good If I was to make a negative comment I would say that the motels weren't oriented to make use of the morning and afternoon sun. Oamaru in the winter can be very cold. There were 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treeleaper
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Room was OK and clean, it was "just" warm enough on a cold night. It could be a little too far to walk to town, depending on the weather. The Thai Restaurant owned by the motel was a bit of a disappointment, mainly due to it being a bit chilly inside the restaurant and the food was served on cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjc195410
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 June 2015

It wasn't the biggest, it wasn't the cleanest, it had only 5 TV channels, but it was perfectly ok for a one-night stay. The bed was comfortable and the facilities and supplies were totally acceptable. One of its biggest assets is its proximity to town and eateries meaning you can walk everywhere at leisure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrayMcGowan
travelearnz, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Oamaru, responded to this review

Dear GrayMcGowan, We are usually quite confidence in our strong cleaning policy here. However, it is obvious that something went wrong in your room. Would you mind to share your opinion in a more specific detail of what you think we can improve? As we are striving to maintain ourselves to a high standard, your recommendation will be much appreciate....

Reviewed 1 June 2015

We stayed here one night for business and it was very good value. Small unit but clean and cosy and I appreciated the plunger coffee. A good spacious bathroom and excellent unlimited wi-fi which is bonus when there is nothing on TV. Staff were very helpful in advising on local dining options.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie D

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
0.3 mi away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#11 of 18 in Oamaru
178 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for room that does not have open window to MacDonald's.”
marionw454, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see your room before you commit to staying.”
227BrendaB, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get one of the bigger rooms. The standard rooms are too pokey.”
Danzak1, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are interconnecting.”
annetteb118, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid ground floor - is very noisy. Try getting a room on the end to avoid foot traffic.”
Shmoozylla, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5