We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Overview
1 Point Road Monaco, Nelson 7011 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
4 Star accommodation
About
Description
Our unique establishment is an 'Olde Worlde' English Country Pub & Hotel situated on Nelson's Monaco Peninsula. Come and join us, relax, put your feet up and enjoy the true Honest Lawyer experience. Quench More your thirst with a drink by the bar, or relish a hearty meal in our Restaurant and choose from an extensive range of wines and beers. You could choose to stay longer in our distinctive Hotel accommodation, decorated in English Country style. We also cater for Weddings, Conferences & Functions offering professional, efficient and friendly service. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Pool
Beachfront
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Luxury
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
,
Luxury
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$80 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 nearby hotels
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1,047 reviews
.11 miles away
Boutique Motel Nelson
117 reviews
.94 miles away
Saxton Lodge
169 reviews
1.31 miles away
Greens Motel Nelson
84 reviews
1.31 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 214 nearby restaurants
The Monaco Kitchen
346 reviews
.06 miles away
McCashins Brewery Kitchen and Bar
96 reviews
.94 miles away
Honest Lawyer
324 reviews
.01 miles away
The Bach Bar & Restaurant
29 reviews
.90 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 142 nearby attractions
Private Driver Hire
20 reviews
.54 miles away
Broadgreen Historic House
80 reviews
.58 miles away
McCashin's Brewery
71 reviews
.96 miles away
Tasman Helicopters
24 reviews
.74 miles away
Reviews & more
177Reviews
63Photos
0Q+A
39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 69
  • 27
  • 15
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. The staff were helpful and friendly, our room was clean, tidy and spacious with really comfortable beds.
The restaurant was great with a good selection of tasty reasonably priced food which was delivered promptly. A complimentary breakf
Read more
Response from HonestLawyerNelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Jill_445, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks, Nicole, Guest Relations
Read more
First time to the Honest Lawyer. Was an Ok experience. The room was large the shower excellent. No room fridge. No milk. Heating was off. Checkout had nobody around. Left the keys and left. Not probably worth a second visit
Read more
Response from HonestLawyerNelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Alan M, thank you for your constructive feedback and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our heating is radiator heating and is on a timer, but there should have also been a portable heater in your room. We do apologise if this was not the case. We are actually in the process of purchasing fridges for our rooms and hope to have all rooms with fridges by the end of summer. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence wherever possible and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Many thanks, Nicole, Guest Relations
Read more
We stayed at the Honest Lawyer while on holiday in Nelson.

We found the service outstanding and had some great meals in their boutique themed restraurant.

We are use to great service and standards living in the Gold Coast, Australia where there is allot of competition.

The
Read more
Response from HonestLawyerNelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Alaister M, we are delighted that you had such a great stay with us and I have passed on your wonderful comments to the team, especially Aneta. Many thanks, Nicole, Guest Relations
Read more
Nice place to stay. Right on the waters edge. Reception and check out staff very efficient and friendly. We were upgraded free of charge. Pub meal on premises very good and reasonably priced. Bar staff not so friendly. Just a bit cool, We thought.
Read more
Response from HonestLawyerNelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Brian M, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks, Nicole, Guest Relations
Read more
Only one vegetarian dish which was ok but I wouldn’t order it again. The idea of of salad isn’t ‘ chuck some bagged greens on the plate” , no dressing. vegetarians do have a palate.
I did ask if I could have fries instead of bread with the chowder option .. No
The service minim
Read more
Response from HonestLawyerNelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi nayanne79, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us and please accept our apologies. We have since launched a new menu with a great variety of vegetarian options and our General Manager has been working closely with the team to focus on customer service. We aim to exceed customer expectations and please be assure that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues you have raised. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Many thanks, Nicole, Guest Relations
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Rose Cottage
The view from the window
Seat in the shower with double doors
BATHROOM
TV, Fax, Writing Table - love!
Previous
12
"Don’t eat in the restaurant"
"Cannot comment. We were happy with our room which was upstairs and over the bar but it was quiet and very convenient."
"Rooms not looking over the beer garden could be quieter."
"Cottages outside - not nowhere has aircon!! Just fans - quirky or what!"
"Go somewhere else"
Previous
1234568
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing