We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bug Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bug Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bug Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Possibly the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in! The rooms all have a personal touch, and all facilities are great. Lovely hosts, very friendly and take very good care of this property. Nice atmosphere and this is reflected in the good mood around the hostel amongst the other guests. Freshly baked bread and coffee so great to wake up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilmissusy
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed in a double room, comfortable, roomy, cute little chocolates on the pillows! Noisey fellow guest at 3am, but you can get that anywhere. Good email contact pre-stay, but didn't actually meet anyone during our one night stay- sent a text through to number on website to let them know of our later arrival but never got a response, did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenNichol2014
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I chose this backpackers because of the high traveller ratings. I wasn't disappointed. Richard our host is genuinely interested in his guests and the hostel reflects this with the freshly baked bread and brewed coffee in the mornings to the cutely decorated bmw beetle inspired door signs for each room. We stayed in the twin taxi bug room for two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cornishgal02
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for a single night in a double room. The decoration is cute, the room spacious and clean, the bed very comfortable. The common areas are very welcoming and the bathrooms and toilets are extremely clean ! The lady at the reception was a bit rude when we arrived, maybe because it was in the late evening, but she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabichfabich
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Bug was my first experience in a hostel, and they set a high standard on how one should operate. I stayed in a private room that was clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. This place is a great bang for your buck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had planned to stay at The Bug Backpackers after completing Abel Tasman. However, part of the track was closed on our second day, so we were forced to end our trek early. With these conditions that were out of our control, we were no longer needing to stay at The Bug, but unfortunately finished after the noon deadline for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
thebug226, Owner at The Bug Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Miriam The reason we upheld our cancellation policy in your case was due to the fact that during a telephone conversation we had with you about your reservation it transpired that you were not stuck in Abel Tasman on the due date of your reservation but on the previous day..We had other guest that honoured their bookings,it seems you...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed in this hostel with my parents for 3 nights. We booked the cottage and couldn't have expected anything better. This was by far the best hostel we stayed in in NZ. Room was incredibly clean, had a kitchen for ourselves to cook, bathroom with shower and bathtub, perfect to relax after a day of biking. Owners were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank La_Belgicana
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hostel was OK....... Price was fine...... It was quite clean and our room was good.... Bathroom clean!!!! The owner picked us up from the bus station, so make sure you arrange that with him/her, otherwise it's a long walk :-) Supermarket was nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DFatime
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I think this was my favourite place to stay in NZ so far! The room was newly renovated (lucky), clean and staff were helpful. If you get up early enough you can get some fresh warm bread but it goes fast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missfireflybug
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at bug! Not only did the owners go out of their way to provide free transport to and from the centre when you were leaving/arriving, but they also made you feel at so home! The hostel itself was so lovely (the garden was gorg) and clean and the kitchen was THE BEST. The free bikes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annayork1995

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.7 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#9 of 42 in Nelson
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bug Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The private rooms are one hell of a good choice for the price!”
rp2612, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Paris room has it's own ensuite”
naarah05, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you're a couple, they have lovely rooms that arent shared so enquire about these”
the_w0rld_is_yours, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It depends on what your requirements are”
IzzyTaupo, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“any room you choose will be lovely, spacious and comfortable”
JeanLouiseF, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5