Haselbury Mill
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Haselbury Mill

Traveller (452)
Mouldy curtains
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (44)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£108
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£120
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Haselbury Plucknett
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Often described as “Probably the most beautiful setting in the South West of England” The original buildings date back many centuries and are of great local interest with a history stretching back to the times of William the Conqueror and are reportedly mentioned in the Doomsday Book. Haselbury Mill is truly the ultimate somerset venue to commemorate and celebrate the special days in your life. The three magnificent listed buildings & newly built Tithe Barn provide the focus of this superb conference, restaurant, hotel & wedding facility. The Georgian Mill owner’s house & adjacent cottages have been transformed into a luxuriously appointed 21-bedroom hotel all with High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. All rooms are en-suite and are exquisitely appointed to add that little touch of luxury to the beautiful surroundings. The original Mill buildings have been sympathetically converted to a stylish restaurant and underneath can be found a traditional local's bar with flag stone floors and oak panelled walls. The Four storey Granary building nearby encompasses a lakeside bar and restaurant and further function and conference rooms
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Shoeshine
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
751Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 483
  • 174
  • 52
  • 26
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mvj16 wrote a review Sept 2021
Margate, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely grounds with quirky features for sitting outside. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon when they were hosting a VW fair so it was very busy, with music and stalls but a nice atmosphere. There was also some seperate parking for quests staying overnight which was good. We stayed in an old building with friends. Room was nice but needed a good dusting around the windows to get rid of the cobwebs. Our floor wasn't completely level so my husband said he felt like he was going to fall out of bed all night, but I didn't notice it and it is a lovely old building and very peaceful at night. Dinner was near the bar and service was a bit slow (I think everyone arrived at the same time.) Our friend said the lamb dish was lovely and worth the wait but the Thai/oriental salad was bland and very uninteresting. Breakfast was in a quaint upstairs room and was very well organised and was delicious (we all had the full English) i thought this was a lovely venue and i would vist again and maybe bring our dog or stay in a shepherds hut or showmans van.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
greylady16 wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom85 contributions95 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room felt a little odd as the furnishings were huge and very dark antique, but some may love this. The bed was massive and I mean massive! It is a quirky place, and got very busy on the Saturday night with the Summer BBQ event which was clearly very popular with local families and social groups, with live music and the bar in a bus, with a Gin bus also. So felt lively and fun. First night we ate in the restaurant, and the food was well prepared and quite good. I thought they were coping with the new COVID guidelines reasonably well given that we stayed very soon after they had re-opened and even though they were trying out approaches, we felt safe and cared for. I think we all have different expectations of how safe we are and how hospitality venues cope - I have now stayed at 6 different hotels since restrictions lifted and they have all taken very different approaches to implementing the guidelines. Some have completely lost sight of the guest experience and have gone into chaos, but I didn't feel that with these people. These are challenging times but I feel they are doing their best to rise to the challenge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I wouldn't chose the Circus coach caravan as its in the car park!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haselbury Mill, Marketing at Haselbury Mill
Responded 23 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay! Here at Haselbury Mill we are a country hotel and all of our rooms are very different, the room you stayed is a very popular room and a lot of guests absolutely love the furniture, so your right it is down to personal preference. We do have some rooms which are more modern and we would be more than happy to accommodate at time of booking, if you wish to stay with us again. All of your lovely comments have been passed onto our fantastic team and we look forward to welcoming you back to soon. Best Regards, India Thomason
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DAP44 wrote a review Jul 2021
United Kingdom34 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although we have been to the Haselbury Mill many times, we went recently for the first time since Covid 19.
I have to congratulate the owners with regards to their efforts made regarding the outside eating and drinking areas. Wooden summer huts provide your very own space, each one varies and they have an intimate feel. I think they are so cute they should be a permanent fixture as they can be used all year round as they have heaters in them for cooler evenings and winter. The staff were attentive and it was quite nice not having to queue at the bar for a drink like we did prior to Covid.
We ordered a meal and it was to the high standard we were used too!
Well done Minnie & Roger.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bmw320cab wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Have just stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely surroundings and food but the room was so disappointing. We booked a superior room and was given a room with disabled facities. I have nothing against disabled people but feel that we should have been told before our arrival as i would have booked elsewhere. We did ask to change but they was fully booked.
The loo was surrounded by handles for disabled people with a padded back and the shower had a disabled handle.
The shower was awful. Turned it on and got soaked as the head was blocked and it soaked the bathroom in an inch of water.
Not sure its 3 star i would say 2 as i have stayed in much nicer 3 star. It needs renovating. Or certainly Pine View does.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haselbury Mill, General Manager at Haselbury Mill
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review after your recent visit to our hotel, we appreciate your feedback. I am delighted that you you enjoyed your food and the beautiful surroundings but I am of course disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations with the bedroom you were allocated. We are a country hotel and all of our rooms vary in shapes and sizes, we a have a number of rooms that have disabled facilities to ensure we can accommodate for everyone. I am unaware of this being an issue with previous guests but thank you for bringing it to my attention, as I can now look into this further. We are truly passionate about giving our guests the best experience when they stay with us at Haselbury Mill so changing rooms would not of been a problem if there was one available. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise once again for your disappointment with the room. From me and all the team at Haselbury Mill, we wish you all the best. India Thomason Marketing Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret095 wrote a review Jan 2021
Bristol29 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked Takeaway Roast Beef Lunch to collect on Sunday. Very impressed parking clearly marked met outside of Tithe Barn did not have to leave car, Meal packed well, collected by member of staff and handed to me. Absolutely gorgeous really tasty beef and plenty of it, lovely roast potatoes and good selection of vegetables incl red cabbage, roast parsnips etc. Yorkshire and Stuffing Ball. Such good value for money will definitely recommend this and use again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
malcky56 wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a stressful house move out nearby so we booked a night at The Mill to rest and dine.
We stayed in the Haselbury Suite in the main building what a fabulous room light and airy with colourful floral curtains and an enormous bed with quality cotton sheets.
The bathroom was an equally large scale room with walk in shower and a lovely stand alone bath.
Our dinner was lovely in the main Lakeside restaurant which was busy but the FOH staff were coping well and friendly.
Special mentions are to go to Minnie and Roger, Kirsty, Michelle and India for their hospitality during our short stay.
Our little dog loved the grounds on his walk before the breakfast we enjoyed.
The full English was substantial with offers of continental bits if you needed them also Pastries Fruit and toast all good quality
My wife is American and she loves her coffee, she wasn't disappointed either,
We would absolutely recommend this hotel if you are in the area or halfway to the west country and need a break from the driving,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Haselbury suite overlooks the dining garden with colourful pods painted by a local artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lizzie J wrote a review Sept 2020
33 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This well-run establishment on the River Parrett, just outside Crewkerne in Somerset provides a wonderful cornucopia of eye-catching interest; from a wide variety of vintage vehicles to cosy, atmospheric spots in which to sit (indoor or out) whilst sipping a drink from a well-stocked bar. There's a choice of restaurants all of which are atmospheric and quirkily styled and the food was excellent and also good value. Accommodation is to be found either in a lovely Georgian house or in adjacent cottages nearby. Wonderful grounds to stroll round and the beautiful tithe barn in its own lawned area complete with rustic bandstand all of which would make a marvellous wedding venue. It would be an ideal choice for a family stay, too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haselbury Mill, Marketing at Haselbury Mill
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. India Thomason Marketing Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsJGLucky wrote a review Sept 2020
Crawley, United Kingdom136 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third trip to Haselbury having booked last minute on an ‘autumn break’ deal that dropped into my email box just a few days before. We were so happy to see that the hotel has retained its charm, warm welcome & outstanding service under COVID restrictions. The food here is the shining star.... all meals including breakfast would challenge the very best restaurants; and we highly recommend the Thursday night cocktails & tapas! We took our dog & this is a very dog friendly hotel too... she was made a fuss of, given treats & made just as welcome as we were! The bedrooms are all different shapes & sizes with large traditional furniture. If you are looking for a break in the country, with good food, lovely walks, warm welcome and a stay somewhere a little bit different & quirky; you really can’t go wrong here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haselbury Mill, Marketing at Haselbury Mill
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Thank you you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. I am delighted that you had a fantastic break with us at Haselbury Mill. I completely agree with you on the food, we are very lucky to have such talented chefs and they will be so pleased to hear your feedback. We always make sure we take special care of our doggy guests at the Mill because we love having them to stay. Thanks again for your lovely feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter K wrote a review May 2021
Warwick, United Kingdom236 contributions139 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Mill is a delight. It is a Motor Show for old bangers from Bentleys to Fire engines.
It is a museum of antiques scattered across the buildings and grounds. There is nothing modern about this place, and certainly it needs a bit of an update to make guests more comfortable. Just little things, like USB plugs in bedrooms. A lick of paint here and there. All of which could have been done during lockdown. But apart from the quirkiness that abounds here the real reason for staying or visiting here is undoubtedly the food and the friendly and very professional staff. Breakfasts are well prepared and delicious, and the evening meals we enjoyed were of the highest order. A wonderful and enjoyable visit and we will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haselbury Mill, Marketing at Haselbury Mill
Responded 24 May 2021
Dear Peter, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. You will be pleased to know that we are looking into getting USB plugs in our bedrooms. We strive to offer the highest standards at Haselbury Mill so I am sorry hear that you felt a lick of paint was needed in a couple places. During lockdown we spent a lot of time decorating and we painted the majority of the hotel and restaurants. Your comments have been passed onto our maintenance team. Nevertheless it sounds like you had a fantastic time and enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, India Thomason
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LFatHW wrote a review Sept 2020
Epsom, United Kingdom94 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first night away during the pandemic. First to say the Hotel and restaurant were excellent, the staff very friendly and efficient and the price was fair.

As for COVID, it was so good to see that this establishment took COVID seriously. All the staff wore masks and deliverd food and drinks to the tables on trays and you helped yourself. Plenty of gell about too and I saw how well they cleaned the tables after use.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a superior room and its worth the extra £5 for sure!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haselbury Mill, Marketing at Haselbury Mill
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write such a glowing review. We work really hard to create a safe environment for our guests, so it means so much to read your praise. Your wonderful feedback has been passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kakaz84 asked a question Feb 2019
Leicestershire, United Kingdom6 contributions
Is there a fridge in the guest rooms?
Answer from Haselbury M
None of our rooms have fridges, but if you need to keep any medications or formulas chilled we can definitely accommodate your needs.
kakaz84 asked a question Feb 2019
Leicestershire, United Kingdom6 contributions
Is there a fridge in the guest rooms?
Answer from lynetteslatter
Northleach, United Kingdom202 contributions59 helpful votes
Did not stay overnight
MeadowRed asked a question Dec 2017
Wiltshire, United Kingdom81 contributions67 helpful votes
Do you have dog friendly rooms?
Answer from Haselbury M
Hello We do have dog friendly rooms in the Hotel and a table in our Bar/Restaurant where you can eat with you dog. All the Best Haselbury Mill
Katie F asked a question Jul 2017
Bournemouth, United Kingdom32 contributions19 helpful votes
Please could you let me know if there is a booking in time. Thank you
Answer from Haselbury M
Hello Our Hotel check in time is 3pm onwards, if you require early check in please let us know. Kind regards Minnie Askey
Answer from thehun01
Sleaford, United Kingdom159 contributions123 helpful votes
There's not too much of interest in the most immediate area, so you might have to venture further afield. The advice given above is, in my view, really valid and I couldn't add other ideas that would be any better.
karen d wrote a tip Mar 2024
Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom77 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Phone a few days beforehand to order cream tea. There are nice grounds to walk around, with good walking shoes on! "
Read full review
Melissa W wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother"
Read full review
Richard A wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book if you want dinner in restaurant otherwise on weekends I believe there is an additional pizza option."
Read full review
Safari691096 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is an iron & ironing board in the caravan"
Read full review
Tim O wrote a tip May 2023
Stalbridge, United Kingdom312 contributions133 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take advantage of the history of the site, the vehicles and the buildings."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Haselbury Plucknett area.
PRICE RANGE
£95 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
haselbury mill hotel crewkerne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetCrewkerneHaselbury Plucknett
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HASELBURY MILL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Haselbury Mill
Which popular attractions are close to Haselbury Mill?
Nearby attractions include Montacute House (4.5 miles), Ham Hill Country Park (3.9 miles), and Yandles Arts and Crafts (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Haselbury Mill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Haselbury Mill?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Haselbury Mill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Haselbury Mill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cat Head Inn, The White Horse, and Pips Railway Carriage.
Is Haselbury Mill located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Haselbury Plucknett.
Are pets allowed at Haselbury Mill?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Haselbury Mill offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Haselbury Mill?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Haselbury Mill?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dawe's Twineworks (3.6 miles).
Is Haselbury Mill accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Haselbury Plucknett HotelsHaselbury Plucknett Hotel Deals
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire