We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Echo Point Discovery Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Echo Point Discovery Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of Echo Point Discovery Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovly little motel looks old but is very nice . bed was comfy staff very friendly and easy walk to 3 sisters and echo point also on the bus route. Would stay again. Wifi not slow like other hotels and breakfast was basic but great to get you to morning tea time..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Hull East Yorks
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Two negatives, room appears half decorated and wifi down one day. But who spends much time in the room? Now the positives, Very nice friendly helpful desk staff. Breakfast for $7 well worth it as my hubby used his own bread he wasn't charged. Not cheap but quality cereals etc. Clean beds rooms and linen. Two minutes walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank squinth
bullaburra
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We initially looked online to book a room for my elderly parents, but then we decided to call and ask few questions, our call was taken by a wonderfully friendly receptionist, who I believe had just started working there, as she was training. Turns out we had more than a few questions, several in fact and they were answered on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sfrtgy
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Motel is old but the rooms are very well presented given their age. Linen all perfectly laid out, queen bed was very comfortable, and staff were very friendly. Our room looked straight down the street towards the three sisters lookout and was lovely to see first thing in the morning. Have a very affordable continental breakfast with a decent range...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pete_qld
Katie D, Marketing Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Echo point is in need of a lot of TLC. The decor is tired, the carpets are dirty and worn. Breakfast is OK but I would save your money and either utilize the fridge and microwave or eat out. Plus points: This is a fantastic location for the Three Sisters, Scenic World , Bush Walks, Jenolan Caves, Etc. The lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stefan H
Katie D, Marketing Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this review

Our guest's comfort and one on one experience with our staff is something we take very seriously, and we are very sorry to hear of your experience at our motel. Your comments have been received and are being dealt with accordingly. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

Logan City, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Holes in the curtains,spiders in the bed.Curtains also falling off rails.No air con for cooling.Rude woman at reception.Breakfast consisted of cereals,juice & coffee.Wise to not drink the water too.Booked through Groupon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacquie251
Katie D, Marketing Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this review

We always welcome feedback of any kind, but we are sorry to hear this was all you could take from your experience at our motel. We have taken your comments on board and dealt with the issues accordingly. Hopefully you were able to enjoy your Blue Mountains visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Basic, clean and very comfortable. Stayed for 5 nights and couldn't be happier with our choice. Stayed in Family Room which was perfectly fine for 4 adults. Check in so friendly and welcoming and I have a feeling of you have problems they will be only too happy to help. Great location to Echo Point and the East Station of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven M
Katie D, Marketing Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for one night on our stopover to Sydney knowing it was a basic budget motel so I was not expecting it to be great. And it wasn't. It is very run down, very basic, and other than the excellent location I can't find anything good to say about it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HonaunauDavid
Katie D, Marketing Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our motel. We do our best to provide the basics for a good nights sleep and take pride in being conveniently located so close to the most famous sites in the Blue Mountains. We always appreciate any time taken to leave feedback.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fairly old in style and lookng a bit tired. Rooms a good size with a kitchen area. Quiet location. Over priced I think. Best point is great location for several trails and skyline. It is however a way to wakk to town for restuarants abd so on. Staff friendly enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
Katie D, Marketing Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed being close to the most visited spots in the Blue Mountains. For your next visit, there is a bus stop just across the road from the motel and I'm sure our staff would be happy to help you with running times of public transport. Thanks for your time.

Berkshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bed sheets and towels were clean but can't say the same for the rest of the room. However if you just want somewhere to lay your head, charge your phone, have a shower it's fine. The best part of our stay was the location, literally a 5 minute walk to the Three Sisters lookout point. I'd recommend it as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank truthfulme
Katie D, Marketing Manager at Echo Point Discovery Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, these comments are always helpful for our improvement of service to guests.

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Echo Point Discovery Motel you can enjoy a premier motel experience which caters for a variety of travellers including the adventure seekers, groups and coach tours. As the closest motel in Katoomba to Echo Point and the Three Sisters Lookout, we pride ourselves on our proximity to natural wonders and adventure, whilst remaining a quiet and serene place to rest your head at night. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Echo Point Discovery Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Echo Point Discovery Motel

Address: 18 Echo Point Road, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Echo Point Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Echo Point Discovery Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Echo Point Discovery Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Point Hotel
Echo Point Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Echo Point Discovery Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Echo Point Discovery Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles jhardytraining, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if any rooms have been modernised.”
 of 5 bubbles Flynockla, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 100-109 have Echo Point view, the others have no view”
 of 5 bubbles fredb626, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have better views than others.”
 of 5 bubbles C8844DLmichaelw, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think any room is fine, the ones about 130 have a view during the day”
 of 5 bubbles BenBuilder, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5