We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sandcastles Mooloolaba

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I booked a week at Sandcastles to celebrate the end of the University year and to celebrate finishing exams. We were looked after by Manger Bridgette and she was so welcoming. We stayed for a total of 5 nights in unit 106. The unit itself was perfect for us, extremely well presented and surprisingly spacious for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnvinson20
Bridgette S, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks so much for taking the time to place a review and congratulations finishing your exams - we are so glad you chose Mooloolaba as your escape, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Apartment 106 is a firm favorite with guests, it is very stylishly decorated and the owners take pride in the apartment...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sandcastles is tired and shabby. You pay for the view and location. I paid for a deluxe apartment, there was nothing deluxe about. It was like a rabbit hutch. Broken bed and tiny. Don't bother. No dishwasher and sofa was well past it's best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleenmay255115
Bridgette S, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen, We are so sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us here at Sandcastles, in fact, if I recall, you did not appear to enjoy your time here in Mooloolaba at all. Our one bedroom self contained apartments are amongst the biggest in floor size available here in Mooloolaba so it maybe that you would have...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sandcastles on the Beach in Mooloolaba is centrally located where many other areas in the district can be accessed either by private car or public transport. The Sandcastles on the Beach complex is not a high rise, which attracted us to it 17 years ago. We have ben visiting Mooloolaba from New Zealand since 2002 and have stayed at Sandcastles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank athol_glover
Bridgette S, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi Athol and Julie, Thank so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at Sandcastles Mooloolaba. It is always such a pleasure to have you both in the complex and we do look forward to your arrival. Sandcastles is a real favorite with Kiwis - usually here to escape the New Zealand winter and enjoy the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely and friendly management. They were very accomodating with early check in. Room had great ocean views and in a very convenient location. clean and facilities where great. property in good condition. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debleenal
Bridgette S, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi Deb, Thank you so much for such a lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed your brief trip to Mooloolaba. We'd love to have you back and hopefully stay a little a bit longer to enjoy everything Sunshine Coast. Kindest Regards Bridgette and Charlie

Reviewed 9 October 2016

I stayed in an apartment on the 2nd floor in late September and was very happy with the service & facilities. The property managers Bridgette and Charlie were very friendly and accommodating. The room that I stayed in had partial ocean view, nice clean kitchen, washing machine & dryer. Unlike some other apartments in the area, this apartment offered good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thanh P
ManagerBridgette, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi Thanh, Many thanks for taking the time to place a review of your recent stay here at Sandcastles and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We are in the process of joining up for NBN which is available in Mooloolaba so are looking forward to adding even more value to guests in offering free wifi....

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Managers Bridgette and Charlie did their best to give us our requested 'ocean view', but it was not the most outstanding view available. We looked south, over the surf club car park, towards the lighthouse and, tho' pleasant enough, we would have preferred a 'front' apartment on either the third or fourth floor. Next time we will only book if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JO M
ManagerBridgette, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent here at Sandcastles and it was wonderful that you were able to enjoy your time doing what you like to best. It would be fabulous if all our apartments had front facing uninterrupted ocean views but like most other apartment complexes here in Mooloolaba, it is just...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

It is a very simple stay per what they charged. Maybe some more effort on clean of the apartment and maybe a service for breakfast. If your are looking for a hotel to relax, forget about it. My bathroom was not cleaned during my stay and it is not too confortable to stay in the apartment. Even with a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
ManagerBridgette, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandcastles during the Ironman 70.3W World Championship and do hope that you enjoyed the rest of stay in Australia. Sandcastles are self catering Holiday Apartments and as such, do not offer Hotel type facilities - while we will service your apartment daily, this is...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

This was our fourth year staying at the Sandcastles Mooloolaba. Bridgette, Charlie and all the staff are fantastic. They make you feel so welcome. The location of the apartments is great and the views are amazing. We look forward to coming back each year and would highly recommend this place. Thanks again for making us feel so welcome and even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrystleHockley
ManagerBridgette, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi Krystal, It was just as exciting for us to have you competeing in the amazing Ironman 70.3 World Championships as it was for you two ! Congratulations to you both for qualifying for such a prestigous event. We are so glad you again chose Sandcastles as your base during this event and thank you so much for your recommendation...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I had some apprehension when we arrived as the parking for check in is non-existant and it felt a bit like a motel. But the lady at the desk was great, in fact really helpful and then once you drive into the carpark the initial concerns subside. The room was great, and it even had a rooftop bbq area with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopLeaf
ManagerBridgette, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your great review of your stay here at Sandcastles Mooloolaba - the Sunshine Coast Council has allocated a pick up and drop off loading zone on Club Lane to allow our guests to pull over and come to check in which is great and helps address the sometimes difficulties of guests needing to checkin to get...

Singapore
Reviewed 13 August 2016

A 4 storey apartment block, hence, even though we booked the ocean view, the view was mainly blocked even though we were on the 3rd storey. The apartment is spartan, dated finishing, kitchen not fully equipped. It is clean and neat though. The saving grace is the service offered by Briget at the front desk is excellent. The wifi is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenn S
Bligit, General Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review

Hi Kenn and thanks for your kind words regarding the service you received over your stay here at Sandcastles. We love what we do and our guests satisfaction is paramount which is why I sorry they you did not find your apartment suitable. We did speak a number of times on reception and had you mentioned you were less than...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#7 of 14 in Mooloolaba
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 14 in Mooloolaba
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#12 of 14 in Mooloolaba
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#14 of 14 in Mooloolaba
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber on the Spit
Beachcomber on the Spit
#11 of 14 in Mooloolaba
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From Sandcastles you can walk to every imaginable facility needed for an idyllic stay. Laze on the wide silky sands of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast award winning Mooloolaba Beach right at your front door or simply idle around the pool.Indulge in resort living in our fully self-contained one bedroom Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments, which include master bed room, bathroom, laundry, and kitchen with hotplates, rangehood and microwave/convection oven. Your Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments are serviced daily. Relax and enjoy your holiday on Mooloolaba Beach.Our top level luxury Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments have private roof tops and barbeques, ideal for entertaining or just soaking up the sun and taking in the spectacular views over Mooloolaba Beach to Point Cartwright or off to the North over Mooloolaba Beach, Alexandra Headland, Maroochydore to Noosa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastles Mooloolaba

Address: Cnr. Parkyn Parade & River Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Price Range: £90 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles Mooloolaba 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sandcastles Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Comfort Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastles Mooloolaba staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastles Mooloolaba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floors have only obstructed view.”
 of 5 bubbles J0M44, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms have a view and complex is well located”
 of 5 bubbles 256MarkR256, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Roof top apartments are wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles Diane_QT, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“Depends on budget and availability. As reception as some balconies face the back of the surf club.”
 of 5 bubbles Chick1462, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“go very high or go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles MightyHawks, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay