We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Hostelworld.comUS$49
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$63*
US$49*
Great Deal
US$63*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apollo Bay Eco YHA
See the most recent reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the pictures! The place lacks any ambience and the communal places are quite dingy. The electric hobs in the kitchen were all very dodgy and the markings had worn off so it was a lucky guess when you turned one on! The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable, but again lacked any homely feel. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina K
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Apollo Bay Eco YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're sorry that you didn't have as good of a stay as possible as providing a high quality stay is very important to us. Our housekeeping team cleans the bathrooms after guests check out, so if you showered at night, they may have been dirtied by other guests using the showers, which comes with staying in...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the place because of the reviews. Unfortunately, the place cannot live up to those. The rooms are ok but: check-in from 4pm only? No Wifi in the rooms, charges for premium Wifi? Come on! It's 2016 you're not supposed to charge people for Wifi at all. Everyone knows you have high speed broadband connection for literally nothing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Apollo Bay Eco YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. The reason we charge for premium Wi-Fi is that internet speeds are quite slow in Australia and the communal Wi-Fi speed will be impacted if there are a lot of people trying to download and stream a lot of things all at once. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Great modern hostel with friendly staff, comfy beds and pillows and a good supply of hot water. We had a private room for two and it was perfect for a cheap weekend away. Highly recommended. The two pubs in town offer great meals and the bakery is perfect for a quick takeaway coffee and breakfast to eat in the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

This was one if the nicer hostels we stayed at. The facilities were very clean and our double room was nice with a balcony. The kitchen was very well equiped and clean. The common area was very cozy with the fireplace. Unfortunately there were only two toilets and two showers each for boys and girls for the whole floor. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

This has to be the nicest hostel I've stayed in yet! All the facilities were modern and well maintained, the beds were comfy and there's a lot of space for everyone to relax. It's really close to the Main Street with all the shops, cafes, bars and the beach. We made friends with the lovely backpackers who were working at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This hostel is a great place to stay about halfway on the Great Ocean Road. You are a short drive from the Koalas at Otway NP. The hostel offers great amenities, big kitchen, lots of dining space and lots of 'hanging out' space, many board games. The hostel is quite in the evening, as rooms and common areas are well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pixxidix
Ireland
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful common areas, especially liked the blazing fire on a rainy winter's evening. Kitchen is modern and has everything you'd need. Dorm room got a bit warm during the night but bed was comfy and there were big lockers and places to hang jackets. Met some lovely girls staying in the same dorm. YHAs tend to cultivate good chats! Plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jules7706
Gdansk, Poland
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely place, great staff. I have spent a time of my life there. Hostel with soul not only for backpackers. I must come back with the earliest possible chance. I was amazed by the herbs in a garden. Regards from Poland.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcin K
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I ve been here with my girlfriend just for 1 night,because we were doing the Great Ocean Road. Below the details of the hostel: STAFF: 10 - Really nice,available,always ready to help u out with everything need to know!! POSITION: 10 - Beautiful! 5 mins far from the beach and shops! And it s REALLY PEACEFUL !!!! CLEANING: 10 -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luca B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Solid good hostel here, huge place and the quality of the rooms and bathrooms etc was superb! There's even a bath to use! Only gripe is that the kitchen was left in a disgrace, but that's mainly down to the people staying there as opposed to the hostel itself

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom W

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Apollo Bay Eco YHA is a stylish and comfortable ECO Certified Nature Tourism accredited hostel located in Apollo Bay along the famous Great Ocean Road. Situated between the rainforests of the Otway Ranges and the Apollo Bay surf beach Apollo Bay Eco YHA is the perfect base for exploring this amazing region. Hostel facilities include free on-site parking, free Wifi Hot Spot, a wood heater, two spacious communal lounges, two communal kitchens, shared bathrooms, a TV and reading room, DVD hire, several outdoor balconies and a rooftop deck complete with a BBQ offering spectacular views. Passive solar design, clever zoning and water consumption techniques are used to reduce the level of energy consumption and give you a great getaway with the knowledge your bed doesn't cost the earth! Various room types are available including 4 multi-share, twin/double and family rooms. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Please note that all bathroom facilities are shared for all room types. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is close to all the action with only a 2-minute walk from restaurants, cafes and beach in Apollo Bay town centre and a 90-minute drive to the Twelve Apostles. The region is nature lover's haven with deserted beaches, Cape Otway Lighthouse (Australia's oldest lighthouse), the Great Otway National Park complete with rainforest and waterfalls and of course the Great Ocean Road drive! Head further into the Otways to try your luck spotting glow worms at Melba Gully, the elusive platypus at Lake Elizabeth or the wild koalas at nearby Kennet River. Feeling adventurous? Activities in the area include surfing, windsurfing, snorkelling, horse riding along the beach, hiking, paragliding, kayaking out to the seals and the Great Ocean Road walk. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is also a Rent-a-YHA hostel, and can be booked exclusively for large groups. Bookings can be made for either half the hostel, which sleeps up to 36 people, or the whole hostel which sleeps up to 72 people. Please call the hostel Manager for more information. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Address: 5 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia (Formerly Eco Beach YHA)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Price Range: £37 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Bay Eco YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Bay Eco YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Beach Yha Hotel Apollo Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apollo Bay Eco YHA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Apollo Bay Eco YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was travelling with a friend and the private room with two beds was perfect!”
F4439VImarkp, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“North side bedrooms are warmer in winter. South side rooms are quiter & cooler.”
normgray6, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Close to the kitchen”
valnaturaltherapies, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ask not to stay in the cave rooms like we did, but don't stay here at all!”
kirsty024_11, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Girls, go for a female dorm rather than mixed.”
  • 4 Bed Female Dormitory
Night_Raiders, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$63
Hotels.comUS$63
PricelineUS$63
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates