We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Otway Gate Motel

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Colac
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Otway Gate Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Glenrowan, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The refurbishment of the room is fantastic. Well thought through to maximise the facilities offered including usb at the bedside, large tv, split system a/c. Lots of hardwork ... a credit to the owners. Many regional motels need to take note.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
berylt783, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Robyn for a fantastic review. Yes it has been a lot of work and a lot of planning prior to starting to make sure we did use all space to the best advantage. It is your response and that of other guests that make it all worth the while.

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed overnight and were very snug in this small, convenient motel. The staff/owners were friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean throughout. Everything worked and the lighting in the room was excellent for reading or working. A few tiny quibbles: the basin in the bathroom was a touch awkward to use and there was no easy chair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kenneth829
berylt783, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am a little confused as to what was awkward with the basin in the bathroom. We installed brand new modern facilities that suits most. The room that you stayed over in was not cluttered with extra furniture as we use this room for guests needing cots or extra beds. Other than that I am...

Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The best motel we had on a 2 week road trip. Fully refurbished with quality fittings and furnishings - as good as a good city hotel. Very clean, very comfortable. Good free wifi. We were able to easily self cater for breakfast. Cups were a perfect size! Excellent heating. Only good things to say.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tassiegolly
berylt783, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this review

Wow. Thank you so much for your excellent review. We have been working very hard just for this reason, to make our guests as comfortable as possible while staying with us.

Horsham, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, while competing in a ten pin bowling tournament. Room 13 first night, I got bottom bunk, wasn't real comfortable...Room 18 second night, I got single bed in main room, was very comfortable. Showers were really low in both bathrooms and neither had exhaust fans. Kitchen amenities were good but cups too small, mugs would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R0bynMc
berylt783, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Robyn for your review. Unfortunately I had no control over you being allocated a bunk bed for your first night stay. Bunks are really designed for children not adults but I'm glad you got a better night sleep the second night. As for the other issues we are in the process of redoing all the rooms. At present...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Just back from the trip, we checked in a family room host total of 6 persons, the room equipment is just basic, and the size of room is quite tense, but other than these two, others are good: good location (just at side of A1 easy to reach and easy to go anywhere, IGA next door with hot food serviced),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Wang_YM
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Travelling for work this motel was all I needed. Arrived at 730pm, friendly reception and warm comfy room. Perfect poached eggs for breakfast before work! Good wifi and good pillows too: Im easy to please:)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BendigoRobin
Warragul, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Located on eastern side of town. Very well appointed rooms, extremely clean and well maintained. When entering room, was very surprised and impressed with modern furnishings and amenities. Very comfortable bed. As I was travelling on business, room was ideal with good size table for completing work notes. Free wifi works well in rooms. This motel represents excellent value. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iandebn
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

I tried to book a room at this motel and unfortunately the card details that I gave didn't go through. Without any communication from the motel, they cancelled my booking. The email from the owner was very rude. Fortunately there are many other motels in the area that were willing to help and I have now booked my 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bindy29
berylt783, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this review

1 booking, 2 invalid credit cards 2 different surnames. 3 polite emails. Tell the truth. Hello Belinda Unfortunately your payment failed for the booking on the 23rd April. We do not hold bookings without prepayment and so I am advising you that this booking will be cancelled on Thursday 14th April if we have not received valid card details with...

Benalla, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Booked 2 days ahead as accommodation was busy with school holidays and CFA state event in town. We were very happy to receive the discount card for dinner at the RSL and the 8 minute walk was just right. Lovely clean room and bed sheets, no issues will come back again. Our room had not been renovated. Thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidayms
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Sooooo clean. Lovely room, brand new bathroom and updated furnishings and split system. Room was airy with everything you need for a short stay. Even though on the main road, quiet. Would definitely stay again. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacki L
berylt783, Owner at Otway Gate Motel, responded to this review

Thanks. We are very happy with the rooms also. Hope to see you next time.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colac
1.0 mi away
Colac Mid City Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Colac Central Hotel-Motel
0.1 mi away
Baronga Motor Inn
Baronga Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Colac
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
275.7 mi away
Colac Colac Caravan Park
Colac Colac Caravan Park
#1 of 2 in Corryong
81 reviews
10.3 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#5 of 6 in Birregurra
18 reviews
7.6 mi away
Otway Estate
Otway Estate
#1 of 1 in Barongarook
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our motel has both family and singles catered for. We have a range of rooms to suit most sinarios. Queen rooms, Bunk rooms for small families and Family or Interconnecting rooms for larger groups. We now also have our fully renovated 2 bedroom house available. Both bedrooms with King size beds, flat screen t.v. and ensuite to both. Our motel is just one hour inland from the Great Ocean Road and central to Warrnambool, Ballarat, Geelong and 1.15hrs from Avalon airport. Colac is the Gateway to the Otway National Park and is on the end of the Volcanic chain with stunning views of the lakes and craters in our district. Wanting to plan a short adventure?. Ring or email and we can help you plan your day trips while having a base to come back to at night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Otway Gate Motel

Address: 52-56 Murray Street East, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Colac
Price Range: £60 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Otway Gate Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Otway Gate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Otway Gate Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy walking distance to eating venues.”
 of 5 bubbles iandebn, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are situated around the courtyard/parking.”
 of 5 bubbles JING0, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are the same, view is into carpark. There is an outdoor BBQ area near rooms 10”
 of 5 bubbles rosieb232, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the family room that has one of its rooms facing the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Traveler_8700, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 (I think) has a distinct smokers smell to it - none of the other rooms have this smell.”
 of 5 bubbles U5137YYamyc, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay