We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Clonmara Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clonmara Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights here (our second visit) and love the little cottage garden setting. A pleasure to return. The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are nice and large with corner spa (bath salts provided) Try the scones in the tea house! You wont be disappointed :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraCampbellS
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Quaint tearooms, with excellent service, wonderful fresh food, coffees and teas to delight any taste. Lavender hedges surround this beautiful cottage with many other cottage flowers planted throughout. Photographers wonderland 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank habanachooky
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights over a weekend at the last minute. Cottages are very attractive and comfortable places to stay. Lovely garden setting and owners doing a great job to please. Walking distance to town on a nice day. Ignore the highway address, very quiet and peaceful spot. More interesting than your average B&B or hotel. Owners also kindly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Arundoon cottage and it was lovely. Everything you need and well thought out. Electric blankets, comfortable beds, plenty of linen, the fridge had fresh milk and port a nice touch. Had breakfast in The tearoom which was excellent with a huge selection of teas. Ruth was very friendly & gave us lots of info of the local area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 255103Julie
Singapore
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This place is located on the main road entering Port Fairy. Peaceful and quiet location, but just a few minutes drive from restaurants in town. We arrived about 7pm but thankfully, our GPS was able to help us to find Clonmara in the dark. Fortunately, we had called ahead to say we would be arriving late, and Doug (the manager/owner?)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MY58
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We had a brief overnights stay in Port Fairy in the two bedroom Arrondoon cottage. The cottage was warm and cozy and brimming with old world charm. The house is cute and quaint and gardens are beautiful. Only disappointment was the quality of the towels. Port and chocolate a lovely touch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jewels68x
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and disappointed that you felt that the towels were not up to the standard you expected. We have noted this and whilst never having had this comment passed before, we do take note. We also hope you did find the additional towels provided...

melbourne
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This is the second time I have stayed here! Beautiful accomodation, warm cosy cottages. comfy beds, spa, close to the city centre. They have a beautiful tea room, the breakfast is amazing, the scones and coffees to die for. The staff are welcoming, warm and friendly. Very helpful with tourist attractions and fun with their quizzes and word puzzles. we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karry86
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review

Wow,thank you very much for your terrific comments. We are well used to guets leaving something behind and we only glad we were able to get you before you had gone too far. Your comments regarding the accommodation, tearooms and alpacas are much appreciated and shared with everyone here who contributes to making our business grown Thank you for taking...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed the night in one of the beautiful cottages. We were unable to meet Doug for checkin but he ensured the lights and fire was on to welcome us on arrival, which was fantastic. Complimentary port and chocolates was lovely by the fire. I loved all the personal touches around the cottage from the fresh milk in the fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikaelabull
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Cosy and Romantic, Thank you for your terrific review and I apologise for just not being able to be here to receive you on the night of your booking. I am however, delighted that our staff looked after you the way we would have hoped. I am naturally passing on your comments to the girls. I sincerely hope we...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

After 8 hours of driving and having booked the accommodation we got to port fairy and received a phone call sayibg that the place was overbooked and to look elsewhere. Then I jumped on their website and the place was still available for booking. Anyway my pregnant wife was not happy to say the least. Please be careful and have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RocketTowell
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review

Oh dear. Not entirely true! Yes you booked the same day and through an online agent. We received the booking during the day and immediately realised that something had gone wrong as yes, we were booked out. We contacted the agent as we are expected to do, requesting immediate assistance from them to find alternative accommodation. The cause of the...

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

After finishing 2 days driving Great Ocean Road I was really looking forward to our stay at Clonmara Cottages and I was not disappointed. Doug was a lovely host and it felt like every need was taken into account. The cottages and surrounding gardens were lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rebeccalc1
DougMaxwell, Owner at Clonmara Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your really lovely review. We all contribute to making each guest visit as memorable as possible. Your kind comments will be shared by all. Hopefully, we can do even better next time! Please come back gain. Kind Regards Doug

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Fairy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#2 of 11 in Port Fairy
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oscars Waterfront Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Drift House
Drift House
#3 of 11 in Port Fairy
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hearn's Beachside Villas
Hearn's Beachside Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Fairy
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on an acre and half of cottage gardens are 4 very comfortable one bedroom cottage style appartments.An old fashioned British style Tea Rooms and Gift Shop compliments the setting offering a variety of meals and a selection of unusual gifts.All accommodation has generous styled spa bathrooms air conditioning and wide screen TVs to mention just a few of the features included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clonmara Cottages

Address: 106 Princes Hwy, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia (Formerly Clonmara Bed & Breakfast)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Price Range: £100 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clonmara Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clonmara Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clonmara Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any all good”
 of 5 bubbles Jimbo661371, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the rooms at the back have an excellent rural view, you can watch the Alpaccas from your porch”
 of 5 bubbles colinh411, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No bad rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hct1948, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Not good for two singles. Be aware only doubles otherwise very good.”
 of 5 bubbles normahearsum, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Request a cottage as far from Princess Highway as possible!”
 of 5 bubbles 144lesw, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay