SOHO Boutique Hotels
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

SOHO Boutique Hotels

Calle del Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda Spain
Traveller (857)
Panorama at the Hotel San Gabriel
360
Panoramas (11)
Charming white washed houses
Room & Suite (533)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#13 of 44 hotels in Ronda
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Room features
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Calle del Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Malaga Airport
37.3 mi
See all flights
North Front Airport
1,652Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,227
  • 347
  • 56
  • 13
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
YaltaPons wrote a review Jan 2020
Gibraltar123 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a renovated little palace, exquiste architecture, period decoration with its romanticism/baroque vibes. There are 400 year old antiques & works of art, all so clean, shiny & in pristine conditon, a hub of heritage.
The rooms were big & so beautiful, clean,airy & so cosy. The palace has a little cinema to sit 5 people, if you love Hollywood's Golden Era then this petite cinema is just for you.
Staff were lovely & so helpful, super friendly & they spoke excellent english.
Location is perfect bang in the middle of main locations, turn left you walk 5 mins to the Taho Balcony & turn right you walk 5 mins to the moorish walls.
Next to hotel there are a few good restaurants Las Tablas & La Veronica(great place for breakfast).
2 mins down the road you have the musuem.
3 mins by taxi to train station for 6 euros only, if you want to walk its 20 mins.
I am definately going to pay this hotel another visit because i was there for a short stay.
Highly recommend this beautiful little palace as a your hotel stay for visiting the magnificent Ronda, it would be the icing on the cake for the Ronda experience & at very reasonable prices.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Petra I wrote a review Oct 2021
Basel, Switzerland197 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very beautiful hotel, beautiful atmosphere. We had a very comfortable room with a balcony. Breakfast was very good. Very quiet and central location so that we could go back to our room easily. Staff very helpful and friendly. The public parking is just a few minutes away and is offered at a reduced price. Everything perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
drc225 wrote a review 19 May
S Wales862 contributions454 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If this rating was just on the building, it would be 6*. Beautiful, sympathetic restoration (assumed) of an old property. The central stairwell is magnificent.

We spent two nights in room 22. Large comfortable room. Massive bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Staff all very helpful. As we checked in Pedro took the time to outline all the sites we should visit in a map which became our Bible.

Why not 5*?

Three things:

The shower over the jacuzzi bath (which looked like it was unlikely to work) didn't reach sufficiently far or to enable me to stand under it due to the slope of the bath sides. Either replace the bath with a walk-in shower or stick a rain shower in which protrudes over the bath.

The WiFi was terrible. Sound 5 connection to the access point but clearly their capacity can't support the guests. The good news is that the phone signal was fine and I was able to hotspot my phone for our WiFi needs.

We had breakfast on one day. Fairly chaotic. Small room tightly packed. Small buffet. Not clear on the egg situation as the lady suddenly appeared with platers of scrambled egg.

As we checked out the lady on reception gave us a €4 rebate on the breakfast to apologise for the poor wifi. A nice gesture.

Despite above. Strongly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dvdand wrote a review Aug 2020
leicester93 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely old palatial building at the very centre of all the sites. Perfect location.
Very comfortable room , mine overlooked the courtyard with the relaxing trickle of the sound of water from the fountain. Staff were friendly and helpful.
There is no tea or coffee in the rooms if that is something you really need. There was also a lack of English language channels on the TV if that is important.The town is far too beautiful to spend too much time in the room. On a slight negative note, the breakfast room was very busy and seemed to me understaffed so I opted to walk into town to get my morning coffee.
Overall,happy with the choice and would say its value for money ( indeed breakfast was only 6 euros)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross D wrote a review Jan 2020
Ronda, Spain10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We used Ronda as a base for a walking holiday in the Sierra de Grazalema. The hotel is built in a former Palacio and feels every inch of it. We had a Superior Double with a jacuzzi we put to good use nursing tired legs after long walking days. The breakfast buffet was generous enough to amount to a good 1000 calories before we set off, including Spanish omelette, meat, cheese, coffee, fruit and juice as well as a selection of cereals. The room was clean and well cleaned while we were there. Wifi was good, and the staff were very helpful sourcing transport to Grazalema. Staff are multilingual, friendly, available and cannot do enough for you. We would definitely return here if visiting Ronda again, and this makes a luxurious base for an Andalucian walking holiday. Ronda is on the train line to get to the other pueblos blancos or the station at Benajoan is a 10k walk to the south west down a vehicle track, which brings you into Benajoan, Montejaque and Jimera, all along beautiful paths. Come here, and when you come, stay at San Gabriel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ski4everx2 wrote a review Apr 2023
Edwards, CO72 contributions27 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for three nights. The hotel is in a superb location and the staff is experienced friendly and helpful. The biggest issues were that the bathroom had a horrible odor coming from the drain and the two sitting chairs were utterly worn out, one of them totally sprung and other’s fabric worn through to the frame. We stopped up all the bath drains which helped to reduce the odor but it was still very annoying. The bath had no ventilation at all. The breakfast spread not large but adequate however the room was quite small. Reservations are required but apparently guests ignore this commitment. The coffee machine was not working well during our visit. The cappuccinos were actually watery hot chocolate. A staff member did immediately replace one or chairs and prepare a remote breakfast table for us, which was greatly appreciated. If we had a different room than Room 12 maybe it would have been a better story.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid Room 12.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isabel Cabeza Galán, Atención al cliente/recepción at SOHO Boutique Hotels
Responded 4 Jun 2023
Dear ski4everx2, Thank you very much for taking time commenting about your stay in our Hotel. We are glad you enjoy the location of the Hotel and you felt well attended by the staff. Sorry about the issues that you mentioned. They are very helpful in order for us to sort it out the problems that you have mentioned. We hope you can trust in us and you can come back in order for us to give you the best service. Thank you again, and all our best wishes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seasonedtravellers50 wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom167 contributions122 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night in this hotel and were very pleased with its central location. It is an old building and very full of character. The room was on the ground floor, slightly dark, but that was the nature of the building. Breakfast was in a fairly cramped room but we were given a time slot for a table and the food was more than adequate. Reception staff were really friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olga Benjumea Navarro, Ventas at SOHO Boutique Hotels
Responded 22 Jun 2022
Dear Seasonedtravellers50, We really appreciate your opinion on TripAdvisor and we love that you had such a fantastic stay at our Hotel. We repeat, okay? Best regards, Soho Boutique Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ching-Tsun C wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The wifi network at this hotel is very bad. We could not make our devices (3 iPhones and 1 iPad) join the wifi network from our room (room 6 on the first floor). Joining the network works only from around the central stairwell. Then my iPad lost connection again when I returned to our room. Now I have to type this review from outside our room close to the central stairwell. It is very painful. We have stayed at 5 hotels in Spain so far on our trip. This is the first one whose wifi network is so bad. In this day and age, everyone needs reliable network connection just to be able to plan the next leg of a trip. So in my opinion a bad wifi network is a big no-no no matter how nice the hotel is otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim wrote a review Jul 2023
Cincinnati, Ohio84 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In contrast to the modern hotels we'd been staying at in other Spanish cities, the San Gabriel combined traditional architecture and decor with modern amenities. It was especially comfortable on a hot summer day, and the location was just a short walk from the bridge and the Plaza de Toro. The staff was very helpful. When the air conditioner clicker died on us late at night, a night manager upgraded us free of charge to a suite!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisajoy08 wrote a review May 2022
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This beautiful boutique hotel is right in the heart of Ronda - a few minutes walk from the famous Puerto Neuvo bridge. The welcome was warm and informative, our room was absolutely delightful and the hotel was just gorgeous, giving guests a real feel for Spanish life of old but with all the modern comforts. Parking was available and very reasonable which is rare. Best stay we’ve had in Spain.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olga Benjumea Navarro, Ventas at SOHO Boutique Hotels
Responded 15 Jun 2022
Dear Lisajoy08, You don't see us, but we're making you the wave! We really appreciate your opinion on TripAdvisor and we love that you had such a fantastic stay at our Hotel. We repeat, okay? Regards, Soho Boutique Hotel Palacio San Gabriel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin F asked a question Aug 2019
Nelson Bay, New South Wales, Australia302 contributions167 helpful votes
What size are the 'double' beds? We need at least a queen-sized bed (or twin beds if no queen available);
Answer from Judy L
Los Altos Hills, CA2,200 contributions159 helpful votes
In our room it was a king size bed.
Answer from Laura C
Kristiansand, Norway38 contributions12 helpful votes
The parking is 12 Euro per day. The walk is about 5 minutes or less.
MomtoAmanda asked a question May 2019
Washington, Virginia53 contributions10 helpful votes
Are there are rooms available for 3 adults?
Answer from MielechM
Ridgefield, Connecticut10 contributions5 helpful votes
Our room was almost a two room suite, so, there's room if they have portable beds.
GMRJCD asked a question Aug 2018
GMRJCD30 contributions30 helpful votes
Can you tell me if the air conditioning is controlled by the guests in the room?
Answer from dwronda
Ronda, Spain57 contributions72 helpful votes
Yes, each room has their own AC controls
Jenni H asked a question Jan 2017
Southport, United Kingdom
Can I reserve garage?
Answer from Ana A
Dear Guest, sorry for the delay in our answer, the hotel was closed for the winter holidays. Yes there is a parking very closed to the hotel, you can stop in the main door of the hotel and the staff will explain you everything. You don´t need to make a reservation for the parking because we have one place per guest. The price for the day in the parking is 9,90€. Don´t hesitate to write us again if you have any other question. Have a nice trip! Ana Arnal Hotel San Gabriel
JavierBB wrote a tip Jan 2024
Madrid, Spain105 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is some 200 meters away (not worth getting into those narrow streets) but you can access to drop luggage. In spite of being an old building there is a lift. "
Read full review
Diane M wrote a tip Sept 2023
Marietta, Georgia104 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless you're up early I wouldn't get the breakfast."
Read full review
Lesley B wrote a tip May 2023
Glendale, California17 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location"
Read full review
ski4everx2 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Edwards, CO72 contributions27 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid Room 12. "
Read full review
Prakash wrote a tip Apr 2023
Beeston, United Kingdom940 contributions272 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is 12 euros per night, although there are also several paid public car parks nearby too."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ronda area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san gabriel hotel, san gabriel ronda
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel San Gabriel
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolRonda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOHO BOUTIQUE HOTELS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
Nearby attractions include Ronda Flamenca (0.05 miles), Ronda Guitar House (0.06 miles), and Museo Lara (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tapa´s Bar Elias, La Barfina Ronda, and Puerta Grande.
Is Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Ronda.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puente Viejo (0.2 miles), Casa Museo Don Bosco (0.06 miles), and Puerta de Almocabar (0.3 miles).
All Ronda HotelsRonda Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RondaHotels near Hotel Soho Boutique Palacio San Gabriel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire