We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Goonearl Cottage Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Goonearl Cottage Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Goonearl Cottage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Well to finish off a week in a cold holiday cottage with goonearl was superb! breakfast was great as always! Rooms were brill, snacks in the evening were brilliant and most of sarah & geoff were great again. Keep up the Good Work!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJHELIBEN
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

Hello to you all once again, it is always lovely to see you all and look forward to your stay with us time and time again, we love to hear what the children have been up to, lets hope the weather will be kind to you if you get the chance to come down when the air day is on....

Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2013

yet another great stay at Goonearl , just like home from home because that is what sarah and geoff make it feel like , great warm comfortable rooms and fantastic food weather it's breakfast or cream teas keep it up ,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RONALD E
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review it is always lovely to see you all again and we look forward to your visit with us everytime. Hope to see you all again soon. Kind regards Sarah & Geoff

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A very nice appointed Guest House situated in very nice gardens. Geoff & Sarah our hosts gave us a great welcome. We had a small room with balcony of which I must say was small but was beautifully decorated and clean. The en-sute bathroom was also compact but well put together with a superb shower. Breakfasts were fine w3ith a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackfree100
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for the lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay,and we agree with you that your room was small but as you so nicely pointed out very nicely put together, ref the meals we do do a 3 course evening meal Monday to Friday which is pre bookable and we do snacks everyday from...

Kilkenny, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were 12 weeks into our 17 week round the World holiday, when we were disappointed with the accommodation we had prebooked in Porthtowan. Happily, a landlady in Porthtowan took pity on our plight and found a room for us at Goonearl Cottage. It was the best thing that could have happened to us. Sarah and Geoff, together with their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussiePomKeith
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review that you have left us, it was our pleasure that you had found us and we where very pleased that we could offer you some accomadation. It was very nice to meet you both and share your interesting chats. You must have experienced alot of places during your time away, maybe you could...

West Country
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Let`s put one thing straight this is a guest house, that means although you pay you are paying to be a guest in a house. Also to people who complain about the size of room it gives all room sizes on the web site. We stayed together for a few days and I stayed behind for work in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RicRicardo
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely review you have left us, and what a very freindly person you are, it was also very nice to meet your wife and it was a shame she had to go back early. My mother is still handing out the milk to our guests, she does such a good job we have givern her the title of...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2012

PROS: - A very nicely presented large family home that's converted into B&B. - Everything was spotless and well maintained. - The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. - Free wifi. CONS: - 8am is the earliest they'd start breakfast which is rather late for business use, when I asked if they'd do it any earlier, Geoff moaned about how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

We where sorry to hear that you had a few problems that you thought that you would not be able to discuss with us, we do make a point of asking is "everything okay" especially at breakfast time to every guest. When you booked your room you booked it through Expedia and we did not choose the room for you,...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 6 July 2012

A lovely cottage offering friendly service and a good mostly locally sourced breakfast. Ideally situated just off the A30 the cottage allows easy access to most of Cornwall's beauty spots. The king-size bed was comfortable but the room was overall very small with little room to move with comfort. This is just a small quibble and the overall quality was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoriandavey
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. The reason why the bed is so big is because it is also used as a twin bed to offer an extra service in this room. Please check website for sizes as we are a cornish cottage and...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Though the rooms were quite small, Sarah and Geoff had provided everything we could have asked for- clean towels, a bathrobe and fresh milk. The decor is all a bit 1980's but spotlessly clean. It would have been nice to have a dedicated guest lounge as sometimes we felt like we were intruding on our host's lounge while they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P_Larua
Management response:

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on our guest house, in reply to some of your comments, we advertise all our rooms and sizes on the websites and clearly tell you that we are not a hotel but a Guest House this means that you are a guest in our home and that we are very willing...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Geoff and Sarah made us feel very welcome when we arrived at the B&B. Very nice room (although we got a room with no en-suite but the toilet was just next to the room and private to us and its the only one which is not en-suite) with good facilities and the hosts surely taken good care of what a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A J
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review and although Rose room is our only non ensuite we have made it private to you to use and as you have said it is next to the bedroom, we also provide a bathrobe for you to use just in case you forgot yours. It was very nice to meet you both and...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Geoff and Sarah made us very welcome when we arrived and were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Although Evelyn and I had the small twin room with en-suite we were very happy, the en-suite had everything you could want. There was a very good selection of food for breakfast.The lounge was good for the evening especially with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your kind review it is always great to get a good feed back. Although this was a last minute booking we hope you will come and stay again. Kind regards Sarah & Geoff

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
6:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Cornish cottage guest house, set in its own beautiful grounds & perfectly situated for visiting all of Cornwall. It is positioned in open countryside, with magnificent views across to the North Cornish coast. Within easy reach of the golden sandy beaches of Porthtowan, Portreath & St. Agnes, close to the A30 (1 mile) giving easy access to the whole of Cornwall. Towns within a few miles are Redruth, Perranporth, Newquay, St. Ives and the beautiful cathedral city of Truro. Further afield, but still within easy travelling distance, you will find Lands End, Penzance & Falmouth with its wonderful Harbour & many other towns, villages & famous coves too numerous to mention, also, superb attractions such as the Eden Project. For the more energetic, scenic walks & the Portreath tramway are close by. All our rooms are beautifully decorated to provide a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. Open all year and licensed. Ample Parking situated within the grounds. We are sorry to say that we cannot accept pets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Goonearl Cottage Guest House

Address: Goonearl Cottage Wheal Rose, Scorrier TR16 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Scorrier
Hotel Class:4 star — Goonearl Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Goonearl Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goonearl Cottage Guest House Scorrier, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Goonearl Cottage Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great room with balcony and ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles dazdazdaz, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Check the website.”
 of 5 bubbles H5498LKkarenm, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
“"Daffodil" was not huge but perfectly adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles L2H3, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the annex. The room was small and had a private separate bathroom (not en suite). However, a dressing gown was provided.”
 of 5 bubbles peterm228, 30 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room sizes vary, so check their website.”
 of 5 bubbles Anna1066, 20 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5