We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beresford Arms

Is this your business?
Save
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“for sunday lunch”(13 reviews)
“the pub”(18 reviews)
“lovely village”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
88
37
11
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
88
37
11
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfor sunday lunchthe publovely villagelooking forward to a return visitcosy feelbelsay halllovely friendly staffnew ownersan extensive menulovely pintlovely eveninglocal butcherroom was clean and comfortablegammon steakquality and quantitycheesecakeweekend stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Cycled past yesterday (6th September 2017) and despite what its web site advertises, it is closed with a "to let" sign outside. It seems strange that a nice-looking village in a very prosperous area within easy reach of Newcastle cannot sustain a decent pub/restaurant. Sad...More

1  Thank telstar2015
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal here on 30th July 2017 but was told that the pub was closing down from 31st July largely due to the ludicrous increase in business rates imposed by Northumberland County Council. I have driven past twice since then and sadly...More

Thank raadjjh
Reviewed 20 July 2017

As we have on many occasions - stopped for a meal on impulse and had a delightful meal with excellent service. Decent, if limited menus, but quality of food and cookery skills was high. Good specials board with local produce

Thank G1660NTpeters
Response from Waddo62, Owner at The Beresford ArmsResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks for the great review..

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Been out with the bride for a wee drive in Northumberland on a lovely summers evening when we came across this watering hole. Hit the brakes as we were parched and in need of some refreshments. Had a drink each and found the service to...More

Thank Gazza_The_Skull
Response from Waddo65, Owner at The Beresford ArmsResponded 26 July 2017

thanks for the great review.

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We recently booked a table for 6 for my husbands birthday. Service was very poor, took half an hour to take order, then half an hour for starters to arrive and then 45 minutes from finishing starters for main courses to arrive. There was only...More

2  Thank TheGRElliotts
Response from Waddo65, Owner at The Beresford ArmsResponded 18 July 2017

I remember this very well myself even though it was several weeks ago. I'm not sure why you chose to come to our pub for dinner as you were 'off' from the moment you walked through the door. You were served drinks immediately however, we...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Beresford Arms staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All rooms are quiet"
Read review
"Didn't stay - just had lunch"
Read review
"All bedrooms are accessed by stairs."
Read review
"Only a small country Inn so rooms are limited."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing