Hotel President Budapest
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel President Budapest

déjeuner assez classique
Traveller (1015)
Room & Suite (565)
Una parte della colazione
Dining (68)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#152 of 359 hotels in Budapest
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel President is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent Istvan Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Vaci utca (Vaci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. Our highlight, the Intermezzo Ice Terrace with a 360 degrees panorama, mulled wine, ice skating rink and roasted chestnut will be available until the 28th of February, 2018. The ice skating rink on the top of the hotel is free of charge for hotel guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hungarian

Location

Hold Utca 3-5., Budapest 1054 Hungary
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ferihegy Airport
Arany János utca
2 minBudapest Metro
Bajcsy-Zsilinszky út
7 minBudapest Metro
1,736Review46Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 529
  • 587
  • 334
  • 170
  • 116
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
quinlanlyn9 wrote a review Feb 2020
Glossop, United Kingdom120 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 nights. We chose the hotel because of it's central location. It is on a beautiful street, which despite being central was fairly quiet. We had a superior double room in the new part of the hotel. It seems that the superior rooms are larger than the other rooms in the new building. Our room was spacious, well decorated and kept beautifully clean. Our room was cleaned every single day, coffee and water replenished. The room was cool, but when you put the heating on it soon warmed up, so no grumbles on that score, it was nice to sleep in a cool room. I only have two niggles about the room, which stopped my experience being excellent. The shower was hard to control and we often soaked the bathroom as it was difficult to get shower spray to stay in bath. Also there were roadworks outside the room which started at 7.45am each morning. This is only a temporary thing of course so it may be worth checking if roadworks have finished before you book. We decided it wasn't a big issue for us as we were up early (ish) to start sightseeing. But if you want a lie in, you have no chance.
The hotel entrance is impressive, warm and welcoming and the staff on reception are friendly and helpful with good english. The bar is small, but pleasant.
The breakfast was good and catered for all needs, cooked breakfast, continental, rice, soya milk etc. Good coffee and easy to fill up for a day of exploring.
Spa and pool lovely and good place to relax after a day out, also has two saunas.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Superior double room more spacious than those around courtyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelPresidentBP, Front Desk Agent at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear quinlanlyn9, Thank you for your kind recommendation of Hotel President Budapest. It was fantastic to see that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we are very happy indeed that our hospitality reached your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to malfunctioning of shower in your room during your stay. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel President soon! Best regards, Fatime Ketila Front Desk Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LondonDweller2010 wrote a review Feb 2024
Greater London, United Kingdom199 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently (Feb 2024) stayed five nights in a Superior Double Room.
1 Location is excellent- it is easy to walk to many top sights and also easy to access public transport from here
2 The room we were allocated is not in the main building and is accessed by walking through an inside courtyard. The rooms face this inside courtyard so you don’t have an exterior window
3 we couldn’t believe how hot our room was in February. There is AirCon but we were told it is only seasonally. Not fun to sweat in your room in February! We asked for a fan and were told they weren’t available. We noticed many rooms that faced the inner courtyard had windows opened so the lack of access to fresh/ outside air plus the heat of the rooms was quite uncomfortable. Some evenings we came back to the room and tried to keep the hotel door open for a while to help get cooler air in.
4 Music pumping through the hotel may be nice by day, but on two nights we had to ask for it to be turned off once it was past 10pm. One morning it was back on by 6.45am and another morning 7.15am. Since the room faces an inner courtyard and you need a window open to try to be comfortable, you hear the music in your room. We asked about why the music going throughout the hotel and was told that the manager wanted it. Why?! People want to sleep.
5 You can’t ring reception- the phones don’t work. So you can message reception through a web chat or traipse down to reception to ask for the music to be turned off after 10pm
6 The shower had really good water pressure.
7 The breakfast buffet has a good amount of choice but the hot food doesn’t stay hot. The food was only okay.
8 The rooftop bar has a stunning view of the area and it is worth popping up there!
**Overall, I don’t recommend the hotel and wouldn’t stay here again because of the heat of the room with no way to get relief as there is no AirCon or fans and the unnecessary music blasting through the hotel late into the evening and early in the morning! We tried to resolve both concerns while we stayed and this was not possible. If you do stay here, make sure you get a room with an exterior window to get some fresh air!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid rooms without an exterior window. The photo I shared is of the rooms facing the inner...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel President during the time you spent in Budapest! We sincerely appreciate your business with us and for sharing the experience you had with us. Your satisfaction is what drives us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back. At Hotel President, we believe that our guests deserve nothing but the best, and we’re committed to delivering an excellent service. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that our standards in some points did not meet your expectations fully, we are trying our best to not provide the same quality in the future. We are constantly improving our knowledge in order to achieve an even more satisfying guest experience. We are glad to be at your needs, if you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us. If it comes up in your mind to visit our beautiful capital in the next future, we will still be at your service to give a memorable stay for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trish K wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom48 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is round the corner from the parliament buildings and round the corner from the xmas markets which is why we had visited. Friendly staff. I was not too impressed with my first room and found it dark and bit cramped but reception was happy to offer me an alternative. Great Spa facilities and also a roof top terrace with an unexpected small ice rink and bar was a nice surprise. Ideal for visiting xmas markets and getting around this huge city. I would recommend the open tour bus.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelPresidentBP, Front Desk Agent at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear 350trishk, Let me thank you for the kind feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future and to satisfy your expectations even more. Best regards, Fatime Ketila Front Desk Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StuStu135 wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great central location, walking distance to all major sights and attractions
We had a standard room which was better than some supposedly superior/deluxe rooms i have used in the past at other hotels.
Really friendly and helpful staff. We had forgotten to pack travel adaptors and the reception staff were able to lend us two for the duration of our stay.
Breakfast was excellent and the free lemon water at reception was a great touch.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelPresidentBP, Front Desk Agent at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear StuStu135, Thank you so much for the compliments on our hotel, location and staff. Your kind words are highly appreciated. It would be a pleasure to see you in the future so do not hesitate to contact us in case you plan another visit to Budapest! Best regards, Fatime Ketila Front Desk Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NataliaStd wrote a review Jan 2022
Odesa, Ukraine12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was amazing Christmas holidays at the heart of Budapest!
We chose to stay at the Hotel President due to its great location just in a few steps from St. Stephens Basilica and breathtaking rooftop Intermezzo restaurant views of all central part of the city.
Check-in was fast, our room was spacious with a small balcony facing quite central street, well equipped, with a very comfy bed, coffee and tea facilities.
Bathroom was very clean and had an excellent shower. Room was maintained well, always clean and comfy.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, all spoke English well.
The breakfast was good and filling, perfect to start the day for tours.
Definitely a place to return while in Budapest!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 1 Feb 2022
Dear Nataliastd, Let me thank you for the kind feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future and to satisfy your expectations even more. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davidsson29 wrote a review Feb 2020
Cluj-Napoca, Romania26 contributions77 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location as mentioned is great - very central. But the sevices and overall aspect is way below 4 stars
e.g. dirty walls, cracks in the sink, elevators old and rusty and one morning the cleaning lady knocked continuously until I've opened the door to be extremely surprised that I'm still in the room - mumbled something in Russian and then left without any apologies or anything. Breakfast is average. I've booked this hotel mainly for the gym but that is not a gym, is a joke - I'll not mentioned the fact that is not bigger than an apartment living bedroom, but those machines are old, full of rust, they hadn't been oiled in ages and some of them are broken.
I'm sorry now that the travel agency booked another stay here already for my next trip. I'll restrain myself now from backing my statements with pictures.
It will be great if administrators and owners can learn the concept of MAINTENANCE.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelPresidentBP, Front Desk Agent at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear Davidsson29, First and foremost, thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems experienced during your stay with us. This is definitely not indicative of the level or service that we strive to provide to our guests. We will look into this and take corrective actions with our team here. It was our pleasure to be at your assistance during your city break and we would be glad to have you back again. Best regards, Fatime Ketila Front Desk Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karol wrote a review Jan 2023
Kyiv, Ukraine2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We bought a voucher for 2nights stay at Hotel President. It was presented as a wellness stay in Budapest. The location is very good in very hearth of Pest part of the city just few steps from St. Stephens Basilica. The first impression is awesome, reception is just wonderful and receptionist was very nice. Then it was a bit problem to find our room (I think it might be a good idea to improve navigation inside of the hotel) but the cleaning lady helped us to find an elevator and then she made sure we will make it to our room. Wellness is again marked very poorly but there was nobody at the reception. No way how to get to keys from lockers even how and where to take sheets/blanket for SPA. I also went to a main reception but lady wasn't able to help me. At least there were some paper cups for water which was luckily also available. Next day I had to head back to our room to take cups from there because nothing left there. Then there comes another disappointment as the pool was empty, whir-pool out of order and only one sauna was working - so this was our experience of their SPA center In general rooms are very small but comfy, only with one detail that we were missing small pillows which we actually asked for but there were not delivered during whole day. I found our blankets with several stains, which is not a big issue, but probably shouldn't happen in 4* hotel. The bathroom was nice and clean but a bit humid, I think of better ventilation if there was any at all. Breakfast were just good standard , there is nothing to blame. Hotel offers also a rooftop bar/restaurant which we tried but we took only a welcome drink and then head to the city. The potential is great, view is amazing but the place as such didn't impress us that much, in fact we didn't feel very comfy there. To conclude, we really enjoyed our stay in Budapest, but next time we would rather choose a different hotel or maybe a combination of Airbnb and good wellness center :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 12 Jan 2023
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Budapest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had encountered during your stay. We regret to hear that you had negative experiences and the room facilities, cleanliness did not meet your expectation. We do hope that you give us another chance to serve you. Best regards András Balogh Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dragan M wrote a review Aug 2021
Novi Sad, Serbia254 contributions84 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful pictures, sad reality

We spent (only) one night in Hotel President and we can say it is typical example of delusion, even swindle. They have beautiful pictures which can attract tourists, but in reality it is very different. It is an old residential building converted to hotel, but it looks like an old lady with a lot of make-up! The rooms are very small (18m2), so we have chosen Junior “suite”. But this “suite” corresponds by dimensions to the standard rooms in other hotels (32m2). First disappointment was when we realized that the “suite” is on the ground floor (Nr. 042). We have never been in the hotel where most expensive room (“suite”) is on the ground floor. Usually, suites should be on higher floors. Other unpleasant surprise was when we entered the “suite”. Nothing at least similar with the pictures in internet. Old furniture, everything grey and old with average depressive impression. We asked ourselves whether we missed the hotel? Bathroom has no door, so all steam, smells and odors are immediately in the room. TV has about 20 channels among which 2-3 in English language.
The staff at the reception was friendly, but very unhelpful and incompetent. We were only guest to check in, but it lasted about 20 minutes, because of incompetence of the young lady at the reception. Other problem is that the lady does not speak English sufficiently to ask or explain something. The hotel has no own parking, but the stuff was not able to help us how to park the car in front of the hotel, on the street.
All in all, we would not go to this hotel again. If others plan to go there, our advice is to bring the picture of the room from internet and to demand such room!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask the room on higher floor, and looking same as pictures in internet presentation of the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BensMumDad wrote a review Feb 2023
Colchester56 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Family break, comfortable rooms and a great location (between St Stephens Basilica and Parliament) to explore the stunning city of Budapest.
As we had 2 rooms booked, Reception staff took time to ensure our rooms were on at least the same floor, providing room options to us.
Buffet style breakfast was great, with a real range of hot and cold options.
Just ahead of arrival we were advised that the pool and spa area would be closed for the durations of our stay, which was a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are modern but noise as people work to their rooms in the same area
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 20 Feb 2023
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Budapest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the center of Budapest. It's a special pleasure for us that you were satisfied with the services provided by our staff. We look forward for your next visit to Hotel President! Best regards, András Balogh Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sigauster wrote a review Jan 2020
Geneva, Switzerland99 contributions74 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to the rooftop bar of the Hotel President and we were really disappointed. The rooftop has some kind of fake grass green carpeted floor that covers a wooden terrasse that is really not classy at all. The place looks really ugly and the ice skating rink they advertised really was plastic on the floor. No nice lights or anything. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelPresidentBP, Front Desk Agent at Hotel President Budapest
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear Sigauster, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We were very concerned to read about the aspects of your experience that you expressed disappointment with. We apologize for this and please rest assured that we will investigate these issues thoroughly, as we do with all feedback. We hope that we will have an opportunity to show those improvements in the future. Best regards, Fatime Ketila Front Desk Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Budapest area.
PRICE RANGE
£86 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestBelváros-Lipótváros / District V / Inner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PRESIDENT BUDAPEST - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel President Budapest
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel President Budapest?
Nearby attractions include St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika) (0.2 miles), Budapest Shooting (0.2 miles), and Conquer Budapest (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel President Budapest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel President Budapest?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel President Budapest?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel President Budapest?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel President Budapest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hoppá Bistro, Tapassio, and 9BAR.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel President Budapest?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel President Budapest have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel President Budapest offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel President Budapest located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Budapest.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel President Budapest?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel President Budapest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Budapest HotelsBudapest Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BudapestHotels near Hotel President Budapest
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire