Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grand Budapest Apartments

Gyulai Pal utca 3, Budapest 1085 Hungary
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#31 of 233 apartments in Budapest
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Washing machine
Car park
Wifi
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Taxi service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Gyulai Pal utca 3, Budapest 1085 Hungary
Name/address in local language
167Reviews8Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 54
  • 12
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
annacunningham12 wrote a review Feb 2023
County Wexford, Ireland5 contributions2 helpful votes
I just stayed here with my friends/family, there was 8 of us in total and we shared the pemthouse apartment and it was excellent! The hosts really made sure we had everything we needed and were super accommodating. The apartments are located in walking distance to most things and theres a taxi rank just outside if needed. I would highly recommend staying here!! We will be back :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: There is a Spar/Tesco just down the road, very handy to pick up some bread, meal etc to keep in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lazy_1970 wrote a review Jan 2024
Paris, France287 contributions158 helpful votes
Located very conveniently near groceries, small eateries and the HOHO stop as well. Walkable from the Keleti station and the Danube on the other side as well. Luca at the Front Desk was excellent in communication even before we were there. She took care of all our problems- little to big/ The apartment was very spacious as well.
However the WiFi kept failing at other rooms. This could be a trouble if you need to use the phone for backing up your photos. Other problem was in the kitchen area where they expect guests to bring in oil, salt, sugar, pepper etc which might be a problem if you are visiting for just 2/3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeeglit wrote a review Mar 2023
Caldicot, United Kingdom12 contributions
We wanted a base for a party weekend and couldn’t have been more pleased with the penthouse apartment. The space and comfort were really good and location was brilliant and the neighbourhood felt safe. The bedrooms were comfortable and the kitchen was small but all we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ell wrote a review Jan 2022
Budapest, Hungary1 contribution
Great place, central and clean. Amanda (our contact off the apartment) helpt us very well for al our questions. The apartment has everything you need. I would recomment this to everybody who wants to stay in Budapest! Thank you very much Amanda!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roxana S wrote a review Jan 2018
17 contributions15 helpful votes
My friends and I booked 2 apartments (3 bedrooms + 1 living room each) for 4 nights, more than a month ago, for the NYE.
One night before arrival, my boyfriend called to announce that we’ll be there late. They said that we dont’t have a reservation and the place was already booked by someone else.
We had the reservation with the invoice and all the details on the email! After lots of calls, they finally admitted that it was their fault, they overlaid 2 bookings: ours, made via email with paid invoice, and another one, made via Booking.

After we accepted it was a mistake, we asked for a solution. They had two: to give our money back (of course it was not a good option, given the fact we had a few hours until departure) or to replace the 2 apartments with other ones but much smaller. Our initial booking had bedrooms for ALL of us, only one person from the 13 would have used the couch. Their solution were 3 apartments with 1 bedroom + 1 living room, so some of us had to sleep on the couch and 3 of us to share a bed.

This simply wasn’t what we paid for. When we asked for a discount for all the mistakes they made and the discomfort we endured, the answer was: “the price was already too low”. Excuse me?! That was the price YOU accepted, I did not force anyone to give that price!?

More than that, one of the apartments we got, was for smokers and the smell inside was horrible!

Of course, there was the opportunity to decline their offer, but some of us had already flights booked, New Year party paid and to book other place was not an option because everything was very pricey.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from endrekutassy, Recepciós at Grand Budapest Apartments
Responded 11 Jan 2018
Dear Roxana, thank you for the feedback, and we are terribly sorry for what happened to you. Unfortunately this was a system error, and we did not receive your reservation, although it has been paid already as you stated, and we also were communicating via email. We tried to do our best to solve this horrible situation of yours, that's why our management came up with two alternatives for you to choose from. Beside that we hope that you had a great time in Budapest. Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renáta G wrote a review Jan 2015
4 contributions8 helpful votes
I use trip advisor a lot when I travel but normally I don't bother to write recommendations. This time I have to as I had an EXTRAORDINARY experience.

I have been to Budapest twice recently and both times I stayed in Grand Budapest Penthouse. I was surprised how luxurious was the brand new, fully equipped penthouse. The experience was equal to a stay in a 4* hotel but the price was the half. The staff was very kind and helpful with perfect English. The location couldn't have been better as it was literally in the centre of Budapest. All the attractions were walking distance and shops, restaurants, bars and clubs were all around us. The penthouse is in a very quiet part of the street so sleeping at night is not a problem:)

I only could recommend to everyone the Grand Budapest Penthouse.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All of them are a great as it is a penthouse.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brigitta M, Ügyvezető igazgató at Grand Budapest Apartments
Responded 15 Mar 2016
Dear Renáta, thank you for these nice words, it is like music to my ears. We are really happy to hear that you had a nice stay in our apartment! I hope to see you again in the future! Brigitta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray624 wrote a review Mar 2015
Dubai, United Arab Emirates114 contributions27 helpful votes
This is by far one of the best Apartments we have ever stayed in. The location is just perfect, just across the street you will find the many famous Ruin bars like Szimpla Kert etc which are only a few minutes walk.

The Blaha Metro station is about 200 meters away. You can walk until Danube River which is about a 10 Minute walk.

The apartment itself is very clean and bright. Very spacious bedrooms. Kinga & Brigitta were very helpful and went out of their way to guide us on what to do in Budapest.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brigitta M, Ügyvezető igazgató at Grand Budapest Apartments
Responded 15 Mar 2016
Dear Ray624, I appreciate your positive feedback about our apartment. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area again soon, don’t hesitate to call us! Brigitta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gemma L wrote a review Jan 2015
London, United Kingdom18 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed at this apartment on a girls holiday. The location is perfect, walking distance to most sights and the local nightlife but far enough away that it's quiet at night. The apartment was new and very clean and all double beds have two duvets making it good for two friends to share. We were met at the apartment on our first day and they had already been in to turn up turn the heating on ready for us. We were given lots of information about the area and they sorted out our transfers. I wouldn't think twice about returning again! Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brigitta M, Ügyvezető igazgató at Grand Budapest Apartments
Responded 15 Mar 2016
Dear Gemma, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with! Brigitta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sm1 wrote a review Jul 2019
Waterford, Ireland2 contributions4 helpful votes
Beautiful modern style apartment in the heart of the city. One block back from the main City Centre of Budapest. All new modern facilities. You can’t get a better location. Great space in the City Centre.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dani d wrote a review May 2019
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Extremely clean and spacious apartments. Fully equipped with everything you need including a washing machine. There is a great choice of restaurants and supermarkets around. The best apartments for this price in Budapest! Exclusive thanks to the staff. You can always rely on help. Thanks a lot!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aly1022 asked a question Feb 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom271 contributions104 helpful votes
Do the apartments have safes ? And do they provide towels?
Answer from Gujo G
Ljubljana, Slovenia4 contributions1 helpful vote
I am not sure about a safe, but towels are provided.
Show all answers
Answer from zosterfield
5 contributions
We also were 2 adults and two college age children; we had 1 double, 1 twin plus living room couch / bed so would say could accommodate your party comfortably.
Show all answers
amulgrew2017 asked a question May 2017
Dundalk, Ireland
Is there 24 hour check in?
Answer from Vipotiina
Oulu, Finland51 contributions48 helpful votes
The check in is available 24 hours, but after 22 you have to pay extra to have a person to check you in.This is because there is no reception and therefore you have to inform you check in time before you arrive.
annacunningham12 wrote a tip Feb 2023
County Wexford, Ireland5 contributions2 helpful votes
"There is a Spar/Tesco just down the road, very handy to pick up some bread, meal etc to keep in the apartment! "
Read full review
Harpreet S wrote a tip Feb 2019
Prestbury, United Kingdom14 contributions17 helpful votes
"We had apartment 6 on the 4th floor"
Read full review
Vesna AMG wrote a tip Dec 2018
2 contributions
"Room with balcony ."
Read full review
kirsberry wrote a tip Oct 2018
Vantaa, Finland22 contributions5 helpful votes
"Don't book room 4 from 5th floor."
Read full review
sauzeesooze wrote a tip Jun 2018
Brighton, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
"Lift to the apartment, spacious, clean and comfortable"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Budapest area.
PRICE RANGE
£109 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND BUDAPEST APARTMENTS - Updated 2024 (Hungary)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Budapest Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Budapest Apartments?
Nearby attractions include E-Exit Escape Game (0.3 miles), Nightmare in Budapest (0.1 miles), and Neverland (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Budapest Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, shuttle bus service, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Budapest Apartments?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Grand Budapest Apartments?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Budapest Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Petrol Beer & Barbeque, Vinyl & Wood - Get Lost In Wonderland, and Bors GasztroBar.
Is Grand Budapest Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Budapest.
Are pets allowed at Grand Budapest Apartments?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Budapest Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Budapest Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fisherman's Bastion (1.6 miles), Shoes on the Danube Bank (1.2 miles), and Heroes' Square (1.5 miles).
Is Grand Budapest Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.