Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Magazine Hotel & Apartments

Traveller (238)
Room & Suite (153)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#146 of 355 hotels in Budapest
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments is located in the centre of Budapest. It has 12 rooms and 4 apartments which are designed by a young Hungarian designer. All rooms have a flat-screen TV and most of them have a beautiful city view. Each room has its own private bathroom and equipped with air-conditioning. WIFI is available in all rooms. The rooms are non-smoking rooms. However, the hotel has a terrace which is designated for smoking. The hotel has a community space and a small kitchen. The apartments on the 3rd and 4th floor have separate, well-equipped kitchen. The hotel provides its guests hairdryers and ironing facilities. If guests need the hotel can also provide children's cots/cribs for free of charge. Airport transfer service, city tours and many programs are available. Guests can find concierge service at the property, and it has daily maid service also. The local area has many restaurants, cafes and nightclubs. From The Magazine Hotel & Apartments St. Stephen's Basilica is 70 metres, Deák Ferenc Square is 450 metres and the State Opera House is 500 metres away. Budapest Liszt Ferenc Airport is 17 km away from the property. The Hotel is also very close to the river Danube and its embankment (750 metres away). In the district where the hotel is located (Belváros - Lipótváros) is a great choice for travellers interested in Shopping, History and Architecture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian

Location

Szent Istvan ter 4-5, Budapest 1051 Hungary
Name/address in local language
269Reviews5Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 63
  • 35
  • 16
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
adamsch wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the cleanest, well organized and structured rooms I have ever stayed in. Great, lovely, and welcoming staff during the opening hours of the reception, who are willing to help any time of the day. Great view from the rooms onto the Basilica, with very comfortable beds and furniture. Absolutely recommend it for someone who’s looking for a ‘lower budget’ stay. Thank you The Magazine Hotel for having me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wenyi wrote a review Jul 2020
Paris, France1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t believe that I could rent a room at such a great price, location is super well closed to everything, specifically city center, and also closed to lots of sightseeing place .basically could reach everything by walking. room is so modern style, and great quantity of bed, shower and mirror. Kind reception as well. Love everything in this apartment
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dóra Dragon, Egyéb at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Dear 976wenyiw, Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our facilities. We will certainly forward your nice words to our colleagues. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy all the benefit of the central location. We would be more than happy to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Best regards, The Magazine Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon K wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived they already pre-heated the room for us, and they left us some coffeepads which we could use in the common kitchen, that was really nice for the morning. I really enjoyed the bath, even if it was slightly dangerous to shower in, but it was a great bath, water pressure was great! (I think that’s important).

Located next to the basilisk, great location. Super central and everything was close, coffee bars, akadamia italia (great breakfast and lunch), cocktails bars, wine bars, Hungarian traditional restaurants, sushi, you get it Everything you could think of.

The self check-in was amazing, felt really like we we’re trusted as friends. Great system with the doorcodes. Prevents loss of keys, really smart.

Beds were decent and clean and I’d happily come back, but in summer because it was super cold!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dóra Dragon, Other at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Responded 18 May 2022
Dear SharonKzr, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of The Magazine Hotel, we are delighted to hear that you have had a great time with us! We try to make our guest's stay as smooth and comfortable as possible from the very beginning, so it is heartwarming to read that we had succeeded in doing so. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the summer! :) Best wishes, The Magazine Hotel team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dakotaferrara wrote a review Apr 2022
Torquay, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I visited for my birthday and unbeknownst to me our engagement.
We picked this hotel due to the view and the location.
It’s marketed as a hotel and apartment, we’ve stayed in both types of properties on many occasions and this property seems have the cons of both but not the benefits of either.
The main issue we experienced was, this property is advertised as having ironing facilities. My partner requested these on the evening he planned to propose and was told, “ we don’t have those facilities here” he questioned that and explained that the facilities were advertised and we would have not booked the property had we known this basic facility was unavailable. The receptionist said we don’t do that here, my partner asked is there a tumble dryer or any facility to iron/ steam a shirt and was told no.
My Fiancé ended up having to go out and buy a new shirt.
We fed this back to the company we booked with and the hotel responded saying they do have ironing facilities but we didn’t request them.

Clearly this hotel is lying. There are two options
Option 1. The receptionist was too lazy to go and find the iron and ironing board
Option 2. They don’t have these facilities, are falsely advertising and lying when questioned.
Apparently we also said our stay was excellent when asked, I’m not sure who we said this statement to. Because no one asked us about our stay at all.
Other issues were that the shower is not installed correctly, and when in the holder projects water out of the bath. Also, when our room was cleaned the maid didn’t replace the towels. Fortunately we noticed this ten minutes prior to the receptionist leaving, but if we hadn’t we wouldn’t have had access to towels because they’re locked away.
Were really disappointed that the property hasn’t taken any ownership of their mistakes and have instead accused their guests of lying. Clearly this property doesn’t want to improve. Would steer well clear.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dóra Dragon, Other at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Responded 16 Apr 2022
Dear Dakota, First of all sorry that you are dissapointed. Secondly, the receptionist told you we do not have ironing service and she even looked places for you where somebody can wash and irom your clothes! After you came back she asked you how was it, everytjing went ell and you said yes! Thirdly, the same receptionist asked you when you did the checking out how was your stay and you said perfect! Never to less we gave you a free champagne because you celebrated! I do mot think that because nobody gave you the irom because you asked for a service your holiday was ruinned. Also we were nice prepered you a gift to feel excelemt in our place! And not to meantion you left so dirty the rooms and the towels we should charge you extra for it but we did not! Have a nice day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TinaHH123 wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom507 contributions308 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a room facing the square where St. Stephen's Basilica is. The Xmas market had just opened so it was lovely and festive. The room is large enough and the wifi good. Everything was very clean and cleaners came everyday (but not to do the room) There is TV and the room wasn't too hot and there is zircon for summer. It reminds me of a posh hostel. There is a small communal kitchen and large dinning table. Very handy to make tea and toast for breakfast. The location is great as you can catch the 100E bus from the airport (900) and the hotel is only 5 min walk from the drop off, which is the last stop on the bus. It has excellent restaurants around and most things are in walking distance or tube/tram ride away. would definitely stay again.
Checkin was via smart lock, email was sent with very good details on how to get your keys. The only thing is there was no one at reception the whole weekend, not an issue for us, and they are contactable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: get a room facing the square
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dóra Dragon, Other at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Responded 8 May 2022
Dear TinaHH123, We apologize for the late response to your review from such a long time ago! These past few years, we've been working very hard on improving both our facility and services for our guests, which includes processing our earlier reviews as well. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of The Magazine Hotel, and are delighted to hear that you have had a great time with us! Our location is indeed very convenient, and we just love how close the Christmas Market is during the festive season. :) We are pleased to let you know that our reception now operates between 8 am and 8 pm daily, so checking in has never been easier! For guests staying longer than just one day, we offer our daily cleaning service as well, including fresh towels and some room cleaning. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience but rest assured that we now double-check each and every room to make sure it's been properly cleaned. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we look forward to having you again! :) Best wishes, The Magazine Hotel team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LondonSunshineSometimesCloudy wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations. The room we had (the basilica room) has maybe the best views of any hotel in Budapest. Inside, the place has had some serious interior design consideration - making every aspect extremely instagrammable! The staff were incredibly helpful, recommending many local night spots for food and drink, as well as being able to provide Spa tickets. We look forward to returning in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 363d_rad, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear LSSCloudy, First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Magazine Hotel & Apartments for your trip in Budapest. Thank you also for your detailed review about your stay shared with us. It is great to know that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for praising our service. We will certainly forward your nice words to our colleagues. Sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Dóra Dragon General Manager The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason D wrote a review Aug 2020
Melbourne, Australia381 contributions159 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a brilliant stay here. The room was very modern, spacious and comfortable... however it was just so noisy. We were on the 1st floor, directly above a restaurant who would wind in/out their sun visors at 6am and midnight, drag their metal tables and chairs and on Friday & Saturday night the nightclub had very loud music playing which would thump through the walls and floor.
The location is absolutely exceptional, but with that comes a lot of noise from outside and in the square; which would deter me from staying again unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher room if possible, due to the noise in the square from restaurants and nightclubs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dóra Dragon, Egyéb at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Dear Jason, Thank you for your kind review following your stay at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments. Due to the central location this neighbourhood can be a little bit noisy for some people. There is a restaurant underneath the hotel and on Friday - Saturday they have live music which affects some rooms on the half floor. Next time do not hesitate to call the hotel in the evening. Our business relationship with this place is pretty amazing, we can always notify them if our guests experience loud music caused by them. Although we have listed street noise among all the important information that you need to know about our property on every website where you can book our rooms, we still inform our guests in the confirmation letter about that! The rooms that are located on the half floor can be noisy, because of the surrounding restaurants and bars. Our studios are definitely quiet rooms. We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future by choosing a studio on upper level. Sincerely, The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana Ț wrote a review Feb 2022
22 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't waste your money in this "hostel", I cannot think of anything worse. The location is the only good thing but not worth it! The walls are so thin you can hear everything that is happening in the rooms next to you, could not get any sleep at night! Is not even a room or a flat it is an improvised thing with a bed inside and a bathroom. To enter your room is more difficult than breaking a safe, you literally need 3 codes which they are sent by email the morning when you are traveling because of course you will check your email, if I didn't have roaming probably would've been left outside.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dóra Dragon, Other at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Dear Diana! Sorry for your dissapointment! However I personaly helped you by phone how to enter and you managed to get in really quickly! The rooms are normal rooms with their own bathroom and the equipment what anybody needs for a small city break, no problem with them! Also we ordered you a taxi to the aiport from the hotel as you asked for and you have never took the drivers call or meet with him so he waited for you 4 a.m. in the morning because you did not cancel your route! I do not feel fair your review because I was really nice and helpfull with you! Best regards, Dora The Magazine Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jarno S wrote a review Jul 2022
Helsinki, Finland1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location althought be mindful that this is on one of the busier squares so you will hear noise during the night. What I was displeased with was how the cleaning wasn’t done properly. The glasses were dirty and there was no toilet paper in my hotel room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dara W wrote a review Jul 2023
Bavaria, Germany192 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is very centrally located in the heart of Budapest on the pest side. Staff was excellent at reception which is open 8am-8pm. There is a little hangout area near reception and the rooms with a water tank, so bring a reusable water bottle with you to fill up. Rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Rooms are air conditioned.

The only downside is on Friday and Saturday night the bar below the hotel turns into a club with a DJ. This made it a challenge to fall asleep. During the week noise was not an issue.

Pro tip: when coming from the airport, take the airport bus for €6 per person. The last stop from the airport/first stop to the airport is a 5 minute walk from this hotel. The bus comes every 10-15 minutes and tickets can be booked on the Budapestgo app.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauramcf97 asked a question Jan 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom66 contributions39 helpful votes
Does the hotel have a communal kitchen?
Answer from Dóra D
Budapest, Hungary19 contributions
Dear Laura, Yes we have a communal kitchenette, and we have some studios with kitchenette also. Best regards, Dóra Dragon General Manager
Show all answers
MiMi L asked a question Apr 2017
Orange, California15 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, is there any elevator for guests to carry the luggages?
Answer from Dóra D
Budapest, Hungary19 contributions
Dear Mimi, Yes, there is an elevator in the building. If you have any more questions, please don't hesitate to contact us! Have a nice day, The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Show all answers
rsnnyc asked a question Feb 2017
New York City, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is there a hair dryer? Are tolietries provided?
Answer from Dóra D
Budapest, Hungary19 contributions
Dear Guest, Yes we have hair dryers you can ask for it at the reception,and every room has it's own bathroom with shower/shampoo gels.
Answer from Dóra D
Budapest, Hungary19 contributions
Dear Crawford, Sure, If you take the parent's consent form with you then you can able to stay in our Hotel. Have a nice day, The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Answer from Dóra D
Budapest, Hungary19 contributions
Dear Jordyn, You got to go with the 200E bus. Its got a terminal at the airport, go to the last station which is called Kőbánya-Kispest. Kőbánya-Kispest is also the last stop of the blue metro line (M3)  Hop on the blue metro line towards Újpest-Központ, and hop off at Deák Ferenc tér, or Arany János utca. Our hotel is 5 minutes away from these metro stations. Have a lovely day!
Zuzana D wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not so far from the station (Nyugati Pu), easy to go by foot."
Read full review
Julia D wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"It gets noisy at night. "
Read full review
Ed H wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"They refuse to do late check ins "
Read full review
Zaretta wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bus 16 goes right to the Buda Castle. Use app BudapestGo for city and airport bus tickets."
Read full review
Luis wrote a tip May 2022
Madrid, Spain2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are rooms with views to the square and others that not."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Budapest area.
PRICE RANGE
£50 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestBelváros-Lipótváros / District V / Inner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MAGAZINE HOTEL & APARTMENTS - Updated 2024 (Budapest, Hungary)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to The Magazine Hotel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika) (0.06 miles), AROOM Budapest (0.2 miles), and 3d Gallery Budapest (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and baggage storage.
What are some restaurants close to The Magazine Hotel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tapassio, Hoppá Bistro, and 9BAR.
Does The Magazine Hotel & Apartments have airport transportation?
Yes, The Magazine Hotel & Apartments offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Magazine Hotel & Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Budapest.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Magazine Hotel & Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Magazine Hotel & Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fisherman's Bastion (0.8 miles), Shoes on the Danube Bank (0.4 miles), and Heroes' Square (1.6 miles).