Tartu Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tartu Hotel

Traveller (269)
Single room
Room & Suite (149)
Aamiainen alakerran ravintolassa
Dining (26)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 22 hotels in Tartu
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hotel Tartu is situated in the centre of Tartu and is your best choice in case you appreciate friendly service, affordable prices, and a comfortable hotel room. Being one of the oldest hotels in Tartu, built already in 1964, Hotel Tartu has always been regarded as an ideal place to stay by people coming to Tartu either on business or on holiday. One reason for this is certainly the hotel’s convenient location. Following the architecture of the building, the interior as well has been designed in a nostalgic but modern style of the 1960s. The hotel has 72 renovated rooms, 6 hostel rooms, 40 superior rooms in new part which was opened 2017.Furthermore we have conference rooms, a cosy cafe, little gym and sauna center with 2 jacuzzies. The Hotel Tartu offers a relaxing accommodation right in the centre of Tartu – the bus terminal is just opposite the hotel, the Old Town, the Vanemuine theatre and concert halls, and a shopping centre only a short walk away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Paid public parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Estonian, Finnish

Location

Soola 3, Tartu 51013 Estonia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Tartu Airport
755Reviews3Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 380
  • 264
  • 90
  • 18
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ieva_Neimane wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is right across the street of AHAA science centre. So if you are travelling to Tartu for that purpose, the location is perfect. The city centre is also walkable distance and next to the hotel there is a shopping mall.
We stayed at a standard room - at the reception you can get ironing board and kettle for the room.
The spa on the 5th floor is excellent.
But we were woken by reception call close to midnight due to "noise complaints", which were not us. We were woken up from the sleep by the call. That was very unpleasent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MaaritMel, Senior Administrator at Tartu Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Ieva, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are very sorry for the wrongly made noise complaints call. We will definitely talk with the night receptionist who woke you up and also inform other colleagues to be more specific and check the hallways to find out the noise maker. We are very sorry for the unpleasant incident! Kind regards Senior Administrator Hotell Tartu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juho K wrote a review Sept 2020
Tampere, Finland4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Housed in a very central, Soviet concrete chic building, the interior was well modernized very recently. Only a few minutes from three shopping centres, bus station and the Old town, the location is perfect for a person travelling either with a car, or public transport. A nearby largish parking lot (next to a 24h McD and a petrol station) gathered young people with their cars, leading to some noise but nothing out of the ordinary. Room was clean and had air conditioning, which was nice since morning sun would warm up the room substantially without it.

The hotel also houses a beauty and health spa, and I had a great and very professional one hour massage for a very reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maarit Meltsas, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 13 Sept 2020
Hello! Thank you for your review! We feel happy that you liked our great location and good service. Looking forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Hotel Tartu family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pille K wrote a review Aug 2020
Tallinn, Estonia102 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cozy smaller hotel where we felt welcome. Suitable for people who do not like big hotels. We had a three bed family twin room which was very spacious in addition to the large bathroom. There was a small refrigerator and a kettle can be rented on request. The only downside was that there were no small lamps or sockets on one of the beds, I found extra sockets in uncomfortable place behind the desk. We also had three phones per three people, all of which needed recharging. It was also possible to complain about overly thick blankets, much thinner ones would have been enough during the summer.
I really liked the small sauna center with three pleasant saunas and jacuzzis, the Finnish sauna was really hot enough! At the time we visited, there were also very few people, so we had a lot of space and privacy.
Breakfast was very varied and high quality, I also commend the coffee station, which had two machines that made good coffee quickly. In many hotels you have to stand in line for a long time to get coffee, it was very good here.
My thanks also to the friendly and warm attitude of the hotel staff! I will definitely stay at this hotel again, the other two larger downtown hotels could not make such a pleasant impression.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maarit Meltsas, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 13 Sept 2020
Hello! We are delighted to read the great review of your stay! We are very happy we made your vacation great and you could enjoy good coffee and our small but nice sauna center. Hoping to see you soon! Best regards Hotel Tartu family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daria wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had 2 rooms booked: a standard room for 3 and a superior room for 2. Both of them turned out to be pretty nice for a short (3 nights) stay, yet I believe that for a longer period of time it might be not too comfortable as the rooms were lacking a closet (the superior one had a few clothes hangers, but those were not really enough). Bathrooms could have been better: they are quite small, and the one in the standard room did not even have a separated shower, there was just a curtain; the sink is really small too. All the rest was okay, the rooms were really clean, and all the standard amenities (fridge, tv, etc) were there.

I loved the saunas and jacuzzi which are available for free in the morning, but on a side note, I was there during the pandemic, when there were very few people at the hotel, so during normal times it might be more crowded and therefore less comfortable. There are 2 saunas and 2 jacuzzis.

Breakfast was included, it was a rather small buffet, however, there was enough to have more or less different food every morning: there were some continental breakfast classics (scramble, pancakes, bacon etc), coffee machine, tea, water and two juices, 3 kinds of desserts and a couple of kinds of fruit. If you stay for a longer period, you'll be pretty much fed up with the same food after 3 days.

The location is great: AHHAA keskus is less than one minute away, so is the waterpark, there is a shopping mall in front of the hotel, a Maxima 5 minutes away, and basically everything in the city centre can be reached by walking.

So, I would recommend staying here for a working visit or a short family stay, but don't really expect this hotel to be a place for a longer visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maarit Meltsas, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Hello! Thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Tartu! This review will definitely help other travelers. We are happy you had a good short holiday with us! Best regards Hotel Tartu family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A R wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Hotell Tartu for 4 days while attending the sTARTUp Day festival. I booked a family room by email as no singles were available on the website and was actually immediately offered a single room, despite the fact I was ready to take the more expensive one. The room was very spacious, perfectly clean and very quiet despite the fact it was opposite the bus station. The staff was very pleasant, spoke perfect English and helped me with further travel bookings. The hotel location is prime, just in front of the central bus station so very easily accessible from Tallinn. Check-in and check-out went flawlessly. I know this review sounds excessively positive but I was thrilled with my stay and can only recommend the establishment, thank you to all the staff for making it so comfortable. Aitäh !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelly-Riin Kärt, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2021
Dear guests, Thank You so much for these kind words! It is great to hear that You enjoyed Your stay a lot! We try to improve our services day by day and this type of positive thoughts only motivate us to do even better! Thank You again and hope to see You soon in Hotel Tartu! Kindest regards Hotel Tartu family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiina999 wrote a review Nov 2021
Tallinn, Estonia3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel room showed some signs of aging, but the location is in a center, there were plenty of free parking places close-by and the breakfast was excellent. Only thing we were missing was a cup of hot chocolate at the breakfast. And there was some noise from the street early morning then the street cleaning machines started to work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelly-Riin Kärt, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Dear guests, We thank you for taking your time to write us this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast! We will let the cafe know about the hot chocolate recommendation. :) Hope to see you soon again! Kind regards Hotel Tartu family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarcMLondon wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom567 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Right from the initial point of reservation of 2 rooms, we requested the setup of each room. They replied almost immediately positively.
We were welcomed warmly and each reception team member was helpful. Easy check-in!
The room was clean and the air-conditioner worked on a hot week.
Breakfast was ample.
Parking was easy and there is an electric charger for our car in front of the hotel.
Great location to the river that lead to Old Town.
However, the bed was too soft and I had a bad back after the 2nd night but we only stayed 2 nights.
Coffee at breakfast was that good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elery Teor, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely and thorough review! It is wonderful to see our work receives such positive feedback. We are sad to hear that the sleep quality during your stay was poor due to a too soft mattress, hopefully we are able to offer rooms with different kinds of mattresses in the future. Thank you again for your lovely feedback and we really hope to see you again! Best regards, Hotel Tartu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timo T wrote a review Aug 2020
Vantaa, Finland15 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival clearly hotel that is coming out of covid-19 restrictions was clear.
After the warm welcome and basic signing in procedures we went to our room.
A basic room with 42"-tv set with bunch of channel on which one does not understand a word.
This one depends on one's language skills.
Otherwise the hotel is clean quiet nicely located on a walking distance from
the old time square and local market square.
The hotel has sauna department and every possibility to be create hotel,
even the breakfast selection was reasonably good.
The down side is that the restaurant hasn't work for months and it shows on food they offer,
including breakfast, which was cold.
That's why i only give average rating for them.
With time I'm sure they'll fix this problem and if I visit them again,
I'm able to give them better rating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maarit Meltsas, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 7 Aug 2020
Dear Timo, Thank you for your overview about yous stay in Hotel Tartu! We are thankful for your good words and glad we gave you a great impression. With best regards Hotel Tartu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean B wrote a review Jul 2020
Calgary, Canada264 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located very well. Next to shopping malls and a farmer's market. Very close to old town, nice walk along the river. The hotel is very clean and staff is exceptional. One issue is that the room was very, very hot with no way of cooling it. The room is equipped with what appears to be aircon, but it does not work. Unfortunately we hardly slept as a result. The spa has bizarre hours where it is closed from 1100 to 1400 daily Good breakfast included. Staff is very helpful and efficient
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maarit Meltsas, Guest Services / Front Office at Tartu Hotel
Responded 17 Jul 2020
Dear Sean, Thank you for writing us a review! It is great you hear that our location was suitable for and you were very satisfied with our good service. Next time you have a problem in the room, feel free to tell the reception. We try to find a solution for you. Our sauna is usually closed on lunch time because then we have a opportunity to clean it. At the moment sauna on workdays is open 7.30-10.30 and 17:00 - 22:00 and on weekends in the morning 8:00-11:00 and evening 14:00-22:00. Best wishes Hotel Tartu family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gilber2023 wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best place to stay, everything is very close. Very clean hotel. The staff is pleasant. It is quiet in the hotel, no sound can be heard through the walls. Nice sauna center on the upper floor. I have stayed at this hotel several times.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Julie k
Los Angeles, California179 contributions111 helpful votes
There are elevators.
Hanna K asked a question Jul 2017
Helsinki
Hi, are dogs allowed? Many thanks for quick answer!
Answer from MaaritMel
Tartu, Estonia8 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello! Thank you for the question. Pets are not allowed.
Answer from GORAZIO I
Moscow, Russia39 contributions17 helpful votes
К сожалению, ответить на данный вопрос не смогу, так как не имел опыта раннего отъезда из этого отеля, да и не ставил перед собой такой цели, так как рано не встаю, но завтрак по-моему там с ранних часов - вот только по-моему с семи до 10 часов...Тем не менее Вы сможете уточнить это сразу же при заселении в отель! Удачного отдыха!
EstTraveller wrote a tip Apr 2023
Tallinn, Estonia511 contributions129 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the new part of the hotel"
Read full review
Andrejs Cehanovičs wrote a tip Mar 2023
Latvia7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking for guests but not guaranteed. Free sauna in the mornings."
Read full review
angtravel18 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa465 contributions146 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"See if room is big enough before confirming booking"
Read full review
coffee708 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Tallinn, Estonia13 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was on 4th floor"
Read full review
Andres K wrote a tip Jan 2019
Parnu, Estonia305 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms backside"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tartu area.
PRICE RANGE
£49 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EstoniaTartu CountyTartu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TARTU HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Tartu Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tartu Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Science Centre AHHAA (0.08 miles), Sculpture Bronze Pig (0.2 miles), and Monument to Eduard Tubin (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tartu Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tartu Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Tartu Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tartu Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tartu Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joyce, Spargel, and V Café.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tartu Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Tartu Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Tartu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tartu Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tartu Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tartu Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Finnish, and Estonian.
All Tartu HotelsTartu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TartuHotels near Tartu Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire