We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pirates Backpackers Fremantle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Esperance Trebuchet
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pirates Backpackers is a great Backpackers that has a great homely feel. The place is also nice and clean. Staff a great and accommodating within reason if you do right by them. Was great to go down to the beach with Vaughan, playing beach volley ball. Overall a great experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank npschm
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great location and extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful staff. Very relaxed atmosphere, with a 'home away from home' feel. Good facilities, daily organised activities, I would recommend Pirates if you are planning on staying in Freo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSerge
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

G'day Jane, Thanks very much for your review and recommendation of Pirates. So glad you were able to soak up our homely chilled vibe. Take care, Vaughan

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff, I had a good time there.. The kitchen could be improved a bit and the room in the hottest day was quite warm in the night... I actually like the backyard, nice spot to chill out and meet new people!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mauro R
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

G'day Mauro. Cheers for your review and great to have you stay with us. Re the kitchen, we are actually getting the floor retiled with a few other touch ups so it'll be looking spot on next time you're here :) And I'm getting ceiling fans put in the rooms without them, so it'll be way cooler. Cheers for mentioning...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing location - close to beach, train, sights and everything you need. Our private room had a mini-fridge which was a bonus. Our room and the bathrooms were pretty clean. This is definitely a place to stay if you're keen to meet lots of people and aren't keen on quiet nights, which is what we wanted. We mostly had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

Hey guys, thanks for staying with us. It was nice to meet you both. Thanks for the good review also. It was great to see you both enjoying your stay. Hope you have a great year and be sure to pop in if you're ever on the west coast again. :) Take care, Vaughan

Suisse
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for two nights and it is by far one of the worst I've been to. The place was so loud we didn't sleep at all, it was just impossible. The dorms weren't clean. The staff was lovely but after our first terrible night, when we went to cancel our next one, they were nowhere to be found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oTekio
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

G'day guys. Such a shame to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. I noticed you stayed in October last year. Unfortunately I do not know who you are so it's always a bit harder to respond. I'm a bit surprised that you couldn't find any staff. That's very unusual, especially considering how small we are. I'm sorry you didn't...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good to Meet New people have Fun and to do good activities for sure!!! Just came for 5 days to the hostel but it the funniest time I had so far in australia. Everyone should Check it out if u like to Party :p Greets to the Crew i will come back :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank André B
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

Andre Mate! You did a great 5 days, getting right into everything, the surfing etc. Thanks for staying and getting involved. It was great to meet you and hang out. Just wish you could have stayed longer, but we'll be looking forward to your return in the new year! Have a great Christmas with your family and take care. Vaughan

Reviewed 13 December 2016

I spend 3 months in Pirates, leaving here and working at reception for a little bit... I had such a beautiful experience and met so many amazing people... i already went back there after travelling on the w coast and i will definitely come back whenever i will be back in Aus! Thanks everybody, V and T for being so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bash t
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

G'day Emma! Thanks so much for staying here at Pirates. It was a total pleasure having you here. It was also a great surprise to see you and MK return for a quick visit. Take care and I'll enjoy keeping in touch with you guys via FB. Vaughan

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Everything was enough clean for backpackers hostel, Good pressure hot shower! All of staffs were so nice!! It's small hostel, so they always try to take care of every single person. I'm a Japanese girl. I was staying there for 5months, but there were no Asian who stayed long term! Perfect environment for improving your English!! I definitely recommend to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayuko K
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

Hello Mayu !!!!! What a shame you're no longer here. Everyone loved having you as part of the Pirates family. Thanks for an awesome 5 months with us, you truly are a such a great person. Thanks for your great review and the photos. Good to see you mentioning the part about improving your English. Hopefully we'll get some more...

Fremantle, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The Pirates backpacker, my best memories and best home I tried in WA. I came with my best friend the first time, at list for stay 2/3 week. At the end, we stayed there 3 months... I had my best Hawaienne party organized by the legendary owner Vaughan and the amazing crazy Sarah. I meat as well some amazing friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zelliecastric
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

Zellie!!! What a great write up for Pirates! Thanks so much for the review, but even more so, for staying. It was a great time having you here, and yeah, that Hawaiian Party was brilliant :) And don't worry, that family feeling is still going strong here at Pirates! Take care and thanks again, Vaughan

Fremantle, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

What I like most about the hostel is the location, the small size ans the backyard. Its a small hostel and so its very familiar and it has a cool backyard. The kitchen is also good . What I didnt like is that it was always so noisy and especially on the weekends I couldnt fall asleep because it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minimelina
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review

G'day Melina, Thanks for staying with us and for your mostly good comments. Re the noise, we're sorry if you found it too noisy. It is a hostel so there will always be noise with people socialising. We do try and have the music off and noise down by 11pm on weekdays and 1am on weekends. All in all, I...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fremantle Hostel
Fremantle Hostel
#4 of 26 in Fremantle
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pirates Backpackers is a small unique hostel situated right in the heart of vibrant Fremantle, where the owner and staff know your name! It's a secure and small hostel run by the energetic owner Vaughan, who along with brilliant staff will do everything they possibly can to ensure you have a great stay. We offer the following : - A small clean hostel right in the heart of Fremantle within 5 minutes walk of every attraction including the beaches -A huge variety of activities constantly on the go, including beach volleyball, surfing, diving, boating, rock climbing, scenic tours, dinners, quiz nights, bush walks, sunset drinks and more, all organised by Pirates. -Large individual lockers in your room with padlock provided -Sensational staff who are interested in you and are always here to help -BYO alcohol, saving you money -A brilliant courtyard with BBQ, pool table, table tennis and heaps of plants! A totally relaxing environment! This is truly your "home away from home". The hardest thing is leaving! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pirates Backpackers Fremantle

Address: 11 Essex St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Price Range: £16 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pirates Backpackers Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle Hotel Fremantle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pirates Backpackers Fremantle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pirates Backpackers Fremantle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want more sleep, a room on the street and not over the courtyard is advised!”
 of 5 bubbles stephanied252, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All good depends what's available the staff are knowledgable and try to put guests in rooms they are best suited”
 of 5 bubbles _jasonmcgrath50, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Party People - Balcony ; Sleeping Beauties - Inside the upper floor!!!”
 of 5 bubbles patiraulf, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms on street side are quieter, and closer to toilets.”
 of 5 bubbles I8791SVscottc, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there!”
 of 5 bubbles livs22, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay