We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avon Old Farms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avon Old Farms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avon Old Farms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I attended a wedding at Avon Old Farms Hotel and the setting was very nice. It is located in the small town of Avon just 20 minutes for the Hartford Airport. The drive there is wonderful this time of year as the trees are in full color. The drive is on two lane highways with 13 turns and going through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review James. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay and experience while attending a wedding here. This truly is a beautiful time of year for this area and we have guests visit just to see the fall foliage. We are glad you are able to experience that while...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 15 October 2015

This is a funny hybrid of a place. It began as a motel--for a motel, it's very nice, especially if you get in the newer back building where the restaurant is. It has some character--not a corporate hotel. But if you're expecting a great classic hotel, it might disappoint... Nice coffee maker in the room, good sized room, some road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhpac
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your recent experience here. Our hotel started out with the one motel style section and over the years has seen two major additions with banquet space, a restaurant and 100+ guest rooms. Through these changes, our property now has hints of both classic and modern touches. We like to say...

Shreveport
Reviewed 14 October 2015

I was at the hotel for a conference. My room was in the "annex". My room was very old. The mattress was long past it replacement date. There were 2 air conditioners, a window unit and wall unit because "neither one" cooled very well. The room was very clean. A colleague stayed in the main building and the rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly B
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Shelly, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience while attending a conference here. It is disheartening to hear that you were not completely satisfied and that we fell short in certain areas. We appreciate this type of insight as we cannot improve nor maintain the award winning standard we strive for without it....

Burlington, Connecticut
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Hotel was absolutely fantastic! Only stayed one night (in town for a high school reunion) but really enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was extremely pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LedDuck
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here. We hope you have the opportunity to stay here again even though you don't live that far away...it's make for a nice weekend getaway! Thank you again and safe travels.

Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

Old rooms that are quaint but lack modern amenities. College dorm ironing board, stained furniture, small bathroom, no temperature control, motel style so no privacy, nearly 80 degrees in room in october and no way to coltrol it unless you open your window to the walkway. Absolutely awful. The restaurant was worse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Michael for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. It is very disconcerting to hear how your time here was less than acceptable and that you were not pleased with your accommodations. Please know that we take these comments seriously and will investigate why you were unable to adjust the temperature in...

Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Great weekend here with a bunch of friends for a wedding. Wedding planner was great, very thorough. Reception afterwards had great food and drink service. The rooms down next to the street and not as nice as the ones in the main building but they are also less expensive. Would stay here again even for a weekend away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickGottier
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us Nick. We are glad to see you were able to enjoy your time here and that you and your friends had fun at the wedding. Thank you for your input on our guest rooms as well. We are pleased that we can offer different...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 28 September 2015

I had a chance to stay in this hotel for 2 days as part of a business meeting in Avon, CT. Our initial plan was to host the meeting in Simsbury Inn, but that hotel was full for some reason. Our next choice was this hotel. There were about 10 of us who stayed in this hotel on business since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkganapathi
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this incredible review. We appreciate the time you took to detail out your experience with us while you were here on business. Your insight in to our services and amenities are truly beneficial. We look to our guests for feedback so all our guests can have the 5 star experience that you had. Hopefully you...

Cromwell, CT
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I think that the previous reviewer was extremely over critical. He says "there is an ac unit sticking out the window that anyone can just kick in". Seriously??? I guess someone could break down the walls with a sledgehammer, too. Honestly, we stayed at Avon Old Farms Hotel after a family wedding & thought that the place was very lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judee512
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us here at Avon Old Farms Hotel. We are glad you had a wonderful time while in town for a wedding and that you had the opportunity to experience our Sunday Brunch. We hope you will travel up this way again whether it be for a meal in Seasons...

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 September 2015

I got this room from my company's perks site and with the price being ~$150 it was slightly cheaper then the hotel site, so I wasn't suspicious. Well I should have been. I don't know if the annex is another term for motel and if most people know this but apparently this is where our room was and I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamestaylor102
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to notify me of your unpleasant experience you encountered on your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you did not feel safe while staying here and felt duped by our descriptions. We in no way want our guests to feel like that and we will review our descriptions to prevent this from...

Port Washington, New York, United States
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Very pretty location, convenient for Avon, Simsbury and West Hartford. Friendly and comfortable but the rooms are a bit tired. Overall quality equal to a mid level chain. Rooms facing back (to the woods) are very quiet and scenic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us was. We will look in to the area where you stayed to see if we can improve the overall feel of the room. We hope you will stay with us again and that a future experience with us will exceed your expectations. We need...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
3.3 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 7 in Farmington
233 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
7.6 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Region: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Price Range: £114 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avon Old Farms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Avon Old Farms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have stayed on the 2nd floor in the main part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles lovecayman, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building are more unique than the motel style building. Look at their web site to view different styles.”
 of 5 bubbles jnordst, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in "luxury" section are up the hill, away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles Ohiocean, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms might be better away from the bar as wedding parties end up there and it can be a bit loud.”
 of 5 bubbles solsenz, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at the hotel not the motel part”
 of 5 bubbles nsadlow, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5