We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hotel Jacaranda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Hotel Jacaranda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The glory days of the Jacaranda may be in the past, but they are doing a good job of keeping it going and maintaining a sense of grandeur. In this day and age, and location, it could easily have become a white elephant or closed down completely. Part of the deal to keep it going is that one wing is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZeeVenturer
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As we always try our best to make everyone's stay enjoyable. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Arcadia, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The decorations are just amazing. We were not staying here-just 45 women from Arcadia came for lunch. They accommodate large groups all the time and had several this day. There were no issues, no glitches-all went well. The food is not spectacular, but is good and more flavorful than 2 years ago when I was last here. I understand that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valnal3
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your lunch with your group. As far as being a Culinary school. We do have a culinary school in our building. But they do not make our food or desserts. (except on advertised occasions) We have our own chefs that make items for the restaurant.

summit, nj
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

while the hotel is most attractive in the lobby with Christmas decorations, once you get to your room, it's a different story. old, worn down appearance with poor water pipes. we had no hot water most of our stay. the a/c fan blew so loud, it was difficult sleeping. the toilets didn't have a top to lean back on. one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank siwelsummit
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. After talking to our desk manager I was told the only things she was aware of was the hot water in the sink. That was repaired during your stay and the charges that happen somewhere else. That she offered to contact our local police help you with. Thank you for staying with us and hope...

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here for the evening seafood buffet on a Friday night. The Christmas decorations are outstanding. The entire place is a winter wonderland. The waiters are great and the service was also good. The buffet is very small and did not have a great selection, however the food was good. The desserts seemed to be bought and not prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sent2tell
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will let them know about your concerns.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just went for their Sunday lunch, and it was very enjoyable with very good food. This is more of a historical experience when people ate in large formal dining rooms while someone played a piano. You need not dress formally, but it is more a 1940s feel or cafeteria style dining. We loved it, but I'm not sure I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terra V
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we will keep our seafood casserole recipe in hopes you will visit often. Friday nights seafood buffet is wonderful also.

Mount Gilead, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had lunch at the buffet. The food was very good. A gentleman played the piano during lunch. The food was Southern style. An amazing place that should not be missed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMHEurope
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have enjoyed their lunch and on occasion Sunday meal offerings, never a disappointment. Buffet style service, delicious stuffed pork chops, looove the baked apples, the mashed potatoes are without fail wonderful every visit. The fried chicken was a hit. Different menu on different days, Friday is few pennies more than the regular low weekday price due to a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As always we love great feed back from our guests. Hope you come back to visit us soon.

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2016

This was our second stay at this lovely, almost 100 year old hotel. The lobby area is really a period piece and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Some of the rooms have been recently renovated and we were told are wonderful but we did not see them. We stayed in a 3rd floor mini suite that although not yet renovated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have plans of updating our third floor after the season slows down. Also have been working on getting together a plan to install Wi-Fi through out the hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Reviewed 7 November 2016

I want to tell you to steer clear of this hotel, because I love the fact that it's not crowded or hurried. I will say that if you are accustomed to the resorts and modern hotels of today you will not be happy here. HOWEVER, if you're like us, and you absolutely adore old world charm and luxury, lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendell T
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay again soon. I will work on getting the Marmalade.

Livermore, Colorado
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Go for the old world charm and beauty. Each room is different and really old. Place is a training ground for hospitality students. I especially like the restaurant, real Southern Style food. They have a large balcony for parting after hours.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M Richard M
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon Park
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sebring
8.9 mi away
Inn On The Lakes
Inn On The Lakes
#1 of 12 in Sebring
477 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sebring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
8.5 mi away
Kenilworth Lodge
Kenilworth Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sebring
254 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sebring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a quiet corner of Florida's Heartland, The Hotel Jacaranda is the picture of Southern repose. Built in the 1920s and listed on the National Historic Register, Avon Park's "gracious lady" boasts high ceilings and quiet hallways. In years gone by, the Jacaranda played hostess to the likes of Babe Ruth and Clark Gable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Jacaranda

Address: 19 E Main St, Avon Park, FL 33825-3942
Region: United States > Florida > Avon Park
Price Range: £45 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
The Hotel Jacaranda Avon Park, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Jacaranda staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bartow, Florida
2 months ago
Ocala, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Jacaranda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“didn't see any good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles siwelsummit, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles CynthiaF621, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Wi-fi is spotty in the rooms; but why the hell do you want wi-fi when you're in the midst of the early twentieth century??”
 of 5 bubbles 995wendellt, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Single rooms are small; the suite we had was quite roomy. The old-style elevator must be operated by a staff person.”
 of 5 bubbles archibaldm2015, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I think wi fi was only available in the lobby at the moment. Try and reserve one of the newer rooms”
 of 5 bubbles janmitchellpps, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5