We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa De La Iguana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Casa De La Iguana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa De La Iguana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2015

After we read the reviews, we decided to stay at this hostel. The hotel was pretty empty, so we planned to have a quite night. The staff we're very friendly. There are no hot water at all. Just before going to bed, we found 2 cockroaches and we are not big fan of them... When we woke up, we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Assaff28
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're glad you appreciated the friendliness of our wonderful staff, however it is unfortunate that you had an encounter with a cockroach. I see you stayed here back in December, so I will mention that there has been a change in ownership and since then, we have taken measures to rid the place of them entirely....

Paris, France
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

Nice place because it's like being in the jungle. But only cold shower (really cold) except for the shower close to the bar, so only one hot shower for all the guests!! Really noisy during the night so if you want to sleep, stay away from this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estelle9123
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Hello Estelle, We're sorry the party was too loud for you. However, just so you know (in case you decide to stay with us again), if you had asked for a pair of our free earplugs, we would have happily given you a pair and done anything and everything else to make sure your stay with us was as comfortable...

Reviewed 27 February 2015

nice spot to stay, but it is a partyhostel with TAP system! Watch out with drinking games and free drinks, you have to pay every drink at the End. Feels more like the owner wants to make money than fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrerrol
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and wouldn't stay again as the dorm beds are so uncomfortable. I could feel springs digging into my back!! On the plus side, the showers were clean and the evening meal was delicious. It has a decent location too. However the WiFi turns off at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Hey, Louise: Ironically, at the time you wrote this review, we had already ordered new mattresses for every bed in the hostel as part of an extensive upgrade of our facilities. If you had arrived next week, you could have curled up in a brand new super-suggley comfy bed with crispy new sheets! Thanks for your review..we really appreciate feedback...

Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

First of all, I visited in May 2013 but my phone won't go back that far. I enjoyed my time there; friendly [volunteer] staff, good food, chilled beer for the very humid area, and comfortable beds. Although, I never tested them out sober... I (being from England and not used to extreme heat) didn't understand the necessity for hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry-Pym D
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sbernstein124
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Vienna Region, Austria
Reviewed 3 February 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrislikesithere
San Diego, California
Reviewed 21 January 2015

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew G
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank t3quil4
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2014 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatthewB1232014

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
92 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
108 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Hotelito Perdido
El Hotelito Perdido
#1 of 17 in Rio Dulce
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa De La Iguana staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa De La Iguana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont choose the hammocks.... Simple”
 of 5 bubbles dylanullyot, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Come expecting to have fun and you'll find it, Spend a couple of days or longer - there's a lot to experience!”
 of 5 bubbles stuarth378, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best owner, best tour, enjoyable nighttime, beautiful location”
 of 5 bubbles smurf229, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are in tree houses! It's great!”
 of 5 bubbles elieshan, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms may be a better bet”
 of 5 bubbles jasonw428, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5