We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Adventureland Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Adventureland Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of Adventureland Inn
 Click to rate
Iowa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Been staying there for many years now. Pretty much the same ol same ol. Good place if have kids who love to swim. No complimentary breakfast. Although new sports bar is nice. Burnt ends were good. Pizza was marginal. Rooms always seem clean . And good daily made service. Priced fairly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Iowan
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the new sports bar and grill. I will pass your comments on to our Food and Beverage Director and will strive to improve our pizzas. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Bri Fors Social Media...

Minden, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have 6 and 4 yr old girls who love to swim. This place was perfect because we could strap their floaters on for the deeper parts and they were able to stand in most of it. Of course we swam with them but never once did I feel like it was too crowded or other kids were making it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the courtyard pool areas and that the temperature was just right for everyone. We look forward to seeing you all again next year for your winter vacation weekend. Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I thought this was an upscale hotel, not so much, refrigerator broken in room, candy on floor, tv had to be repaired. We order pizza from room service and it was nicely burned. They put the pool bar by the kids pool so plenty of drunks walking around. It was like the people of Walmart website with swimming suits. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory and for the issues you encountered while you were here. We strive to make our hotel as family friendly as possible to ensure all guests have the best experience and we seem to have failed with...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This is the 2nd year in a row that we approximately 20 of us have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are very clean, the staff very pleasant and helpful. The kids enjoy the water park. We will definitely have our family get together every January at this hotel. Couldn't have asked for a better place to share and make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nurseowens
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We love having you and your family stay at our hotel and are happy that you all enjoyed the amenities. We look forward to having you back next January. Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

North Liberty, Iowa
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Don't be discouraged by poor reviews -- we almost were, but are very happy to report that we've had a delightful stay at a clean, comfortable hotel that compares favorably to Wisconsin Dells resorts. I'd suggest bringing a small microwave for snacks/light meals as they don't supply them in the standard rooms. The waterpark is full-featured, kept clean and maintained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YogiBeariseverywhere
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This was a stellar choice for my five year-old's birthday party. We had a beautiful and clean poolside room and bought the "Birthday Party" package for $100 on top. The $100 package comes with 3 large pizzas, 3 2-liters, and six additional wristbands (five wristbands come with the room). All of the children had a BLAST. We were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hecasi
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us for your child's birthday party. We are delighted to hear how much everyone enjoyed the hotel, amenities, and pizza! We hope to see you and your family again soon! Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I went to Adventure Land Inn and had a great experience with only one major problem. The hotel was great, but the indoor water park had some problems. It was a great water park in general. All of the slides were super fun and it was a very colorful. I got up to the top of the highest water slide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerV7434FE
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities. We sincerely apologize for the issue with the paint chipping on the slide and our maintenance team will take care of this right away. We hope to see you and your family again in the future....

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

My kids had so much fun and my husband and I enjoyed spending time together too. Clean, friendly comfortable. There is a nice sports bar / restaurant in the hotel. Also a gift/ snack shop. Two pool areas both with hot tubs and swim up bar; all while remaining kid friendly. Plan on spending $$$.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the pools, sports bar/restaurant, and the other amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Bri Fors Social Media Coordinator

Kemp, Texas
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

It was clean. Staff was friendly. Comfortable beds. Large rooms. Small snack bar but was able to get what we wanted late at night. No children with us but appeared family friendly. Pools were large and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the staff, beds/rooms, and the trolley stop. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you, Bri Fors

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the ADVENTURELAND inn hotel for one night while my family was enjoying one of the last weekends of ADVENTURELAND. We got to the hotel at 10am and they had a room available for us to get checked right in at no extra charge. We got to our room which was clean however the large spider on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey A
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We apologize about the spider in your room but are happy to hear that you enjoyed the trolley to Adventureland and the arcade. I will pass this feedback to the corresponding managers to improve on the areas you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
10.6 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
0.4 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 8 in Altoona
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#6 of 8 in Altoona
99 reviews
7.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Region: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range: £85 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventureland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adventureland Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Kansas City, Missouri
over a year ago
over a year ago
Dellroy, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Adventureland Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pool-side rooms are loud, as would be expected”
 of 5 bubbles YogiBeariseverywhere, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles travelerV7434FE, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the pool if you want a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles mattsC6371HM, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would not choose a courtyard room unless you are okay with lots of noise until the pools close at 10:30.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifere642, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The room we got was in a quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles psychbing, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5