We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room had mold. When I complained to the manager they told me to leave. Never staying here again, I will be going to the Hampton across the street that is new. The internet never worked. Then they charged me the night I left because I checked out at 4:00 and not 3:00. Manager and staff is rude.

Helpful?
Thank kennykotwas
FairfieldInnAmesGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review

Hi Kenny, Could you please give me a call regarding this tomorrow (12/2)? I tried to look up your information in my system and wasn't able to locate you. I am very sorry you were treated this way and would like to look further into this issue. Please give me a call at 515-232-4000 and ask for Chelsi. Thank you. More 

Bettendorf, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Problems with check in, mix ups with billing, charged for two rooms that we didn't stay in. Manager wasn't on the property to correct the billing situation when we checked out. I was assured by the front desk staff that she would " take care " of us when she was in the following day. Fast forward 5 months and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
FairfieldInnAmesGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review

Hi Joanna, I once again do apologize for this issue. There was a miscommunication between myself and Marriott Customer Care. You were refunded yesterday so you should see that credit shortly. Again, I apologize for this issue and thank you for staying with. More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Front desk very helpful and friendly. They are always available to help especially Santoshi. I recommend this hotel. Clean rooms. Needs more variety of breakfast. Nice location near by good restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank gcarmonar
Mpls
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The last several stays at this Fairfield have been out of my desire to log Marriott nights (Platinum status). I will be staying across the street at the new Hampton Inn next trip to Ames. This Fairfield has terrible internet - wasn't able to connect with my laptop nor my iPhone. Everything they do is on the cheap. Last stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank discerning07
FairfieldInnAmesGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review

Hello, I am very sorry for your recent disappointing stay in our location. We are looking into our internet issue as we speak and seeing what we can do to better this. I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have also spoken with my breakfast staff about being more present and checking the water regularly.... More 

Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

This is a fairly new hotel; everything is new with a bold color scheme. We reserved our room online. This was uneventful and easy process. At our check-in, the hotel clerk was courteous and welcoming. Everything is clean, fresh, and well decorated, since it's so new. We stayed in a "Senior/Handicap" room on the first floor. The bathroom was to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Onecleantooth
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I traveled to Iowa deciding to stay at the Fairfield Inn in Ames. The room size was bigger than imagined with a separate sitting area to watch tv. The shower was great with awesome water pressure. Breakfast in the morning had a nice variety as the coffee was also very tasteful. I'd definitely stay here the next time I travel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah O
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed because we had a wedding to attend near by. We were greeted by the front desk staff-Santoshi who made us feel welcomed and gave us near by dining options and activity reconmendations when we asked. I called the front desk needing more blankets and towels and Santoshi came to our room within minutes with everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank gogreenh2o
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This hotel is outstanding, this was the only hotel that could accommodate my team. We tried finding rooms for 2 weeks and this was the only place that would work with us and gave us a corporate price. The front desk lady, Santoshi did a fantastic job helping us and accommodating our needs. She was the first one we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank paco b
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2016

the hotel is always clean, room service was right on time every time. staff very pleasant to deal with. santoshi at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. always took as much time as needed to help me with any questions i may have had. her cheerful personality made the stay more enjoyable. i always felt if i had... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My son is a senior at Iowa State University and hotels for events there sell out early. Move-in is no exception. Knowing this, I booked a room for August move-in back in March, at the yet-to-be opened Town Place Suites next to this Fairfield Marriott property. The new hotel was supposed to be open by the beginning of August. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elliesue8

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
322 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Ames
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Address: 2137 Isaac Newton Dr, Ames, IA 50010-8216
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: £96 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ames
Fairfield Inn Ames
Fairfield Ames
Ames Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Iowa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on back (North) side are quieter, away from Hwy. 30.”
 of 5 bubbles discerning07, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Stay for fair price”
 of 5 bubbles 325pacob, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jondough0320, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor away from the pool and lobby. But neither were noisy anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles karlah251, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“request and upper floor room”
 of 5 bubbles jennifermG4427JE, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay