Le Pavillon Oriental
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Le Pavillon Oriental

54, derb Jdid, Riad Zitoun Kadim, Marrakech 40000 Morocco
Traveller (191)
chambre
Room & Suite (29)
Piscina
Pool & Beach (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#155 of 423 B&Bs in Marrakech
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Luxury Riad Le Pavillon Oriental is a great Riad with swimming pool. Le Pavillon Oriental of Marrakech is ideally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech, in a real neighbourhood near Jamaa el Fna.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic

Location

54, derb Jdid, Riad Zitoun Kadim, Marrakech 40000 Morocco
183Reviews3Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 146
  • 25
  • 5
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michelle M wrote a review Jun 2014
scotland7 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just home from a 5 night stay at this lovely Riad where everything was perfect. This family run accommodation is spotlessly clean and the family go out of their way to make you feel like you're at home -there is nothing they won't do for you!
On arrival we were served with peppermint tea and homemade biscuits while being given useful information for our stay. Breakfast was different every morning as they wanted to give us a full experience of Moroccan cuisine and was most enjoyable (especially the fresh orange juice!)
The daughter spoke very good English and every day was there to offer guidance and advice on places to eat, visit and on any local tips.
Would recommend only taking Sterling with you as easily exchanged for local currency when there.
Overall, a fantastic trip and would highly recommend anyone staying there. Hope to return to this Riad again in the future
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Expedition775050 wrote a review Jun 2019
6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Pavillon Oriental for a week. Just got back yesterday and already miss it.

It is a very quiet riad in the Medina (old town) and is close to everything. There is a taxi square nearby (Place des Ferblantiers) and it is less than 10min walk to Jeema el-Fnaa. We were collected at the airport by a taxi which we booked through the riad. If it’s your first time in Marrakech and you are feeling a bit nervous it is worth it.

All the rooms are nicely decorated and very tasteful. Ours was the Chamalia on the 1st floor, with a nice pool view. This riad is very clean and looked after and the courtyard always smells so good (lovely incense! I forgot to ask what type it was!).

There are sitting/relaxing areas on each floor. Two on the ground floor. On on the first floor and there is beautiful rooftop with sun beds, tables and a comfortable shaded sitting area (like a gazebo). You can have your breakfast served anywhere you like.

Just perfect. Enjoy!

Thank you Aziz for all your help and hard work and thanks to the rest of the staff for making our stay so incredibly easy and relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LPO40000, Propriétaire at Le Pavillon Oriental
Responded 22 Jun 2019
Thank you very much for this encouraging feedback !! ;-) All the team and me hope to see soon you a next time PS : the incense is : Woods
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nac52 wrote a review Jul 2012
Madrid, Spain91 contributions142 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't shower enough praise on the Pavillon Oriental. I was a bit dubious upon seeing a riad that only has 5-star ratings, but after staying here for two nights, I can easily see why. The riad is only about one year old and was painstakingly restored by its owners, who gave me a veritable architectural tour upon arrival. You can tell they put their all into making this like a special home. They made me feel like one of the family the whole time I was there, and we spent hours chatting to while away the brutal heat. I was unlucky enough to hit a crushing heat wave with temps of up to 46º, but I did not feel at all sad about missing the sights as I whiled away the hours by the pool, or taking with Hajj, who was patient with my elementary Arabic. (choukrane, Hajj!)... Home-cooked meals, an enormous breakfast, a location that is tucked away in a quiet corner but very easy to find, and close to the main plaza, countless wonderful restaurants and sights... I seriously cannot think of anything negative to say. The room was beautiful, the inner courtyard breathtaking... I could go on and on, but just *insert praise here* :) Enjoy Marrakesh!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: they are all beautiful, though perhaps nice to be upstairs. if you can splurge for the suite, i...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael E wrote a review Nov 2017
York, United Kingdom12 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From a reviewer that has stayed in many Riads in Marrakech - Riad is situated down the bottom of a long alleyway so arriving at night, with suitcases was not ideal and/or particularly safe. Riad was very big and nicely decorated, room was dated and basic. Dead cockroach in downstairs bathroom. Breakfast consisted of old pancakes and bread cakes with coffee and OJ, nothing more, even when asked. I caught the Gentleman, who was only staff member there, drinking my left over OJ on the stairs after he had cleared our table. Swimming pool is not heated and was ice cold even on a 37 degree day. No credit card machine/cash accepted only. Wifi slow and inconsistent, not really available on the roof terrace.

For the price per night there are much better places to stay with a higher standard of service and facilities - Not a great place at all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie A wrote a review Jun 2019
Long Island City, New York162 contributions97 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Here’s what you need to know before booking this hotel. You can’t get to it by cab meaning this is what happened to me - I was dropped off by a cab as close as it could get to this spot, which was a 5 minute walk through a labyrinth where a man came up to me seeing I was not a local to “show me the way” he insisted, I obliged and then he stood in front of the Riad’s door which was located in a dead end alley and demanded more money than I was planning to offer him as a tip. After being lightly robbed - the man who was running the place insisted on pouring us tea and giving us cookies which would have been wonderful if I wasn’t in a state where I just wanted to get into my room - that process ended up taking over 30 minutes to check in to a hotel with 9 rooms and no other guests around. We get to the room and see the lock to the door is a small locker lock and that you’re not provided with a key to enter the hotel - you just have the ring the bell and wait which was a safety concern for me after what happened upon entry. I decided to bite the non-refundable booking charge and check out after the first night and opt for The Savoy which was an actual 5-star hotel and it was the best decision I ever made.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LPO40000, Gérant at Le Pavillon Oriental
Responded 22 Jun 2019
First of all, it's nice to have news from you after telling us that you have to leave after the first night due to a work emergency. I notice here that it’s wasn’t true. I am very surprise by your review because before your coming I clearly explained that the last 400 meters to come until us, cars can't enter in the old medina. It's the case for 90% of the riads in the old city !! DID YOU READ my EMAIL before your arrival?? hereafter an extract "Cars can't enter into the medina (old city). So when you arrive by yourself for the last 400 meters some men can propose you to pick your luggage or show you the way, be aware that they are not working for Le Pavillon Oriental. If you decide to deal with them prepare some cash in MAD with you to pay them : around 2 until 10 euro !! No liability can be opposed to Le Pavillon Oriental in this case." You decided de make the exact opposite of what I advised to you…! So why do you complain about us? What is the link between our Riad and the bad guy that you decided to follow in the street? The review is for us or for him? Next point : We propose a cup of tea with some little Moroccan traditional cakes to all our guests. It’s a moment to share information and to answer to question that any visitor can have. So, we invited you to take a cup of tea but it’s not mandatory! You were free to refuse and say to Aziz that you prefer to rest in your room. We are here just to provide the best welcome possible. By the way it’s the same about the man you meet in the street, I know that some tourist can be sought by local you men for money everywhere in Marrakech, but again no one forced you to follow him or forced you. So it’s not fair to put a review about something that happened outside and above all about things that you decided. Last point : about the keys we don't leave the keys to provide a maximum of security to our guest and avoid to have someone unexpected inside the riad or people like you that can decide to make some come in because they don’t know how to say no. Aziz, El Haj, Lamia or me are always available 24/7 to answer, open the door or help our guests. And inside the riad all is perfectly SAFE. I think that you should not have chosen the old city, because it requires open mind and curiosity about the real traditional morocco and above all to try to appreciate local customs. So a classical 5 stars hotel was better for you since the begging. Nobody is perfect and bad experience can happen. But a next time try to communicate with the team. We would have helped you overcome your UNJUSTIFIED and exaggerated fears. We are here to help you and provide the best to satisfy as far as possible our guests. This will avoid any misunderstanding or disappointment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Halla H wrote a review Feb 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom6 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great experience in the riad, it was a beautiful, clean and very relaxing. The owner and staff were all very accommodating and helpful.
Totally recommend the place, especially if you are looking for an authentic experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rachiffer wrote a review Dec 2019
Belfast, United Kingdom123 contributions88 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mother and I stayed for 3 nights in December and we had a wonderful time. Absolutely no regrets about staying in a riad - definitely the way to go if you want to experience a little of the “real” Morocco and avoid the large touristy resorts.

We had the warmest of welcomes (tea and Moroccan biscuits) along with a tour. The communal areas are beautiful and I imagine they would be a great space to relax in over the warmer months when the temperatures are higher.

The rooms are spotless with a very comfortable bed. Great shower with toiletries provided, along with a hairdryer.

The riad is very secure - access is only granted by using the doorbell and there is always someone there to answer. You also have the option of locking a cupboard in your room and taking the key with you if you have any valuables you don’t want to take out and about.

Breakfast is wonderful - freshly squeezed orange juice, warm breads, eggs and cheese. It varied a little every day and was delicious!

We availed of the transfer offered from the airport - very handy as we would clearly have gotten lost in finding it the first time. Driver was waiting with a sign and we were taken as far as cars could go (a short 2-3 minute walk after this). One very minor annoyance was that the driver knew someone who took our cases at the end and we had to give him money (the equivalent of 1-2 euro). The hotel had warned us about this previously via email so it is absolutely not a fault of theirs - you’ll soon learn it just seems to happen all the time to every tourist. Having said that, it would have been tough finding the hotel on our own so perhaps a blessing in disguise.

Lastly I just want to thank all the staff - they are a real credit to the riad. We were always made to feel welcome and they were always there for us when we needed help. Thank you so much 😊!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
libs122 wrote a review Oct 2019
Kirkland, Washington39 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re going to bother going to Morocco, you have to stay in a riad in the Médina and actually take in the culture. I don’t really get the point otherwise. This riad was gorgeous and tranquil, especially the center courtyard. It was a great value for the money and our room was gigantic. I always felt safe returning to the quiet riad after being in the hectic souks all day. The beds weren’t comfortable but i didn’t expect them to be. I do wish they could have printed our boarding passes as it is a huge hassle with the airline and having to track down an Internet cafe.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yell0w1980 wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with two friends and had a brilliant stay. An oasis of calm 10 min walk from the main square. Always received a personal and friendly welcome each time we returned. The hosts gave us lots of good tips and advice which helped our stay. We ate there one night and the meal was delicious and well-presented. Lovely roof terrace where we had breakfast. Well-decorated and atmospheric rooms. Hope to return one day! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tine M wrote a review Sept 2019
Copenhagen, Denmark125 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister and I stayed at the riad for 4 nights. We requested airport transfer upon arrival, which went wonderfully smooth, and Aziz picked us up by the car and helped with our luggage - such a star throughout our entire stay! Besides the true beauty of the riad (which has so many cute little spots), what really made it a great experience for us was the wonderful hospitality and helpfulness of everyone at the riad. Even though our French is not very good, we had great laughs and Aziz was sweet to translate to English and give advice for our days in the city. It was such a warm atmosphere, which we prefer instead of impersonal and touristy hotels. The riad is close to a number of great restaurants and in walking distance of all the sights we wanted to see, which was an additional plus. We didn’t get to say a proper goodbye, but we want to thank you for making our first trip to Marrakech unforgetable - trés bien! We hope to return soon ☀️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William P asked a question Nov 2017
London, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Is this place gay friendly?
Answer from LPO40000
Marrakech, Morocco
Hi William, We accept everybody, from everywhere, all cultures and all choice of life. Families and children also. Meeting people is rewarding and it is always in the respect of everyone You are welcome in Le Pavillon Oriental ;-)
DavidS1961 asked a question Nov 2014
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
is there a airport pick up service?
Answer from LPO40000
Marrakech, Morocco
Good evening, We want to thank you again for your interest in Le Pavillon Oriental of Marrakech. We have received your request for information. Airport transfers can be done by Le Pavillon Oriental on request. Rate : 14 euros per way (rate doubled from 22h to 07h ). We are at your disposal for any further information. Feel free to send us your requests or special needs as part of your stay. See you soon, Le Pavillon Oriental
Mbc asked a question Aug 2019
Stuttgart, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hello Can you arrange an airport transfer on Tuesday for us? What is the best way to get in contact with you? Mike
Answer from LPO40000
Marrakech, Morocco
Hello Mick, We want to thank you for your interest in Le Pavillon Oriental of Marrakech. We have received your request for information. Le Pavillon Oriental features nine bedrooms: 3 suites and 6 rooms. We also have a massage room, swimming-pool not heated as well as a terrace with views of all Marrakech. Free wifi Airport transfers can be done by Le Pavillon Oriental on request ( 20 euros per way - rate doubled from 22h to 07h ), for this we just need your flight number, scheduled arrival time, company name and city of departure. We are at your disposal for any further information. Contact me on Le Pavillon Oriental website : contact. I read directly the emails (not possible to put the adress email here). Feel free to send us your requests or special needs as part of your stay. Kind regards, El Haj Le Pavillon Oriental
zsanette wrote a tip Jul 2019
Budapest, Hungary34 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room was authentic, we loved it. Our window looked over to the street so at night we heard some shouting but it wasn't that bad."
Read full review
Charlotte S wrote a tip Nov 2017
2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bougainvillea Room"
Read full review
Crs C wrote a tip Mar 2017
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms on first floor are quieter and more private than rooms on ground floor."
Read full review
Giulia wrote a tip Jul 2016
Como, Italy10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"best position and lovely owner"
Read full review
Peter D wrote a tip Oct 2015
Meilen, Switzerland21 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The 2nd floor rooms have more privacy then the ground floor rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marrakech area.
LOCATION
MoroccoMarrakech-SafiMarrakech
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE PAVILLON ORIENTAL - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Pavillon Oriental
Which popular attractions are close to Le Pavillon Oriental?
Nearby attractions include Bahia Palace (0.07 miles), Marrakech WITH Locals (0.08 miles), and Tissir Jewellery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Pavillon Oriental?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Le Pavillon Oriental?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Le Pavillon Oriental?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mozaik' Art, Coffee and Brunch, Fluffy Restaurant Café, and Medina Burger.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Pavillon Oriental?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Le Pavillon Oriental have airport transportation?
Yes, Le Pavillon Oriental offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Pavillon Oriental?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Pavillon Oriental?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bahia Palace (0.07 miles), Medina of Marrakesh (0.9 miles), and Ben Youssef Madrasa (0.8 miles).
All Marrakech HotelsMarrakech Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MarrakechHotels near Le Pavillon Oriental
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire