Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Art Place Hotel & Ryad

Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000 Morocco
Traveller (954)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (70)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£192
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£288
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#71 of 710 hotels in Marrakech
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Art Place Hotel & Ryad is an exceptional place where beauty, serenity and authenticity take you into the magic of an ancient history. Each place is a surprise between the harmony of arab architecture and tradition of our ancestors.The rooms and suites, are beautifully decorated and feature all the necessary amenities for guest comfort as, Minibar,safe,air conditioning,flat screen TV and free wifi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
Doorperson
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic
656Reviews30Q+A67Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 534
  • 92
  • 16
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michael P wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
My girlfriend and I was looking for a high quality, reasonably price hotel in the heart of Marrakech and this place ticks all the boxes! The hotel staff are fantastic and very accommodating. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant on the terrace looking down at the busy square and it was like something from an Oscar winning film. The lights, the food, the waiters, absolutely amazing.

We had a ground floor room which at first we was sceptical as the entrance to the room was coming off the main courtyard however any concerns were quickly removed at how good the room was. Big bed, comfy with rose petals all over the sheets. The shower room has the Moroccan feel with even decorations on the metal work of the taps and toilet roll holder.

Note that there was no windows in this room, it was explained that a Ryad is only a Ryad if it meets certain requirements such as the size, that there is trees in the middle and flowing water and that there are no windows to the outside to keep the temperature of the room cool. I didn’t care, I was very relaxed.

One evening, I decided to sit at the top of the terrace where there is a small pool and fitness studio (a place I never visited as the idea of exercise on holiday is a no no, but the fact that they offered this facility is great) and sat in the night sky, with my Moroccan tea with not a care in the world enjoying the moment.

Overall I would highly recommend this place to anyone and if I come back to Marrakech I know exactly where to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from artplace, Responsable relations clients at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 11 May 2020
Dear Guest, Hope you are doing well and Safe. Thank you for the time taken to share your Wonderful experience with fellow travelers. We greatly appreciate your positive words and recognition for the experience you had in Art Place Hotel & Ryad. The team and myself look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards from the sunny Marrakesh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jocelyn C wrote a review Jan 2020
Bangkok, Thailand5 contributions10 helpful votes
This hotel/riad is a real gem. You would never have guessed that behind those golden doors lie a big compound with beautiful rooms, rooftop pool, gym, and a nice view of the Jemaa El Fna square. Perfect location just steps away from the square, but with good security that makes you feel very safe. The rooms are big and spacious and luxurious, perfect for bringing back your Médina shopping. The best breakfast spread with egg station, loads of home made bakery, fruits, juices. A good break from the typical Riad breakfasts.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from artplace, Responsable relations clients at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 14 May 2020
Dear Guest, Hope you are doing well and Safe, We would like to thank you for living such fabulous comment in our tripadvisor's page. This will give us such a great and big energy to continue on our way and reaching the Top of luxury brand in term of accommodation, service, etc. We really liked this detailed description you had gave for our hotel,which means that you had been really satisfied by this experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shannon E wrote a review Jan 2020
Cambridge, Canada9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
What a fantastic stay! You’re literally steps away from all of the action in the Médina, yet once you step through that massive (and security staffed) brass entrance door, you step into an oasis of beautifully appointed calm and quiet! The food and the service were just excellent, and the very pleasant and professional staff was always available, ready and able to assist us with absolutely anything we needed (luggage, packaging, private taxis.)They had answers to all of our questions, and their recommendations were all really great. Loved it and it really was perfect. 10/10 would stay here again!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from artplace, Responsable relations clients at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 14 May 2020
Dear Guest, Hope you are doing well and Safe. Thank you for the time taken to share your Wonderful experience with fellow travelers. We greatly appreciate your positive words and recognition for the experience you had in Art Place Hotel & Ryad. The team and myself look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heidi C wrote a review Mar 2020
Dallas, Texas224 contributions89 helpful votes
Wow! We had a wonderful four day stay at the Hotel & Ryad Art Place this past December. It was our first time to Morocco and we thoroughly enjoyed the incredibly warm welcome at the hotel. From the very moment you step inside you are treated like treasured guests, even family. The staff is the best! They can help you with anything you need like booking an hammam, getting driven to or from the airport, getting you a meaningful, fun and safe tour or recommending restaurants. Listen to them, as they know what they're doing. Also, the rooms are so lovely, just as in the pictures. We felt so spoiled. It is all very quiet and peaceful inside, right outside of a very busy, exciting area. We loved being near that market and restaurants, but having the luxury to go inside and have peace and quiet. Lastly, the breakfast is just wonderful and delicious with the same fabulous, attentive service as everything else. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from artplace, Responsable relations clients at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 11 May 2020
Dear Guest, Hope you are doing well and Safe. Thank you for the time taken to share your Wonderful experience with fellow travelers. We really liked this detailed description you had gave for our hotel,which means that you had been really satisfied by this experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brent G wrote a review Sept 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona36 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
What a great place! This was probably the most beautiful hotel on our trip to morocco!
Let’s go over the bad part first: parking sucked. We got there after 1 PM and the entire Square was closed off to cars. We couldn’t find the hotel at all because it’s in the middle of the square! We drove around and around, which was totally fun because we were going down streets that are only one car with wide! Even though that was fun, after about 45 minutes, it grew very tiresome and we just wanted to find the hotel! Finally, we called the hotel and the bellman came all the way out to the road to show us where to park - at a parking lot, and then he took all of our luggage across the Square to the hotel. Once we were inside, the very nice gentleman at the front desk told us we could’ve asked the policeman to just let us in because we were staying at the hotel. If the policeman was not in a bad mood, he would let us in easily. We found that to be the case every single time. Problem solved!
The property:
The room was amazing! We decided to build a home and design it after this hotel, all the way down to the room with the amazing ceiling and wall designs! I can’t say enough great things about our room! The location is amazing. It’s literally on the Square. Snake charmer‘s and little kids trying to beg for money. Everything was there! I definitely recommend eating food in the Square for dinner. Just remember that most of the places sell the same exact stuff, so just pick a table and sit down. Once you are seated, they stop harassing you and start serving you. Oh Em Gee, the food is amazing and serve way more than you can ever eat! Don’t order too much! The morning breakfast at the hotel was fantastic. The two waiters are very attentive and bring you everything! The rooftop pool and seating area were a little bit dusty, but they’re next to the square and all of the other dirty stuff around the Square, so it’s to be expected. Overall, this place was awesome and I can’t wait to stay there again and again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Park before 1 PM or ask the nice policeman to let you through the barricade. Parking is not...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Art Marrakech, Directeur général at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 15 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for living such fabulous comment in our page. This will give us such a great and big energy to continue on our way and reaching the Top of luxury brand in term of accommodation, service, etc. We really liked this detailed description you had gave for our hotel,which means that you had been really satisfied by this experience, we would like if we have received your call few moments before arriving to the square so as to make it more easier for you to access to the hotel, eventhough we do our best to inform our guests in advance about the square closure which is out of our control, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future now that you know the hotel location, All the best,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily B wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
Visited in July 2021 with a friend, our first stop in Morocco and we couldn’t have been more pleased. The staff were absolutely stand out, the most friendly and welcoming people in all of Marrakech. The property itself is gorgeous, beautiful courtyard, rooftop, and terrace overlooking Jeema El-Fna. We also highly recommend the hotel restaurant, the perfect delicious meal for our first night on Morocco.

The location is situated right in the center of the Médina and walking distance to all the historical sites and best Marrakech has to offer. The front desk can arrange a tour if you’d like and also gave us helpful tops on how to avoid scams or being ripped off.

10/10 highly recommend for your staff in Marrakech.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Art Marrakech, Directeur général at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 15 Jul 2021
Dear Emily, We would like to thank you for living such fabulous comment in our tripadvisor's page. This will give us such a great and big energy to continue on our way and reaching the Top of luxury brand in term of accommodation, service, etc. We really liked this detailed description you had gave for our hotel,which means that you had been really satisfied by the overall level of services presented by the Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George Korchinsky wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
Our 6 day stay was 100%. The breakfasts were amazing - too much and needed discipline - the location could not have been better - right at the Jemaa el Fna and the staff were extremely helpful from the Manager to the front desk personnel to the breakfast/dinner personnel. Even the arranged taxi drivers were flexible and knowledgeable. The only minor drawback was that there was no lift in the hotel. I say minor in spite of having had a recent knee operation. We had a room on the ground floor which meant two trips upstairs daily for breakfast and evening drinks. No problem. We did have one dinner in the Ryad and it was better than the 4 other pricier restaurants we booked during out stay. Next time we will stay for dinner more often. You must book this place. Convenience, service and quality in one great package.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose and ground floor room. Best location in Marrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Art Marrakech, Directeur général at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 18 Aug 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at the Art Place hotel&Ryad Marrakech. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed it and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andie1881 wrote a review Nov 2023
Montreal19 contributions9 helpful votes
This is not really a 5 star hotel but more like a 3 star hotel. My rating is based on the fact that over 15 days this was our most expensive and most disappointing Riad. Excluding breakfast and extra charges like water from the mini fridge it cost us 500$ cad per day for a suite. It was impossible to get a fresh pressed juice at breakfast or the bar only powdered juice. The bread at dinner was old stale bread. The service was ok but not at all as good as other places we went. For booking Marrakesh by air they charged us an extra 200$ just to do the booking. The suite was far less impressive than the pictures and lacked attention to details. The pool was freezing. They do not serve alcohol nor any decent non-alcoholic beverage. Disappointing place. I would suggest looking elsewhere as there are so many better options in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are many better options around at a lower price point
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fernando F wrote a review Sept 2022
Lisbon257 contributions79 helpful votes
I stayed at the Hotel in september 2022, and it was, overall, a wonderful experience. First, the location, right at the Jemma el-fnaa square, the main ans most central attraction of Marrakech. In spite of that, the hotel is very calm and silent, since all its bedrooms give to the pateo, avoiding the noise from the square. How wonderful is the contrast. The bedrrom was clean, fresh, perfect wifi and air-conditioning, the breakfast was varied, full and most satisfying. The staff not only spoke several languages, they were kind, supportive, provided all needed information and made my stay a trugly unforgettable one. The manager, the other receptionists, the breakfast staff, all were absolutely wonderful.
Moreover, there are tours on spot, and the trip to Agafay, the camel ride and dinner were truly touching. The service to the desert was rendered by a wonderful guide and driver, Redouane, who made the trip truly worthwhile: he was learned, cultivated, provided for all the information I needed, and a wonderful ride, full of good humour, intelligent talk and elegance and kindness throughout the whole time. I thank you and miss you all, and I will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Art Marrakech, Directeur général at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for living such fabulous comment in our page. This will give us such a great and big energy to continue on our way and reaching the Top of luxury brand in term of accommodation, service, etc. We really liked this detailed description you had gave for our hotel,which means that you had been really satisfied by this experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. All the best, Guest Relation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zachary Sapienza wrote a review Feb 2022
Carbondale, Illinois5 contributions
Hands down the place to stay in Marrakech. First, you won't find a better location for exploring the souks. It's front door is literally in Jemaa el Fna Square.

Second, our service was impeccable. Each and every staff member was attentive, polite, and eager to help. Moroccans place a high value on hospitality, but the staff at Art Place Hotel & Ryad take it to another level. When we missed breakfast our first morning after arriving late the night before, the restaurant staff offered to make us a free breakfast.

Third, both the hotel and original ryad are stunning. The attention to detail in every nook and cranny made for a visual feast for the eyes.

Finally, the rooms are immaculate and the beds are comfy. Breakfast each morning was delicious. All in all, the perfect place to stay while visiting Marrakech. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Art Marrakech, Directeur général at Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to share your Wonderful experience with fellow travelers. We greatly appreciate your positive words and recognition for the experience you had in Art Place Hotel & Ryad. The team and myself look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from jim m
Holymoorside, United Kingdom1,203 contribution412 helpful votes
No it doesn’t serve but they will let you drink your own in sime areas if not too much and you ask. We shared wine.
Show all answers
Answer from CC
sunderland, England412 contributions37 helpful votes
does the hotel serve alcohol? or can i bring my own inside?
Brendan R asked a question Aug 2019
Dublin, Ireland7 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi does anybody know do the hotel organise airport transfers thank you
Answer from Jan L
Reading 15 contributions10 helpful votes
Yes they do and it was an excellent service. The hotel is in a pedestrian area but the hotel drivers have access and deliver you to the door. It was 25 Euros each way for us. Great hotel!
Show all answers
Answer from Mads Kidd
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom43 contributions7 helpful votes
We did the same and they emailed back straight away organising it for us. Can't remember who we spoke to but got the email from the website. Otherwise taxis will know it as very central
Show all answers
Answer from ottoluluelvis
Hastings, United Kingdom7 contributions10 helpful votes
Sadly not ! There is a restaurant and bar near by that they recommended and that sorted that one out!
Show all answers
colin h wrote a tip 17 Feb
Ely, United Kingdom68 contributions52 helpful votes
"Book airport transfer with the hotel - access to the square requires a permit which hotel cars have."
Read full review
Brian L wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
"January is the time to visit."
Read full review
Hawaiian Canuck wrote a tip Jan 2024
Vancouver, Canada1,369 contribution358 helpful votes
"You can drive to the front of the Ryad in the morning before the square opens…easier when you arrive or leave (for luggage)."
Read full review
Walkman007 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Brooklyn, New York31 contributions8 helpful votes
"Youre in the center of the old city but its quiet inside."
Read full review
Andie1881 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Montreal19 contributions9 helpful votes
"There are many better options around at a lower price point"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marrakech area.
PRICE RANGE
£142 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MoroccoMarrakech-SafiMarrakech
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ART PLACE HOTEL & RYAD - Updated 2024 (Marrakech, Morocco)

Frequently Asked Questions about Art Place Hotel & Ryad
Which popular attractions are close to Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Nearby attractions include Marrakech Tour Guide (0.1 miles), Herbalism Marrakech (0.2 miles), and Good Travelling in Morocco (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pepe Nero, Casa Lalla Restaurant, and Dar Chef.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Art Place Hotel & Ryad have airport transportation?
Yes, Art Place Hotel & Ryad offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Art Place Hotel & Ryad located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Marrakech.
Are any cleaning services offered at Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Art Place Hotel & Ryad?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bahia Palace (0.4 miles), Medina of Marrakesh (0.6 miles), and Medina of Essaouira (0.5 miles).