We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
No.6, Rue Mohammed Berghach Oued Arhadan, Dar Baroud, Tanger, Tangier 90000 Morocco
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
eDreams
Booking.com
Snaptravel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (401)
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (34)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 66 in Tangier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dar Jameel, the House of Grace and Beauty, your sanctuary in the medina of Tangier, is a beautifully restored, traditional riad style guest house on the edge of the medina next to Tanger Ville maritime port.. An oasis of peace and tranquillity, Dar Jameel is a secure, intimate and calm space amid the bustling life of the medina and is ideally located near the International Port, the town beach and the new town. Wi-fi is available throughout the house. The house is built on five levels with eight large bedrooms, six with with bathrooms inside the rooms and two with external private bathrooms near the rooms. By January 2017, all rooms will be en-suite. The house is richly decorated in traditional Fes style,with magnificent stucco ceilings combined with a more modern Moroccan look. There is a large terrace, where a relaxation room with 360 degree views to Spain, the Bay of Tangier and the medina, is located. There are a number of steps inside the house, therefore, travellers with mobility issues are advised to reserve rooms on lower floors. There are many communal areas to rest, read or simply enjoy the view located throughout the house. There is a small library and a collection of music CD's or a bluetooth soundsystem to play your personal preferences. A generous breakfast is included in the price of rooms. Local, organic food is used whenever possible.Multi-lingual staff are available 24/7 to answer your needs. Dinner for groups of six or more can be provided when ordered in advance. A personal laundry service is also available at a small charge per item. Dar Jameel recommends that you use only trusted registered guides and taxi services. A list of these and other tourist information is available from the reception area.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Taxi service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic
483Reviews14Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 123
  • 18
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
KMissyHMHP wrote a review Mar 2020
Southborough, Massachusetts79 contributions47 helpful votes
We were arriving on the bullet train from Casablanca so I emailed Dar Jameel and Tal responded that he would arrange for a taxi to pick us up at the train station. I cannot emphasize how good it felt to be met at the train station by a smiling face and taken straight to the front door of the riad - which is in a quiet part of the old medina and might be difficult to find on your own if you are new to Tangier like we were. (After a day in Tangier we could find Dar Jameel easily because it is right near the Hotel Continental.) The last thing I wanted to do after being on a plane all night and then navigating the train stations was to haggle with a taxi driver in a language I do not speak. We even caught an earlier train and Tal was still able to have a taxi meet us - the response time to my emails was excellent. Everyone we encountered at Dar Jameel was friendly and eager to help - from housekeeping to the folks who served breakfast to the front desk. There are admittedly a lot of stairs but there was always someone there to help us with our luggage. The guys at the front desk were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and assisting us with taking the ferry to Tarifa. Breakfast was substantial (best mint tea of our trip) and varied. There are two lovely terraces to lounge on - one outside and one inside and covered. There are a/c units in the room which helped dry out the air as it was 99% humidity when we were there. All in all a delightful stay and thank you to everyone who works at Dar Jameel that made our trip so memorable. I would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jilliana RB wrote a review Jan 2020
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom4269 contributions410 helpful votes
+1
I took the Bergache room (see my photos) on the ground floor and the staff brought my breakfast tray to my room on the ground floor as I could not climb up 3 flights to the terrace! Excellent abundant breakfast with homemade jams. Comfortable bed. Delightful manager Abed was kind and helpful, as was Zack. English owned. My room was rather dark due to a broken bulb? Chilly in winter but there was an efficient heater and constant hot water. Excellent shower. Stayed 1 week. Highly recommended. Hard to find! Abed helped me with my luggage.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Dear Jillian, thank you for your kind comments about Dar Jameel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your week with us and felt well looked after by Abed and Zakaria. Please accept our apologies about the broken bulb. We often orient people arriving for the first time to first find the Hotel Continental overlooking Tanger Ville port. We are a few meters away from the hotel entrance. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Tangier.
Read more
SnowyShasta wrote a review Oct 2019
Portland, Oregon1571 contributions599 helpful votes
We loved the beauty of Dar Jameel. It's located through a door in a small alley in the midst of the medina. Once inside, you are surrounded by beautiful tilework and lovely rooms. We stayed for one night in August, and although the weather was warm, the small A/C unit in the room kept us comfortable. Note that it did drip some water, so we were happy we hadn't put any clothing right underneath it. Breakfast was served a little later than most places we've stayed, about 8:30 AM; since we had an early tour scheduled, we only had time to quickly grab something. Just be aware of the timing so you can plan your day accordingly. The location in the midst of the medina was nice, letting us take some time to explore the nearby streets,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Patrick M wrote a review Oct 2019
Wokingham, Berkshire392 contributions148 helpful votes
Tiny rooms with no outside windows creating a really stuffy atmosphere. To get any air one can open a window onto the lobby area of the Riad but then noise can be an issue and I would not have felt safe leaving window open all night. No air con although a fan provided. On the plus side rooms on the second/third floor are brilliant so as with everything in life you get what you pay for. Breakfast served on the top floor was decent enough and the very best thing about the Riad was Abed on reception. Communicated with him prior to arrival about getting there from the bus station and he sent a taxi to meet us. Also offered us a room move for our last night as they had availability. Top top man!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Duncan S wrote a review Sept 2019
1 contribution
Very friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful interior, comfortable rooms and great views from the terrace. I don't think anyone could ask for more at this great price. We booked a tour guide through them. He was a great guide, I would highly recommend him to anyone he was a friendly honest guy with a wealth of knowledge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Will King wrote a review Sept 2019
Baton Rouge, Louisiana19 contributions11 helpful votes
I would 10/10 highly recommend Dar Jameel to anyone traveling to Tangier. The hotel was lovely, only 8 or so rooms, so you get to know the property intimately. When I arrived, the hotel had arranged a taxi to pick me up from the hotel and transported me to the hotel. The entrance is in the heart of the Medina (old, walled part of the city) and it located in a tunneled archway. When I was there, there was sewer/construction work outside, so I didn't get to adequately appreciate the entrance, but those anxieties were calmed when I opened the door (after knocking and being let in by the front desk). The atrium is stunning, with an interior courtyard opening up to the outside. The tile work on the interior was marvelous, and the staff were friendly. Everyone spoke impeccable English and were very hospitable. Since I was going to depart the next morning before breakfast service, the front desk offered me breakfast when I arrived, and it was phenomenal. Fresh squeezed orange juice, mint tea (must have), and an assortment of breads and cheeses with toppings (go for flat bread toast with goat cheese and honey). When I checked into my room after my all day tour, I was flabbergasted at how beautiful it was. I would most definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the beautiful city of Tangier.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel
Responded 24 Sept 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that you had rewarding experience in Dar Jameel and enjoyed both the beautiful house (=Dar Jameel in Arabic) and our hospitality. We all enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you another time should you pass through Tangier again. Happy travels!
Read more
pig325 wrote a review Sept 2019
Hong Kong, China4 contributions1 helpful vote
Actually We’ve booked 2 nights here, after first night we decided to change another hotel on the next day. First, after we checked-in, our room was on 3rd floor, and no lift in the Dar, we have 3 big heavy luggage but no staffs help us at all and we need to carry our own luggage all the way up the stairs to 3rd floor ourselves. The dar decoration is nice and also have a good rooftop with nice view but inside the building was very dark, especially our room. Even turned on all the lights is still very dark, the washroom is even more worst. When I woke up in the morning I saw water puddle on the floor, lucky that all our luggage wasn’t at that area. My family and I was totally disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel
Responded 20 Sept 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your review below. I am very sorry that you and your family had such an unfortunate experience. This is extremely rare for guests who visit Dar Jameel. Please see our more than 440 excellent and good reviews. According to our staff, when you arrived your taxi driver did not drop you at the parking place just outside the hotel. Apparently, he left you a few hundred meters away from the hotel. You then phoned the hotel and asked if you could be met at the place you had been dropped. Normally this would not have presented any problem and we would have been able to send somebody to meet you immediately. Unfortunately other guests were being checked in at the same time as you. When you arrived at the hotel trailing your extremely large and heavy luggage behind you understandably you were not in the best of moods and impatient to find other guests still being checked in. However the staff assure me that on arrival you were offered mint teas,as we offer all guests, and asked to wait for a few minutes and then you were indeed helped up the stairs with your luggage as all guests always are.. As for the unfortunate incident with your room and entry of water, we must apologize profusely, but confirm that this was entirely beyond our control. All the buildings in the medina are connected to others and an amount of water had indeed come in from outside. This situation was remedied upon your departure.Our staff were surprised that you didn’t inform them about this problem whatsoever as we could have relocated you to other rooms. They were also surprised that after booking a tour by taxi for the day after your arrival you chose to leave on the spur of the moment without mentioning a reason. We certainly could have relocated you to other rooms and/or re-imbursed some of the cost of your room. Once again, our deepest apologies for your unfortunate experience.
Read more
younes wrote a review Sept 2019
Fes, Morocco5 contributions
+1
once you’re inside the house , you will be amazed by how things organized and how people are kind here . i loved there services and rooms and everything thing here . specially the roof . just incredible place i advise everyone to come here
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel
Responded 6 Sept 2019
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Dar Jameel and our staff. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you again.
Read more
Nelson S wrote a review Aug 2019
4 contributions
We were so surprised by this hotel and the quality of the rooms for being in the middle of the medina. We were a family of 5 and were given a room with 2 queen beds and a small sofa that met all our needs. The staff were top notch speaking excellent english explaining the main areas to explore in the city within walking distance and some excellent advice regarding places to eat and shop. the Mint tea served by the staff on the rooftop when we arrived was a great introduction to Morocco culture and the whole family from 7 yrs old to mom and dad enjoyed it. We only spent 24 hours there. one night then back to Spain but it was worth the experience to be on the african continent and see a very different culture from Spain / Portugal .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel
Responded 23 Aug 2019
Dear guests, thank you for your kind comments about Dar Jameel and the staff. We hope to be able to host your lovely family should you come to Tangier again.
Read more
Efrat F wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
We stayed at a window-less room... without air conditioning, very basic. Feels stuffy. Location ok. Check in ok and staff was nice at welcome. Nice view from the rooftop. Ok value for money but nothing more...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from chidambar, Owner at Dar Jameel
Responded 1 Aug 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your review. There are windows in every room; as Dar Jameel is a riad some of the cheaper rooms have windows that face the interior courtyard. We provide air-conditioning and/or fans and coolers for each room. I am glad you found value for money.
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
dar jameel hotel tangier
LOCATION
MoroccoTanger-Tetouan-Al HoceïmaTangier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dar Jameel
Which popular attractions are close to Dar Jameel?
Nearby attractions include Tangier American Legation Museum (0.3 miles), Petit Socco (0.1 miles), and Cinema Rif (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dar Jameel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Dar Jameel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Dar Jameel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Ahlen, Restaurant Rif Kebdani, and Dar Al Maghrebia.
Does Dar Jameel have airport transportation?
Yes, Dar Jameel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Dar Jameel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Tangier.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dar Jameel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Dar Jameel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tangier Casbah (2.8 miles), Petit Socco (0.1 miles), and Place du Grand 9 Avril 1947 (0.3 miles).
Does Dar Jameel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.