We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dar Sultan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dar Sultan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked up to the Dar Sultan from the port with a guide carrying our bag (5 euros). We were welcomed with mint tea and shown our room, which was on the roof. The owners were a little worried because in the recent rain there had been a leak and we were offered a different room. However, the leak had... More 

Helpful?
Thank kayakschool
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thought the rooms were a little cluttered, easy to bump into things but we also appreciate that they were trying to set a "theme". When we asked for directions, the hotel owner walked us to the main roads but during this time we were unaware that he was also arranging a persona guide for us. Originally we were taken... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SamandKaren-Travels
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016

When looking for a place to stay I need a convenient location (so time is spent experiencing not getting to the experience), cleanliness, outdoor access, en-suite bathroom, and most importantly, a comfortable bed. Dar Sultan has it all with the service staff and proprietors being the big bonus! The location is within the Kasbah and at the top so that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth W
Level Contributor
394 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

What you'll find in this small hotel in Tangier you can not find in any luxury hotel in the world! Situated in the highest point of the kasbah, in a very intimate building, Dar Sultan is an excellent place to stay in the city. It has not big rooms, but they are very well furnished; bathrooms are small, obtained as... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcopretelli
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We took the top floor room with the private terrace which was fantastic - the room is small but the fact that you can keep your doors open onto the terrace and have the amazing views was so worth it, we slept with our doors open all night, it was truly lovely....the other rooms which we saw are very very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I took an entire day to get from Rota, Spain to Tangiers by bus, cab and ferry. After carrying backpacks in the blazing sun, we decided to take a taxi from the Tangiers ferry to the Dars Sultan. There was no real sign for the hotel until you get to the alley where the entrance is sequestered.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Majorabina
Darsultan, Propriétaire at Dar Sultan, responded to this review

Dar Sultan was closed for 48 hours for the Eid holiday, but as the result of an error on the schedule by Booking.com, some rooms remained open for sale. As soon as we knew that a reservation was made, we immediately reported it to Booking to cancel it, but probably too late to warn you. We also written in this... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Yes the location is apt and it's an experience to stay in this 2nd oldest b&b (riad) in the kasbah. Yes the Terrace view is scenic and the riad is full of antique collections. But beware of few things. The lady staff is extremely rude and doesn't help no matter how many times we tried to call her as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 222shrutil
Darsultan, Propriétaire at Dar Sultan, responded to this review

The day before your arrival, you did call by your guide to cancel one night of your stay. Seeing that there are penalties to pay, you came anyway but your guide hung up on my wife's nose. Your stay went without safely until you leave where you did no particular comment. Everything seemed to satisfy you. However, more than 3... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed in Dar Sultan on our last night in Morocco and thankfully, it turned out to be by far the best lodge we've stayed during our entire trip. The Dar is conveniently located at a short walking distance from the city center. The rooms, often with a nice view on the quiet back alley, are beautifully decorated with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ys_Sol
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

If your fascination takes you to this charming country, be sure to try this charming little B&B as an alternative to a hotel whilst in Tanger. Specifically ask for the room at the top with it's own private terrace overlooking the Kasbah and out to sea. Sleep with the doors open and savor the Moroccan night air, there's nothing quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Service is good (but slow) and staff is friendly. Yet, the place itself is like a hell if you don't fell comfortable in small places. Decoration is so overwhelming that you cannot even breathe... You can find decorative pieces from all over the world, from Chinese lucky cats to African masks. They should get rid of all the decorative pieces... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gamze G

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
4.9 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
3.0 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 42 in Tangier
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#9 of 42 in Tangier
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 48 in Tangier
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Dar Sultan

Address: 49 rue Touila, Tangier, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Price Range: £82 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dar Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dar Sultan staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dar Sultan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The blue room at the top of the house has the best view. Lots of steps though!”
 of 5 bubbles kayakschool, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Charf room is small but a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles SamandKaren-Travels, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top Terrace does not have noise from the rest of the hotel but there might be other outside environmental noises.”
 of 5 bubbles BethW417, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Grand Socco is perfect for 2 people”
 of 5 bubbles Ys_Sol, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator; the taxi will only take you to the Kasbah gates but it is a very short walk to Dar Sultan's front door”
 of 5 bubbles 54kimg, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay