Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino

Vue extérieur
Traveller (188)
Cafétière (avec capsules de café) t boulloire électrique dans la chambre.
Room & Suite (54)
Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#5 of 22 hotels in Gaborone
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Hotel links
Special Offer:June Limited-Time Sale

Location

Chuma Drive, Gaborone Botswana
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Sir Seretse Khama Intl Airport
652Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 205
  • 245
  • 129
  • 48
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
langtonr wrote a review Sept 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe
+1
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I quite enjoyed my stay at this beautiful place. I loved that the room was cosy and the hotel staff were very helpful. I had an issue with the fridge in the room and it was quickly rectified. The breakfast options were more than decent and delectable. The establishment is very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cdavid158 wrote a review Feb 2020
Trinidad and Tobago
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What is promised, i.e. the gym should be delivered. It is part of my routine and for seven days I was not able to follow my routine. The other issues related to my visit was extremely well delivered. However there are somethings to which guess pays attention. While in the dinning area I requested a waffle. I was told you have to wait because a lot of people have asked for the same thing. Now the best approach is to take the order and say how long it will take. I took a substitute item. The waffle was delivered one hour later. I was in the dinning room at the time because I was having a meeting. normally I will be out in less than one hour. Additionally the spatula being used fell on the ground and the person picked it up and continued to use the item. I mentioned to the employee that she needed to wash the item she continued to use the utensil. There should be some refresher training on basic hygiene in all food areas.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChantelleH875, Manager at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Cdavid158 Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino Your points that you noted regarding certain items that would have made your stay more pleasant and comfortable have been noted, and some have already been identified as part of our on going training programme. Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours Truthfully Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoJosExperiences wrote a review Sept 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The ambiance of the hotel and the rooms were clean and pleasant. The Pantry by the reception is very inviting, with the smell of coffee and baked goods. It is a pleasure to step into the hotel and to enjoy the aesthetic. The central location means other sights around town are easily accessible. It is along a main road, and easy to find. The room was clean and all the basics were provided. The room aesthetic is in keeping with the hotel's whole décor. The room felt airy and bright. The indoor seating/conservatory provides a well lit environment to either have a cup of coffee, or to have casual meetings.
The outdoor pool bar is a pleasant mix of seating options, from high tables through to poolside couch niches, with outdoor TVs to watch sports. The environment is enjoyable with the trees and birds chirping. However, the pool bar menu was limited with many cocktails not being available because they didn't have the ingredients. The pool bar staff were a little slow to follow up to take orders and even slower to bring the change. The buffet was closed at dinner (consequence of COVID on hotels generally), which was a shame, because their buffets used to be good. Food menu options were a little limited, but pool bar choices are rarely the widest spread. I'm hopeful that with COVID protocols coming to an end, the service will improve to their pre-covid standards.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Blessing Z wrote a review Dec 2020
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well appointed rooms, excellent well trained staff, and good clean facilities. The common spaces were not crowded, and there was good adherence to health and safety protocols. Overall very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chantelle Hartley, Other at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Responded 29 Dec 2020
Dear DrBlessing Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Avani Gaborone Resort and Casino, we are so pleased you had a comfortable stay with us and your kind words have been shared with our team. Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to Gaborone. Yours Truthfully Avani Gaborone Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pramodhi wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We went there because of Avani name but food was terrible .
Most of the things on the menu was not available. When we order they were trying to force us to take away like staff wanted to go home than serving .then we told no want to dine in .(6pm)
Then we ordered pizza and some platters all of those came after waiting for a long time and food was very cold and bland.

Before meal we ordered capuccino whixh was very cold .

Platters came very late and same issue ribs were not cooked properly and bland .
We asked for a coke as food was bad around 7 pm they said no as they have to some reconciliations .

I would not recommend anyone going to avani gabarone food is terrible .

Anyone who would check in will also experience the same thing.

I Also went to grand palm but their service was much better food was tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nikki Chigodora, Owner at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Dear Pram2021, Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Avani Gaborone Resort and Casino. We are disheartened to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us and your valued comments have been shared with the relevant teams to address and will be used as part of the ongoing training program we have in place.It is because of you, our valued guest, that we strive to improve our service continually. Once again thank you for your time and we hope you will give us another chance to make it up to you in the near future. Yours Truthfully Avani Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha C wrote a review Sept 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival the receptionist tried to charge us again for our rooms and did not provide any information about the hotel and amenities. The room was quiet dated and a lot of the items in the room didn't work e.g. the air conditioning in the room kept turning off during the night and some of the lights would continually flicker.
Service for food at the bar / pool area was slow with many of the staff appearing disengaged.
Definitely not value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The rooms down the back of the property, near the volleyball courts are larger, but very dated...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Habinuchi O wrote a review Feb 2024
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was an excellent experience all the way from the airport pick up. OT the hotel shuttle driver was friendly chatting with another guest and I.
The check in experience was also warm and welcoming. Minkie and Tumiso saw to it that I got my preferred room option. Shortly after settling into my hotel room I receive a call from Biopelo, a guest service agent who asked about the Avani experience so far; check-in and the hotel room. This for me was a 6star experience as I have been to several hotels and this was the first one that called immediately to get feedback on the checkin and how the room was.
My stay was for 2weeks and through out the stay staff were friendly and seeing to it that Iearnt a bit of Seswana :).
Poloko the guest relations manager was very helpful with checking on me during the period and also working out an 18hole game of golf at the Gaborone Golf Club which I felt was a great gesture.

I enjoyed the food at the breakfast restaurant with the variety of breads, pastries, eggs, vegetables, juices, yogurts, fruit and tea. My only feedback here was that I would love to have chicken sausages and not only beef or pork. Also I would have like scrambled eggs as option for those who do not eat fried eggs. However the meals were nice and tasty and I always looked forward to breakfast.

I was sure to try out their Seswana dishes in the other restaurants at the pool side and at Mahogany. I had the Oxtail and pap, Seswa and morogo and other nice dishes.
My Mahogany experience was an excellent as it is a fine dining restaurant within Avani with professional waiters. I had the Chobe Brim dish with coconut pap and morogo it was amazing and flavorful.
For my trips around town I had a nice cab driver Henry from the hotel who took me around.
It has been an amazing Avani experience and I look forward to visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: None really, I was a good experience all round
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Poloko Mosimanegape, Guest Services / Front Office at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear habinuchio Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us. We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay and we appreciate your kind praise of our team members. I will ensure to share this feedback with them and the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. Thank you again for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino in the near future. Sincerely, Poloko Mosimanegape Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thobeka M wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was impressed with the hotel. It was a bit of a saving grace considering that there isn't much to do in Botswana. You'd never tell when driving past, but when you go in, you notice it's beauty. Should I go back to the country, I would book there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AvaniGaborone, Manager at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear ThobekaM7 Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino, Thank you for your kind review this has been shared with our team. Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Gaborone. Yours Truthfully, Avani Gaborone Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
masedig113 wrote a review Nov 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All staff members were very welcoming and very friendly.
The room was very clean and the aircon was working properly. The room service was also upto standard and the meals were delicious. The security staff was also very welcoming and they made surey vehicle was secured at the parking.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nikki Chigodora, Owner at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Responded 4 Jan 2022
Dear masedig113, Thank you for visiting us and for the rating. We really appreciate your feedback. It has been shared with the team and will definitely make them happy. It is because of you, our valued guest, that we strive to offer the best in service continually. We are excited you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to your next visit to Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino. Thank you, Avani Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thatak2020 wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Often at times I am stunned by the lack of quality and services in hotels in Gaborone. However, on New Years Day, my family and I decided to stay at the Avani Resort to kick start the New Year with a bit of relaxation and the hotel provided nothing short of that. From the friendliness of the staff to the refurbished interior decor, we felt at home. We truly did not want to leave!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nikki Chigodora, Owner at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Dear thatak2020 Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino, we are so please that you enjoyed your stay with and enjoyed our facilities we have to offer. Your kind review has been shared with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Gaborone. Yours Truthfully Avani Gaborone Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phalana asked a question Oct 2020
Gaborone, Botswana
Hi, how much is hosting a party by the pool
7tash007 asked a question Jul 2015
Gaborone, Botswana1 contribution
Hello, what are the rates and packages for a SunCity day trip?
Answer from Derick v
Gaborone, Botswana
Dear 7tash007 Unfortunately we do not offer organised day trips from our property to Sun City. You are looking at about a three hour journey - one way. We will gladly assist in making travel arrangements and suggestions on what to do in Sun City should you wish to visit. Sincerely Derick, General Manager
ImeraA asked a question Feb 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Hi, How far is it far from the National Tennis Centre, 15479 Chuma Drive, Gaborne?
Answer from Derick v
Gaborone, Botswana
Good Morning We are 200 metres away from the National Tennis Stadium. The Gaborone Sun is adjacent to the Gaborone Golf Club and next to the Golf Club you will find the Bowling Club and Tennis Stadium. Thank you for making the enquiry and if there is any further assistance required, please feel free to call me on : +267 361 6100 Sincerely Derick
Cleo B wrote a tip Apr 2024
14 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Saturday busy with lots of celebration parties and music. That all stopped mid-evening so not that bothersome. Sunday extremely chilled"
Read full review
Yaaseer G wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"VALUE FOR MONEY "
Read full review
Tommy C wrote a tip Mar 2024
8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Henry was our driver for our few days there and he is very good and reliable."
Read full review
PaulChiswick wrote a tip Mar 2024
Chiswick, United Kingdom6 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't rely on the hotel to pick you up from the airport. "
Read full review
Habinuchi O wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"None really, I was a good experience all round"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gaborone area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gaborone sun hotel, sun gaborone
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Gaborone Sun Hotel
LOCATION
BotswanaSouth-East DistrictGaborone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
199
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVANI GABORONE RESORT & CASINO - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Which popular attractions are close to Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Nearby attractions include Three Chiefs' Statues (1.5 miles), Botswanacraft (2.5 miles), and Gaborone Sun (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sanitas Restaurant, The Daily Grind, and Bull & Bush Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino have airport transportation?
Yes, Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Gaborone HotelsGaborone Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GaboroneHotels near Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire