Elgel Hotel And Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Elgel Hotel And Spa

From Bisrate Gebriel to Jemo Avenue 100m Before Reaching Qore Roundabout, Addis Ababa 1000 Ethiopia
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#30 of 177 hotels in Addis Ababa
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Elgel Hotel and Spa offers supreme facilities and premium services to our guests, so they can firsthand experience absolute splendor throughout their stay. With a team of experts always going above and beyond, to meet customized needs and desires, the finest hospitality is guaranteed. Relish the plethora of facilities and services on offer, with the green garden and the multitude of dining and
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Wifi
Sauna
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
33Reviews0Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Black Lion wrote a review Jul 2021
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been to Elgel…let’s see about 15 times over the past few months. I’ve been a diner, overnight guest, cafe patron, and WiFi user. I really like this place. It’s a hotel with everything: barbershop, spa, gym, pool, playground, salon, restaurants, etc.

My fam stayed in the family room overnight once. There was a glitch here and there, but the stay was mostly good. The only challenge was that there was a time limit for the pool. This was due to COVID protocols, so I can’t really fault the hotel for that since there were a lot of people who wanted to swim that day. So my advice would be to avoid the pool during peak hours (unless the rules have changed). The next day I got a massage, and it was wonderful. I didn’t have time to use the gym, so I can’t comment about that.

My WiFi at home had been problematic in May and June, so I found myself in the Elgel lounge a couple of times a week. The WiFi generally worked, but there were a couple of times, perhaps due to the telecom company, that the WiFi didn’t work well.

I’ve used the barbershop for my boys, and they were happy with the look of their cut, as well as the gentleness of the barber. They’ve asked if he can be their barber since their previous one was a bit too rough.

Finally, and this is my favorite part, I discovered Elgel View, the restaurant at the back of the hotel. It’s up the hill from the kids playground, so I can work while my kids play. It also has some pretty good food. The restaurant is mostly surrounded by windows, so lots of lights comes in. The view is also nice.

In short, while a visit or two of my many may have reached a 4/5, the overall experience has been 5/5.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t forget to go to Elgel View behind the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayehu Fikremariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 29 Jan 2022
Dear Roc-Global. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan Fikru wrote a review Jun 2022
Leawood, Kansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was introduced to this exceptional hotel by a family member for a farewell dinner just before I departed from Addis Abeba, During my stay in Addis I have visited some of the most popular hotels on Bole Road area for different meetings and casual get-togethers in many cases the food was generic except their high price, I limited my going out to eat after so many disappointing experiences, Elgel Hotel not sure what the meaning of the name is, but the food and services stands out as one of the best in the city.
The waiting staff is friendly, and helpful, seems they are trained to know the menu in details, able to answer all your questions. Addis Abeba hotels and restaurants needs more of this kind of places to serve the public.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayahu Fikermariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 13 Sept 2022
Dear Mr. Daniel Fikru Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to ELGEL in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Haragewen K wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was very happy with my stay at Elge! The best time of the day was during breakfast. The service and selection of food at the breakfast buffet was amazing. I loved the personalized attention, delicious omelet and the selection of fruit juices. The facility is clean, has great internet connection, staff is caring and sincerely seek their guest's best experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayahu Fikermariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 9 Jan 2023
Dear Dr Haregewoin thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darrel E wrote a review Apr 2020
Duncanville, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Elgel Hotel & Spa was the site of a four-week-long training event. The facilities were very nice, and the staff did their best to take care of us. We took almost all our meals in the hotel's restaurant, where the food was good, the portions quite large, and the prices reasonable. I would be happy to stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel have a nicer view than those on the front side.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayehu Fikremariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 29 Jan 2022
Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about ELGEL HOTEL AND SPA. We do take pride in serving to our guests' needs the best way we can. we hope to see you again at ELGEL whenever you are back in Addis. hesitate to call us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BERNHARD D wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From 3.-16. October 2022, we stayed at the ELGEL Hotel. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, a steam bath, a sauna and a fitness room, as well as a restaurant with moderate prices. The SPA area is very busy in the evenings and at weekends, as guests also come from outside the hotel. The included breakfast is very rich and good. The rooms facing the street are spacious but a bit noisy. The rooms facing the courtyard are smaller but very calm.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayahu Fikermariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 9 Jan 2023
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilda H wrote a review Sept 2023
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely boutique hotel, with comfy room and bed, amazing shower, garden area, sumptous meals including breakfast. Staff were very responsive and helpful especially the staff member responsible for the concierge who was willing to go above and beyond to ensure client satisfaction. He offered to carry my bags to the taxi outside.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Power did go off once or twice but this is not a major issue.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayahu Fikermariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 18 Dec 2023
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry S wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is THE best hotel in Addis. If you want to be treated like family with the best care and hospitality than come to Elgel. After finding this hotel this is the only hotel I will stay at in all of Addis Ababa. The management, front desk staff, cooks, cleaners all treat you as if you are the most important person in the world. The rooms are clean, great food, just an all around great hotel and experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool, gym and spa are great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayahu Fikermariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Dear Larry , Hearing how much you love Elgel hotel and spa has brightened up our day. Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words and for awarding us a five-star rating! We’re thrilled to hear about your frequent fantastic experience with us. Your positive glowing feedback truly brightens our day. We’re honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. It’s customers like you who make our work so rewarding. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another wonderful experience. If there’s anything else we can do to make your visits even more special, please don’t hesitate to let us know. Once again, thank you for your support and for being a part of our family! Faithfully, Addisu Gebremariam Operation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
정서 박 wrote a review Mar 2024
Friedrichshafen, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited on the recommendation of a friend. The room was really clean. Also, breakfast, swimming pool, luggage, and airport shuttle bus were available for free. If I come to Ethiopia again, I will use the Elgel Hotel again.
Elgel Hotel & Spa is undoubtedly the most reasonable hotel in Ethiopia.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring your toothpaste.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayahu Fikermariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Dear valued Customer, It sounds like you enjoyed our service, facility and breakfast. We are so happy to hear that the flavor was up to par with your expectations. We take pride in the quality of our standard and hope that we can continue delivering great customer service. Let me know if there is anything else we can do to make your next visit even better. Faithfully yours, Addisu Gebremariam Operation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henok Y wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Yesterday very disappointing night! They post lots of package discount services but they don’t want to give the services. Including the General manager acting as if they don’t know our complaints.
Very sad Managment group.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alemayehu Fikremariam, General Manager at Elgel Hotel And Spa
Responded 29 Jan 2022
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not as per your expectation. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to ELGEL HOTEL AND SPA.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bethlehem E wrote a review Dec 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked for 8 nights. The first 3 nights i had to change 3 different rooms due to so many issues every room they moved me. The first room the air conditioner and the lock wasn’t working, then they moved me another room the same night. The second room bathroom wasn’t working, the balcony window couldn’t close, the phone doesn’t work etc. I reported all the issue and was told it will be fix. When i came to my room after long day the door frame was broked. After i reported the issue and told them i can’t stay room without secure door they moved me to the third room. This new room tv doesn’t work. It was just nothing seems works. Every room has issues. I checked out the Monday morning after stating only 3 nights with so many problems. The only good thing about this place is that the stuff were great and friendly.
The worst experience. I wouldn’t recommend this place. Awful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jong-Kook P wrote a tip 9 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best hotel and conference center with 20 members. Nice and kindly staff. Room and Hall is best of Addis. We had special invitation all group"
Read full review
Santhosh A wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The air conditioning could be cooler. "
Read full review
mogotsakgotla s wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool good,view good,steam sauna,Food,drink,playground,garden...."
Read full review
정서 박 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Friedrichshafen, Germany1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your toothpaste."
Read full review
Larry S wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool, gym and spa are great. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Addis Ababa area.
PRICE RANGE
£49 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EthiopiaAddis Ababa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELGEL HOTEL AND SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Elgel Hotel And Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Elgel Hotel And Spa?
Nearby attractions include Red Terror Martyrs Memorial Museum (3.5 miles), Holy Trinity Cathedral (4.6 miles), and Mercato Market (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Elgel Hotel And Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Elgel Hotel And Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Elgel Hotel And Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Elgel Hotel And Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kitchen, The Oriental, and Gazebo Restaurant on the Park.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Elgel Hotel And Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Elgel Hotel And Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Elgel Hotel And Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Elgel Hotel And Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Elgel Hotel And Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Elgel Hotel And Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unity Park (4.6 miles), Meskel Square (3.4 miles), and Meyazia 27 Square Monument (4.6 miles).
Is Elgel Hotel And Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Addis Ababa HotelsAddis Ababa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Addis AbabaHotels near Elgel Hotel And Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire