We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Barefoot Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Barefoot Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Very helpful staff, lovely and big campsite with beautiful trees and greenery, very well maintained! Fixed tents are available, ours was clean with a double bed. Hot water, wifi and clean amenities - thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariette M
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Thanks to all at Barefoot for our great stay. Rooms always kept nice and tidy and clean. Thanks for that! Great to sit in the lapa in the evening and have a braai and enjoy the scenery. Will definitely come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdewaal5
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 15 February 2016

What a perfect end to our Malawi holiday. We had such a great time at the Lodge. The food and presentation was wonderful. The staff were very attentive. Elywin was always checking up on us and other guests.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jaxdp
Danthebanjoman, Manager at Barefoot Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you guys enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

This place was dirty, the towel we were given was torn, filthy. No other towels were available, bedding dirty, only one bed cover, one lumpy pillow and mosquito net was torn and tattered. Magazines were 5 years old, walls dirty and furniture was old and damaged. Very poor internet. Staff uncaring and disorganised. Horrible experience. Beds full of sand and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladylos
Danthebanjoman, Manager at Barefoot Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ladylos Apologies for this delayed reply. As a business we were going through a very tough time during this period (for a variety of reasons) and I can only apologise for the terrible experience you had. We have restructured somewhat in the last 6 months with the aim of providing a better customer experience. I would like to invite...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We stayed here one night and shared the "chalet" with another couple, it is basically a large unit with two bedrooms and a shared ensuite. The room was very tired, particularly the bathroom, when you had a shower the water leaked out into the dinning/lounge room. The beds were OK though and we slept well. There is no in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Not such a great start.... We waited as the staff fought with each other to work out which rooms they hadn't over-booked with other guests, arriving earlier than us. The staff then needed to ask those people to move out of the rooms we had already booked. We were given the large 'house' with another couple, meaning we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGSingers
Canada
Reviewed 14 November 2014

We loved our room/chalet at this place, we lucked out as there was a mix up with our group ( Nomad tours) not booking 2 trucks here, they booked 1, we had to pull straws for who got the rooms. FYI This was not the fault of the property it was Nomad's fault. The chalet was like a small house,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alex s
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2014

The shower was hot. The bed was comfortable. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The lady at the bar would make you a cup of tea or coffee if you asked if it suited her. When I asked for a cup of tea after my meal she told me she was closing soon and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I enjoyed this property and its chalets set among the greenery. It is like a family hotel and is quite rustic and has a charm of its own. I visited the workers quarters and they showed me through their huts which gave me an insight into just how basic their comforts are. Water is heated by lighting fires in furnaces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NibbanAh
Leicester
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights in September 2013. We booked a self drive safari through Barefoot Safaris and this is their Lilongwe accommodation. The lodges are situated in pleasant gardens/grounds a few miles outside of Lilongwe on the road that takes you to Zambia (so a good location for taking the trip to South Luangwa Park in Zambia....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SimonALeicester

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Barefoot Lodge

Address: Mchinji Road, Chitipi, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Price Range: £63 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barefoot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barefoot Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the same”
 of 5 bubbles NibbanAh, 22 Mar 2014 | Read review
“The lodge offers camping too which was a popular option when we were there. The lodges are very similar and could be excellent but need sprucing up.”
 of 5 bubbles SimonALeicester, 27 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Just drive on”
 of 5 bubbles geoffH562, 31 Oct 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay