We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Country Lodge Hotel

Save
Share
HS 51 Hill Station, Freetown Sierra Leone
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$140
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (30)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#7 of 24 hotels in Freetown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Country Lodge Hotel is minutes away from the embassy area, and the world famous colonial houses in Hill station and only 4km from the beaches of Freetown. Enjoy a spectacular and panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean, the Country Lodge is a boutique hotel which is situated on the hill of Freetown. You are guaranteed the best rates, complimentary welcome drink, warm towel and a free airport pick-up when you book on this site. We pride ourselves in providing a warm and caring service to all our clients and make their stay a most memorable one.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
167Reviews3Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 56
  • 37
  • 17
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Susan S wrote a review Dec 2020
Washington, District of Columbia2 contributions
I booked a room for six days and they neglected to tell me that one of those days the whole compound would be taken over by an event. I couldn't use the restaurant or the pool or any of the facilities. Furthermore, I got conflicting answers about what I should do to get food. The phone in the room doesn't work, so I have to walk down to the front desk any time I have a question, and even then, I get incorrect answers. Although they say they accept credit cards, when I checked in the person at the desk said the machine wasn't working. They show a restaurant in their online pictures, but the restaurant is under construction. On the positive side, there is a nice view of Freetown, there is light and running water. Considering how much I am paying per night, I expected more.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
graemerk wrote a review Mar 2020
Brisbane, Australia171 contributions48 helpful votes
I have stayed at the Country Lodge several times during visits to Freetown. The staff are always welcoming, friendly and flexible. Amazingly, they remember previous guests by name - even the breakfast cook. It was great having evening meals on the patio overlooking the city to the ocean - delightful temperature and breeze that would have been missing down the hill. Thankfully, progress has been made on the road to reach the hotel so it is not quite as bumpy and hopefully progress on that front will continue. Internet was fast and good - very few outages while I was there. But the winning factor of the hotel is the staff and their hospitality. Well worth being a bit out of the city centre for that privilege.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Shallop, General Manager at The Country Lodge Hotel
Responded 20 Apr 2020
Dear Gramerk, Thank you for the kind words and that we were able to meet your expectation. We hope to welcome you back soon everything go back to normal. Stay Safe and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Adejoh Momoh wrote a review Feb 2020
Sierra Leone3 contributions
Stayed for a week and hotel stay was perfect; the only negative for me is that hot water didn't run in my room for a few days and it took the hotel 2 days to fix this. Otherwise, it was a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Shallop, General Manager at The Country Lodge Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear AdejoMomoh We thank you for your comment and observation. We are glad to inform you that we succeeded in upgrading our water system and anticipate such won’t repeat itself in the future. We appreciate the patience you have proven to us during that period and we look forward to your next visit to the Country Lodge Best Regards
Read more
slakmac wrote a review Feb 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom349 contributions52 helpful votes
Stayed 6 nights for business. Hotel is up on a hill, and a very bumpy journey with the road. When we were leaving it looked like it was being redone. Completely self-contained compound - and lots of good facilities. Great restaurant food and there is a big gym and nice sized pool. Excellent helpful staff. My bag didn't arrive on my flight and after chatting to the reception the next day, they were really helpful and helped me locate it just before I had to check out! Safe in room - although it is not bolted down. When we were there the hotel did not have a license to accepted US dollars - so either had to pay in local currency, or use card. The card machine worked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Shallop, General Manager at The Country Lodge Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear Slamak, We thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed all our facilities and the quality of service rendered. It is always a pleasure when our team to exceed guests’ expectations by ensuring that all their needs and comfort is met. Unfortunately for international travelers; there has been an amendment on the policy regarding international monetary transactions and we are working on establishing a foreign exchange facility to avoid any complications for our guest as well as the road that leads to the premises is also being constructed. Many thanks and we look forward to welcome you back soon
Read more
Quest723030 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Very warm and kind staff. Also proffesionals...especially at the reception. Great breakfast variety to choose from. Lovely view of Freetown. Reliable internet in the room and throughout other facilities. Will visit again.Thank you. - Nancy.........
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Best view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward S, General Manager at The Country Lodge Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Dear Nancy, We thank you for your comment and we are delighted that you are pleased with the overall service delivery. Your satisfaction, as well as your comfort is the core of our priority. Thank you for your loyalty and are glad welcoming you back any time
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
country hotel freetown
LOCATION
Sierra LeoneWestern AreaFreetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Country Lodge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Country Lodge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary (4.3 miles), Lumley Beach (2.4 miles), and National Railway Museum (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Country Lodge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Country Lodge Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Country Lodge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Country Lodge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Country Lodge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mamba Point Lagoonda Restaurant, Toma, and Crown Xpress.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Country Lodge Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Country Lodge Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Country Lodge Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Country Lodge Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Country Lodge Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does The Country Lodge Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.