We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel The Great Wall

Expedia.comUS$24*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel The Great Wall
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Great Wall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Japan
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed one night with 15dollars which was cheaper than public rate. Considering some tiny problems of facilities, this was a fare rate. No escalator might be problem when I was tired or carrying heavy bags. Wifi was available but not working properly. The building seemed getting old. Even though the location was good with quiet surrounding and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W K
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear W K, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you...

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We have tried three other hotels in the same area, only to find they were dirty, stinky, had little to no wifi/hot water, or sounded like we were sleeping inside a bar speaker on rock and roll night. Hotel the Great Wall was very budget friendly for two young travelers as well as the cleanest and quietest hotel we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sshield7
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for...

Beijing, China
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel was very nice with good facility and super friendly staff. The manager Dipendra will help you with everything you need in Kathmandu. They also offer good price of air and bus tickets, and car rental services. You'll never regret staying at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBJ
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for...

Paris, France
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is newly renovated and have clean, spacious rooms. The bathroom is also very spacious and has hot and cold showers. It's located on a side street therefore it's quiet but still close to everything in Thamel. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louierh
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Louireh, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service as you said friendly staffs, celan, spacious and newely renovated rooms, and well located with quite area. Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we hope that you will stay...

Lviv, Ukraine
Reviewed 9 March 2014

hotel is located in the tourist district of Thamel. An island of civilization :) The hotel is clean, comfortable, there is always hot water. Wi fi is available. The staff is very polite and comes to help on the first call :) I stayed at the hotel 4 times. Perfect price-performance ratio. Recommend everyone to stay in Kathmandu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Hi Julia, We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Thank you for liking our hotel, rooms, free wifi, hot shower, staffs, location and we are thankful to you for recommending our hotel. We hope...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was around the shopping shops and restaurant, its comfortable, clean and nice hotel, the owner quite friendly and nice, He suggested the daily visit and arrange kind driver to send and pick us, he also invite us for lunch when we're in ''poor'' situation, really tks a lot for this kind help and we'll come back once when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wei S
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Hello Wei, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The staff here were extremely friendly and the room we got was spacious and comfortable. The staff were more than happy to help us plan out or days and offered a free ride to and from the airport. The beds were really comfortable and the room had access to hot water. I would highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 851Chris12345
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Hello Chris, Thank you so much for rating us so high. We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service as you said friendly staffs, celan, spacious rooms, and our transportation service. Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we hope that you will stay with us again! Best Regards, Hotel The...

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is centrally located, comfortable, and clean. The room was large, clean, warm, with hot water and wifi. The owner is friendly and helpful, he helped me to arrange a day of site seeing in a large and comfortable car with a safe and kind driver. Overall, highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boluojie
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear boluojie, We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. As customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously from the bottom of our heart. Your comments will be shared with...

Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It was really a wonderful experience staying in the Great Wall hotel.I booked the standard rooms but they have given us deluxe room for the same rate. The room was clean , tidy and comes with large bathroom. Hot water was available always, Only the WI FI was bit weak at 4th floor.The owner was very friendly and helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barna911
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review

Dear Barna, We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Thank you for liking our hotel, rooms, free wifi, hot shower, staffs, travel arrangement and our overall services. Thank you for choosing us and we...

Beijing, China
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It's really a pleasant expierence with the Great Wall hotel. The manager are very nice and friendly. The hotel provide free pick up service from the Kathmandu airport. The rooms are clean and tidy. The hotel also provide convenient journey plan and guide for Kathmandu and other places in Nepal. The hotel located in the center of Thamel area, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances G

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 193 in Kathmandu
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Great Wall is just 25 minutes away from Tribhuvan International Airport which is located centrally in Thamel. Guests can expect simple and clean room with personalized service here. There are lots of shops, eateries, entertainment hubs and malls around. 24 hours ATM lounges are few walks away from the hotel. In addition, it caters to the people around the world and assist with tours, trekking, expeditions, sight seeing and more. Hotel has more repeated guests and walk in clients everyday. Prior booking is must to stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Great Wall

Address: Thamel Marg | Next to Hotel Backyard, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: £10 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Great Wall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Great Wall staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Great Wall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the front are larger”
JaneS592, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is no elevator in this hotel , better to booking the room possible at 1st or 2nd floor”
retnopalupi, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Well appointed , and clean”
25gregl, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Excellent ”
DeveshGarg, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the higher, the better with a good view”
scomitcheese, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$24* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$24
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates